THE WEIGHT OF EXPECTATION

in Hive Learners15 days ago (edited)

In my last two post to the community, I mentioned a few things about how parents need to train up their children well and how they can help them make better decisions as they grow older. Well today, in relation to the topic suggested on ”A CHILD’S RESPONSIBILITY” I’d be connecting a few dots to give a more detailed response to this brilliant topic. First of all, we all see what is obtainable today in our society and it’s just right that we talk about it so who needs to learn can learn and become better.

Ideally, it is important that as a child grows up and attain some certain heights in life so they be able to take care of their parents or guardian. But today, we see that there has been a lot of cases when some children find it so hard to see themselves being responsible for their aged parents. Well, there are so many reasons for that and for the worst cases, these set of people are just so inhumane and they just don’t see any reason why they have to be the ones to care for their aged parents because they seem like burden to them.

While on the other hand, there are some children that immediately they become adults, their parents are already having lots of high expectations of them thereby pressuring them to take care of them even when the parent is not so old. I’ve seen so many cases when a child is still in secondary school and the parents are already expecting so much from them which I find really appalling. Sometimes, these children are people that love their parents so much and wouldn’t want to see them suffer so they think of doing anything just to make sure they give them the best life even at that young age.

In our world today, especially in most Africa countries, it is seen that most people just give birth to children without considering whether or not they can take care of them. So we end up seeing so many children on the street begging and engaging in all sorts of manual labor just to make sure they get to bring something to the table. Now it is so bad that some parents even encourage their children to engage in fraudulent practices as long as they make money to take good care of them. They even end up blackmailing some of their children using the fact that they suffered so much to train them up to that point.

Because they know that it is ideal that they take care of their parents, they end up giving in to different suggestions just to make money and take good care of their parents. Well at that point, I see it as something that is bad. I’m not sure if others have seen or heard of these things before but I’ve seen and heard and it always breaks my heart. Yes, as a child grows up to a stage in life it then becomes his or her responsibility to start taking care of his or parents but then it shouldn’t be a do or die affair.

Yes, there are some children that end up becoming so successful in life but still choose not to take care of their parents, in that situation, it only means that those children are not appreciative of what their parents have done or maybe the parents didn’t do anything for them to be able to achieve that success except bringing them to this world. As a parent, you should be more concerned about what you give to your child and not just waiting until the day they grow up so you can start receiving from them. Without being told, a good parent would always receive recognition from their children because the child would want to pay back what he or she received.

Now this is where training up a child well comes in. It doesn’t even have to be in the aspect of money, there are some children that immediately they leave their parents care, they hardly ever call or visit them and they never feel bad about it. I’ve seen children that plans how they would leave their parents umbrella because they just don’t see any good reason to be there. For some that I have been able to interact with, they have such minds because they feel all their parents care for is how to put food on the table and sustain a good income. Meanwhile, these are the same reason why some children want to give their parents everything they can afford.

But in all of these, as a man or woman ready to settle down, it is advisable that you are ready first before having children because it is your responsibility to take care of them when they arrive. So if you know you will complain so much, then it’s better that you don’t just even think of it. Because you will end up putting yourself in a tight spot and even your children too. Likewise children, even if you see your parents as undeserving of your support, at least for the fact that you wouldn’t be who you are if they didn’t bring you to this world, just support them as much as you can.

I know someday I will be a parent so I’m working towards that day by learning more about life and also trying to make sure that I can survive on my own if possible. I just pray to be a good parent and love my children UNCONDITIONALLY. If they want, they can take care of me and their father but it is not something that is what they should pay me back because the truth is they can’t. I want them to be happy always so my aim is not to be a burden to them because they gave me sleepless nights. It’s going to be hard not to expect that from them and that is why I want to be ready as much as I can first before having them.

All Images used are mine

Sort:  
 14 days ago  

In our world today, especially in most Africa countries, it is seen that most people just give birth to children without considering whether or not they can take care of them.

this is kind of sad. please do not let this continue. Having a child should be a serious topic not something so casual to not even consider taking care of them. if they want to have fun just use protection omg O.O if a baby happens well usually we call that a miracle baby.

Hopefully things change in your country~

It’s going to be hard not to expect that from them and that is why I want to be ready as much as I can first before having them.

This is good too. I plan to work hard and take care of all my future things like funeral payments etc beforehand. gotta invest too and make sure im good to go until i die

 14 days ago  

It’s actually very sad because I only spoke about it on a general level but I’ve literally see how children suffer so much because their parents were not really ready to bring them to this world. I hope not to make the same mistake and I’m trying to do that every single day because just like you said, it’s not something we should joke with in anyway.

Thank you so much for your beautiful contribution, it’s a pleasure having you stop by 🤗

 14 days ago  

general level o.o ya you didn't go too deep on it but it's still sad. Is it due to carelessness. do they not teach sexed in your country? they don't know how babies are made o.o adn how expensive it is to raise one x.x. I'm same as u ahha im not ready not financially capable now so no plans to have a kid o.o

you're welcome have a great weekend hope

 14 days ago  

They do teach about it but so many people just choose to ignore it it I guess.

 14 days ago  

ooops. that's not good then only thing you can do is educate your children to not go down that path?

 14 days ago  

Yes! That’s the only thing 🥰

 14 days ago  

good haha

Before I make my comment, I would like to know if you believe in “it’ll be better oneday”?

 14 days ago  

I just know I can do better today 🙂

🤣🤣🤣your answer made me forget my question

 14 days ago  

😂😂😂 that’s the plan 😂

🤣🤣

 14 days ago  

😁🤣

I've seen and heard of such cases too. Unintentionally or not, some parents have a way of putting thier children in unfortunate situations just to take care of them. What's really sad to me is that some of these parents are still capable of working to earn a living but they will much prefer to push that responsibility to the child has soon as he or he comes of age. I think having a good baseline of self-independence is important for the child before venturing into taking care of thier parent.

 14 days ago  

Exactly! I’m happy to know you’ve also seen these things too. For real it is sad and really unfortunate and I don’t want such for my children so I’d work hard to make sure of that🤲

Right, I think that's the way to break the chain and not repeat such situations onto future generations.

 14 days ago  

That’s right 🙂

 14 days ago  

We have some parents that don't even care about their children, when they know they are not ready to take any child's responsibility then why did they give birth to the child.

 14 days ago  

My sister if you ask me na who I go ask oo? For real it’s just not nice at all 🙂.

Thank you so much for your contribution dear 🤗

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited..

This post received an extra 2.51% vote for delegating HP / holding IUC tokens.

 14 days ago  

Thank you so much for the support 🥰

 9 days ago  

My dear, you really crushed this topic, we need to be ready before bringing those kids down because the moment they arrive, it’s one responsibility over the other, and it’s nice if we can take time to fulfill our responsibilities to the best of abilities… i see you yuer, keep crushing and see you soon dear…

 8 days ago  

Yeah, we have to be very ready before bringing those amazing souls to this world, they deserve the best we can give to them as parents.

I’m happy to know you enjoyed reading this 🥰

 8 days ago  

Yes i am, keep balling