Coffee in the Morning

in Cinnamon Cup Coffee10 months ago

nespresso.jpg

Since the start of the year, I've been less of a dark cloud before coffee, and I'm not quite sure what's happening, but I do hope I'll continue to feel bright upon rising.
This morning I was indecisive about my choice of coffee, which I see as a real luxury, and that's one of the reasons why I prefer brewing my favourite cuppa at home, over going to a cafe, especially given the great choice of Nespresso.

coffee pods.jpg

Lately, my hand automatically reaches for this red pod, which is the Shanghai Lungo that has a gentle acidity taste, but I thought I'd switch things up a bit. I have my Nespresso coffee black, always, and today I narrowed down my choices from approximately 15 different origins. The three new packs that I blindly picked were: Stockholm Lungo, Venezuela, and Ethiopia.
I went for a change to a lighter, smoother texture and taste and Ethiopia was my top choice today.

3.jpg

The Nespresso Ethiopia is a well-rounded flavour that's mild, with the right oomph, to kick-start my morning. I particularly like the subtle citrusy notes and slight florally and noticeably tart taste of it.
This coffee disappeared quickly because I like to drink my coffee at a hot temperature before it starts cooling down. I'm peculiar that way. So, I sat browsing to see the coffee stories in store here in the community, before taking a break and tucking into my healthy breakfast.

Untitled design-29.jpg

Two poached eggs served on halved avocados sprinkled 
with Greek Basil and served with a tasty cup of 
Ethiopian Nespresso Coffee

I'm a lover of good bread, especially a nice crispy loaf like a tiger loaf with butter, but this morning I skipped a round of toast because, in a few hours, I'll be heading out for Sunday lunch.

This selection is a protein-rich breakfast that's filled with antioxidants, and good fat from my avocado, which is brilliant because the poached eggs mean that I gave my Olive Oil a break. I love Extra Virgin Olive Oil so much that I once did a complete blood check and the doctor delivered my result with a smirk on her face saying, "You love Olive Oil, don't you?" I giggled and said, "Oh, my secrets out, heh."
She told me just what I needed to hear that it was not a concern just yet but I should probably try to reduce my consumption before it becomes a problem.

What are the chances of me going into a cafe and seeing a menu selection like mine above, uh? That's one of the very reasons why I like having meals at home and being able to prepare exactly what I crave, with all the healthy ingredients that I love.

What's your favourite quick and simple homemade breakfast, and do you have a favourite Nespresso flavour?

I rarely have that breakfast combo, but generally, avocados, eggs, and basil are some of my favourite things to eat.

What are your plans for the day? I'm planning to relax after lunch, while hubby and my mate will be watching Formula 1.
Whatever you end up doing peeps, may you have a wonderfully slow and easy day.

Until next time:)

Screenshot 2023-06-15 at 10.51.23.png

Oh, btw, all images are original and were captured by me before I devoured my coffee and meal.

illy-2.jpg
This banner was created using Canva

Sort:  

Eggs and basil... what's not to love..that's my daily brekkie in Basil season. I must confess I've never tasted Nespresso.

 10 months ago  

I love Basil. When I was living in the Philippines, I has Basil growing like wildfire on my terrace. Everyone was surprised to see them thriving because I was right next to the sea. I had Basil with all my meals.

Nespresso is great for the variety of flavours and it's a consistent cup that tastes good. I think all Pod coffees are pretty much similar in taste though. I still appreciate the taste of coffee from all machines, as long as it's a good coffee to start with.
Have a lovely Sunday:)

A Virtual Coffee Shop A Warm Community-3.jpg

That's a heck of a good-looking breakfast! Eggs and avocado are made for one another, if you ask me. Perhaps I will write them a love story someday (jots down idea) lol!

I'd say my ideal breakfast is very in line with yours. I'd add some kind of meat, the American in me perhaps. 😂 Bacon, yeah. I'd add bacon.

Your pod stash is very aesthetic, love the variety too! Thanks for the fun read 💚

 10 months ago  

Hmm, I'm a bacon lover too and have to restrain myself from eating it daily. 😆

To have the patience to take the pictures before devouring ~ saintly quality, I feel.
That'd probably be, maybe not my favorite meal, but top 3. Eggs and avocado are probably the groundstone of my diet rn. Looks mouth-watering. Are those just eggs, or is there some cream/yogurt involved?

Sounds like a chill day for you, which is also the case here :)

Ps: I love your plates. Weird compliment over. :))

 10 months ago  

Haha! That's the problem with me too, you know. I always forget to snap photos of my meals till I'm about to stick the last piece of food on a fork 🤣. I guess when I'm hungry I just need to eat.

No, it's plain eggs. They were nicely poached and presented to me 🤣... I have a problem looking at bubbles or anything that looks like saliva and just cannot stomach the cooking process of poached eggs. I can eat them though 😆

Yeah, I'm properly chilled today, and it's like I'm on holiday.

I love your plates

Thanks, it's a complete set:)

 10 months ago  

It would be fun to try all of the different flavors. Must be hard to choose which pods to buy.

