My First Loan Experience And The Betrayal That Followed

in Hive Learners24 days ago

I've always been one who never really trusted anyone especially when it comes to money matters, I'd rather take personal risks such as loans only when I have strategies set in place to pay back, because I'm part of those individuals who lack rest when in debt of someone, better not to take a loan when you don't have a sure means of how to pay back, or relying on someone to help you pay back, you might be lucky the person is among the very few percentages of people that worry and find every means to pay when in debt or just fall victim to the uncaring and dubious type, just like I did.

20240427_091930_0000.pngImage edited using canva

My very first loan experience wasn't a good one at all, I was in church one day after a soul lifting Sunday service when one of our members walked to where I was sitted, she was a friend so I thought, since we always have a heart to heart discussion and we always encouraged each other, mostly about our job and also striving to be an independent lady and not having to look up to one's husband for every little thing, and this is something I love about her, the encouragement and being a good example herself, while we were discussing, another woman brought some goods to us to know if we were interested In buying before she shows them to others, they were fabrics in bale, meaning they were given at a discounted offer since we were fashion designers and could easily sell them to our clients, the offer was really good, it was an opportunity to invest in something but since it wasn't expected, I didn't have the amount of money needed for it, and the seller was in a rush to sell off her wares, I guess she needed money too for something personal, and the goods were cheap and could yield profit with time, I was sure the next person she introduces them to will waste no time in buying them, but there was nothing I could do at that moment.

So my fashion designer friend suggested we split the goods, also suggesting that I take a loan on our behalf through an online banking loan app, which I've never tried, she said she was yet to finish paying the one she got, and since I had no record of owing, they would grant my request, I was skeptical about the loan decision because we were splitting it and my name was in the line not hers, but she assured me not to worry, after all, we were selling the goods to make a profit and 30 days period Is enough time for us to gather and payback, innocent me fell for her lies, so I went ahead and got the loan.

Two weeks after, I already finished selling mine and made my profit, and also gathered my part of the loan repayment, I called to find out how hers was, and she lied about having bad sales because I suggested helping sell them since mine was exhausted but she refused and kept bringing one excuse or the other till the day for the loan repayment arrived, yet more excuses, later she started ignoring my calls and wouldn't even show face in the church that was when I realized that I had been deceived, the loan app officials didn't allow me to rest, how would I even have peace of mind knowing that I'm in debt, I had to look for means to pay up the loan collected, both the profit I made from my sales and other services I render gone. I regretted ever trusting to get a loan on behalf of someone

That experience even more than before made me lose trust in humans when it involves money matter, I can't stand as a guarantor for anyone, and even the cooperation that people do scares me too, when I take a loan, it has to be solely my responsibility to pay back with strategies in place for that.

Thank you for reading.❤❤

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 24 days ago  

I'm so sorry to hear about your negative experience with that loan. If I was in our shoes, I would feel so betrayed and distrustful after being deceived by someone I thought was a friend too. Having that kind of financial burden thrust upon you, through no fault of your own, must have been incredibly stressful and disruptive.

I love the fact that you strive to be an independent woman who doesn't have to depend on a spouse for everything. Maintaining that sense of self-reliance, especially when it comes to finances, is so important. You've learned the hard way that you can't always count on others to follow through, even if they seem trustworthy. I am so sorry for everything

 24 days ago  

Thanks sis, it's all in the past now, it's just one of the hard ways we learn life's lessons.

Maintaining that sense of self-reliance, especially when it comes to finances is so important

Oh yes, it is, if only most ladies develop this mindset, only then will they begin to see their self-worth and not let their entire life be dictated by someone else.

Sorry about you experience dear
I have a similar experience, my first year in school, money I got for my books, then someone who I thought was my friend said he was having a hard time and his parents cared only about his twin, after much pleading I gave him 10,000naira to pay me back in 2weeks
Lol after 2weeks he told me that his friend took his phone and asked most of his contacts for money as a way of revenge.
I felt very stupid cause I was sure we had several calls even vid calls but he denied everything.
I can never forget that experience.since 2019 I haven't seen the money

 24 days ago  

people can be so wicked, imagine the kind of lie told by this very one, sorry you had to face such too.

Thank you dear ☺️
We just have to hope that we'll never meet people like that again

 24 days ago  

That's was so bad of her. I wonder how people will prefer destroying friendship and trust just because of money. What was so difficult to take her profit and return the capital used in purchasing the bale of fabrics.

Losses can be painful I know but they always come with lessons for us to learn from. We can only trust ourselves that I think I know for myself. Other than that, you are only endangering your finances and peace in the hands of people that don't worth it.

 24 days ago  

That's just life, we can't trust anyone than ourselves, and that lesson was learned hard never to be forgotten in a hurry.

Thanks for visiting.

 24 days ago  

Sorry for the experience. Be very careful next time and Know how to handle money related matters.

 24 days ago (edited) 

Wait oo, what did I just read?

Babe, I am interested in that woman and her cheating nature. Did she later pay you back after sometimes or she is still hiding till date? Really...when I thought I have seen it all from Christian sisters

 24 days ago  

Mama, I left her for God o, I'm sure karma is the right bitch to deal with her, nothing like Christian sister o, bad character is not judged by religion. Sadly

 24 days ago  

Some persons don't mind destroying relationships they built for years all because of money that won't last forever.

But it's only a pity for that woman because you will never trust her again and she lost a friend in you.

I love the fact that you are striving to be an independent woman. I also hate taking loan not even as much as owing someone 50naira, I always feel uncomfortable till I pay back so I know how you feel. So sorry about the experience.