HEALING SCARS

in Hive Learnerslast month

The first time I heard the word depression, I wasn't so sure what it meant and the moment I found out what it means, it was then some things became clearer for me. Depression has always been since time immemorial and it's strange how it's one of the things people take lightly not until it has gotten to a really critical stage.

Personally, I've never really gotten into depression but then I've been on that path and I knew how reserved I felt. All that was going through my mind at that time was just to do some things to myself that I know I won't do on a normal day. At that point, I knew something was wrong with me and I was a bit scared because the more I thought about it, the more I enjoyed that space and just wanted to be all by myself without anyone in that space with me.

But luckily for me, I have surrounded myself with so many people that cared so much for me and they won't ever take it lightly when they see me down even for a second. I tried to play cool around them just so they don't try to help but then even my tone of communication changed and at that point it was impossible to hide the fact that something was definitely wrong with me.

I was able to overcome my depression almost immediately because I had myself surrounded by amazing people that really cared about me. I walked that path of depression due to how bad everything around me then was going, like every single thing wasn't just going as planned and I could see others around me do the same thing and they keep progressing at it. I was just so sad even though outwardly I acted like I've gotten everything in control.

I was slowly drifting away and I was losing my mind with every negative thought I considered. Overcoming depression wasn't so hard for me and that is because I wasn't eaten so deep and also because before it happened, I already surrounded myself with the right people. At that point I got engaged with more things that needed my attention and it was impossible for depression to breed deeply in me.

There was definitely a clear lesson I learned at that point and it was the importance of the right people around us. So many times people face depression and they get so engrossed by it because they have no one who genuinely cares for them. They struggle with basically everything all by themselves and they don't even notice when they get depressed not until it is almost beyond control.

The importance of people was what I learned from my experience with depression and to think that it is still people that are responsible for making us feel depressed, it's quite fascinating. As much as I can, I've made it a priority to always make effort to surrounding myself with people because I know that's one of the easiest way to overcome depression.

I've also learned that depression mostly comes to those people who think too less or too high of themselves and I was almost a victim because I don't believe so much in myself. I believe in others even better than I believe in myself and that's why I was almost feed on by that cheat called depression. Those weaknesses we have are what gives room to depression setting in and if we want to be saved from depression then we have to work on those weaknesses or surround ourselves with people that are stronger in those areas that we are weak.

This is my little response to the Hivelearners topic for this week's first edition on "DEPRESSION IS REAL".

All Images used are mine

Sort:  
 last month  

I have been through this myself. It is a very difficult time. The only way to avoid it is not to sit in a room alone. Whenever one is upset, go out with friends or other people. If not, the problem may be more.

 last month  

You are right, being alone only worsen everything 🙃

 last month  

Yeah.

 last month  

Hello there, Hope. I agree with you, people who feel less of themselves often get depressed. I guess this explains why I have never experienced depression. I always place myself high. Why shouldn't I? I mean, it's me, Justfavour! I am everything I want to be.

It is important to always surround yourself with good and caring people- people who can see through you whenever things are not going well.

 last month  

First of all, I Love your positive energy it just never runs dry 🥰. Well, I'm not sure how I can work on thinking high of myself but I hope to do so.

And yes, it's that one thing I lack that I make sure most of the people around me have and that has been really helpful.

Thank you so much for your thoughtful contribution Fave 🥰

 last month  

You love my positive energy? It's nice to hear that from you, Hope.
You're welcome.

 last month  

Yes I do, a lot actually 🙂.

Depression is real and its sad that some people is taking lightly about that matter. Some will even laugh, maybe thinking too that they are just faking it or what. But some who never experience it will never understand, battling with it is hard and painful. It is when your mind is clouded with darkness and negativity. If you have a weak mind and heart, you will really succumb into it and escaping it would be hard. The help of our love ones would be a big help but most importantly, helping ourselves overcoming it has big role too. As for me, when I feel like I am already on the way to its early age, I will help myself and force myself to thunk positively about life. It helps most time. But I think, I really have a strong mind that is why I can overcome it even though its hard.

 last month  

Yeah having a strong mind helps and I think that was also part of the reasons why it was hard for me to completely give in to his control.

Like you rightly said, some people fail to see the truth in what others say when they say they are getting depressed and that alone might make some people hide themselves away for good.

Thank you so much for stopping by and sharing your beautiful thought with me ❣️

 last month  

Depression is mostly related to our mind set. If we have a positive mindset and we are surrounded by good people then, depression barely take entry in our life. Unfortunately very few people have positive mindset and we are surrounded by selfish people.

 last month  

That's right, most times we are not so lucky by the people we surround ourselves with and filling up our mind with negativity is just the worst!

Thank you so much for your thoughtful contribution 🥰

Hm! What a lucky and privileged person you are to have many right persons around d you, hehe, abrg borrow me them small na
Yea, depression is deadly and one need not be alone in that moment if not a lot will happen
#dreemport

 last month  

Sometimes I am tempted to see depression as a being, imagine how it drags people into darkness, to a place of loneliness, a place where no one would hear their voices then gradually start to feast them up.

You are right, depression comes to those who are too concerned about things they ought not to be concerned about, if you think too less or too much of yourself, you will definitely get depressed subsequently.

Surrounding ourselves with amazing people like you said is one of the best medicines to cure depression, but such people are hard to come by these days. Am glad you scaled through mom🥰

 last month  

Depression is real. It takes a great support from loved ones to come out of it. The lack of such a support has made many victims take extreme decisions. It's awesome that you got the necessary support around you.

#dreemerforlife

 last month  

Yes having the right people around is the main key to overcoming depression and of course trying to believe in yourself again.

Thank you so much for stopping by 🤗

 last month  

That's why it's always best to have people around us, they know us, see through us, and render a helping hand in our down moments.

#dreemport

 last month  

Yes, that's it 🥰.

Thank you for your thoughtful contribution

Depression is a silent/hidden killer.

 29 days ago  

💯