That breakfast looks very yummy. Anything with fresh basil on it I delicious in my.

My quick and simple homemade breakfast is usually just eggs and toast or oatmeal

 10 months ago  

Hmm, I haven't had oatmeal for ages. That's one of my fav with cinnamon sprinkled on top. I should get some oats on my next visit to the supermarket:)

My day will be devoted to children till they go to bed. Just kidding… we managed to send the boys to their grandparents for a week, so we are just with the baby. It’s very relaxing to be with only one baby which is generally very calm and easy to deal with…

I wanted to try good Nespresso capsules for quite some time now, but don’t feel like the investment in Nespresso machine would be good at all. And if I find someone with the machine the possibility of having some good coffee around will be minimal. 🤷🏻‍♂️

The meal looks awesome. Now I feel hungry!

 10 months ago  

We managed to send the boys to their grandparents for a week

😆 Smart move!

Yes, I think the Nespresso is a big investment that I'll not have whenever I go back to living on a boat. So for right now, I'm making the most of it.

I think you have a perfect coffee set up and for what you like to do in sourcing speciality coffees, I don't think that Nespresso has any advantage.

Enjoy the rest of the day before your boys return and I trust you had a great birthday celebration.

General Banners-15.jpg

I can see that you had a healthy breakfast. A great way to start the day. At home, we only have instant black coffee.. People are lazy to brew. But they like brewing tea hehe.

Have a wonderful Sunday to you !LADY

You have already used the number of tips you had for the day. Please try again tomorrow or buy more LOH tokens to send more tips.

 10 months ago  

The Nespresso is amazing because it's so quick and consistently good. Yes, it was a simple but delicious and healthy breakfast that started my day well:)
A Virtual Coffee Shop A Warm Community-3.jpg

@millycf1976 I never lack coffee with a little milk, after exercising, doing yoga. It is a family routine, that is to say, for many years a tradition that I follow from my parents. I like that there is such a distinguished community, because it helps to explore so many types of coffee. Greetings from Venezuela, where coffee is a much preferred drink. We have places where people live from growing coffee.

 10 months ago  

Greeting to you too. Yes, it's amazing to learn about all the different cultural practices of having coffee here:)

Great Sunday @millycf1976, I hope you have a relaxing day and enjoy your planned activities to the fullest.

The breakfast looks very provocative and I share with you the option of preparing things to our liking at home, as a rich and healthy breakfast and a cafecito at its point.

You know the option you used of describing your experience with the coffee tasting was an incredible alternative, in a way it allowed me from the virtual part to imagine this same process in my mouth.

 10 months ago  

Hello there!
Yes, I've been having a quiet and relaxing day today. I need days like these sometimes. I'm happy that you enjoyed my post and thank you for stopping by:)))

I have not tried the coffee from those capsules, here they are available in supermarkets but not in the variety that you mention, the truth is that being able to try such different coffees must be a great experience. Thank you for sharing, dear @millycf1976. A big hug from Maracay.

 10 months ago  

Yes, it's amazing to have this variety daily.
I bet it would be somewhat uneconomical to have such a machine in Venezuela though.
I think you would probably find the Venezuelan flavour from Nespresso very different from the Venezuelan coffee that you brew at home:)

Yes, the machines for the capsules are a bit expensive. The most I have done is to try a Colombian coffee that prepared in the Greca I feel stronger than ours. Happy coffee day.

I like the decorations and the design show how they love the cozy vibe. A cup of coffee in the morning boost our energy so great. Yess that is a smooth textured, the cup design so cool as well.

Thanks for sharing this breakfast with us!

 10 months ago  

Thanks for your lovely comment.
Have a lovely day:)))

Hi @millycf1976

This is really a delicious coffee i b see if it has been our area market

 10 months ago  

Thank you. I get the feeling you will find it somewhere:)

 10 months ago  

Hey there!

Thanks for stopping by, it's great to see you here 🤗

Have a Supercalifragilisticexpiali-coffee-li-cous Day ☕️

1.jpg

Glad to hear your welcome, may I provide coffee recipes in your community

 10 months ago  

Thank you for stopping by. See you again soon:)

The Coolest.gif

Congratulations @millycf1976! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 23000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 24000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - Collect Badges and Prizes - Thousands of HIVE, Tokens or NFTs to be won!

I would vouch for the Stockholm Lungo as well; it has a good crema too.

Ethiopia, on the other hand, is quite different. It is actually a light roast, which ensures a higher caffeine content. Few people understand that dark roasts have a stronger taste but at the expense of reduced caffeine.

Nespresso Capsules OriginalLine, Ethiopia Master Origin ,Mild Roast Coffee, 50 Count Coffee Pods, Brews 1.35oz (ORIGINAL LINE ONLY)

Nespresso Capsules OriginalLine, Stockholm Fortissio Lungo, Dark Roast Coffee, 50 Count Coffee Pods, Brews 3.7 Ounce

Check out Coffee Time (with over 2,500+ coffee products) on Hive!