Embracing the Responsibility of Parental Care

in Hive Learners14 days ago


Family dynamics are different. For instance, some cultures mandate that children take care of their parents in old age. Many families practice the same here in Nigeria, and I don't fault that. However, I understand that it can put pressure on the child, especially for a child struggling financially, but regardless of what my culture says or what society sees as right, I will always and forever take care of and support my aging parents, emotionally, financially, physically, and in any aspect you can think of.


After just a few years of experiencing what parenting looks like, I can relate to what my parents passed through to get me to the point I am in life currently. How can I forget in a hurry their sacrifices, the deprivation to see that I am well, their sleepless nights, the hard labor to feed me? The list is endless. Several times, I have engaged in discussion with some people regarding this subject. While some people feel that parents should allow their kids to live their lives and face their future, others are of the opinion that children should always remember to return the favor.


I am also aware of this and have seen some parents consider their children as tools for poverty alleviation. I once shared this story in one of my posts. These kids are not even properly trained, taken care of, or given the good things of life, yet their parents just expect them to become millionaires and start giving back, like a return on investment. This mentality is actually wrong. The truth is that if parents take up their due responsibilities as they should, any sensible child will always take care of their parents without being told or pressured to do so.


Parents in their old age need both emotional and physical support. The responsibilities of children to their parents go beyond financial support. During those periods when their bones become so weak, they need all the care to keep living. In my family, for example; grandma isn't the type that loves leaving her home for a long time. All the effort we have made to be sure she stays with one of us proved abortive. She just visits and goes— same thing applicable to my mom. Now, none of my siblings, uncles, or aunts are at home any longer. Everyone is living in their respective new home with husbands and wives, leaving mom and grandma at the village.

However, we found somewhere to take care of them, and we contribute money monthly to meet their needs. Whenever there's a health complaint, we don't hesitate to arrange for their medical treatment. Sometimes, my twin brother, who lives closer to our hometown, visits them and gives us feedback in our family WhatsApp group.


I think parents deserve some care. I don't know how some people see this, but personally, I feel they need the love and support of their children the most especially as the continue to age. Even now, my mom still works, earns, and makes little investment. Most times, she will tell my siblings and me not to bother about her but to focus on building our future, but sincerely, we know the right thing to do. She will never task us to do anything; she never did in the past, but because we value the sacrifice, we keep doing the best we can for them while they are still alive.


Personally, I have started planning for my retirement because life is really unpredictable. I wouldn't want to be a burden to my children as much as I believe that they would be sensible enough to take care of me in my old age. The best I can do for them is to plan ahead and relieve them of the financial burden so they can build their future without much to drag them back.

This is my response to the #HiveLearners Community Contest on the topic titled A Child's Responsibility.

All images are mine.

Thanks for reading through♥️♥️♥️

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 13 days ago  

I think it should be compulsory for a kid to take care of their parents at their age time. I think the financial issue is not the fact who refuse to take care of their parents. It's just an excuse the main problem is their mentality. If parents also think about finances all the time, then I don't think they would give birth to any children. But no parents do such kind of thing.

 13 days ago  

Yes, taking care of our parents is beyond financial assistance but with love and care especially with their weak bones. Even if it's made compulsory.. some children with their personal reasons wouldn't still do the needful.... even though we are advocating for the right thing to do

Happy Sunday @intishar

 14 days ago  

Honestly, it is just the right thing to do as a child. Our parents give so much and most don't even do it to get something in return. Even if they do, it just makes sense to take good care of them. Thank you so much for sharing your view on this.

 13 days ago  

Sure dear...it makes sense to take care of them regardless of their little or much effort to raise us to the point we are today
Thanks for visiting

 13 days ago  

It's my pleasure momma

 14 days ago  

We can never repay all they've Really done for us to be very sincere.

All the sacrifice,days they've been embarrassed for our sakes, days they sacrificed there last last for us to be alright, God really bless them for us.

What would we have done without them?.
They really deserve all the care in the world as you've stated earlier mama ❤️

 13 days ago  

We can't name it all
It's just massive to overlook and return the favor

 12 days ago  

Yes mama
It's beyond measure ma'am

 14 days ago  

We can never repay our parents for the labor they did in our lives. I agree with you, they deserve our support in return but they shouldn't make it a law.

Some parents can be funny like you stated, they don't even train their children well but just keep putting high hopes pressuring the innocent young people to support them to the extend of making them do things that are unlawful just to make things right.

As parents, one needs to plan his or her life before retirement, you never can tell what life would look like tomorrow, your are children are not God, God forbid, some of them might not even be as big as you envisioned in life, so, why take chances? plan your retirement, plan your life so that you don't end up being a burden to your children someday.

 14 days ago  

That was a great feedback.. thanks for that
It shouldn't be a law, but then we should know the right thing to do
Any parents who fails in their duties shouldn't expect heaven and earth, after all you brought the kids on earth at ur will, so why not take up ur responsibility

Children on the other hand should always stand by their parents

 13 days ago  

That is it ma, when parents play their role well, the children will never forget them, the foolish ones might do so but the wise child will never watch his parents lack

I wish you could see the wide smile on my face when I got to know you’ve even started planning for your retirement so you don’t burden your kids. That’s truly a mother speaking ❤️

 14 days ago  

Awwwwwww 😍
I am blushing
Thank you babe 😚😘

You’re welcome ma’am🥰

 13 days ago  

Some parents would give birth to many children with the aim that they will have those who will take care of them by force when they grow old. Some of them use children as their investment portfolio and you see them pressuring their children to go out to look for money anyhow, they are less concerned. These ones only destroys the lives of their children.

Yes, no matter what the culture is about caring for our ageing parents, I know it is the right thing for me to do because they deserve to be taken care of for their efforts on us too. Parents shouldn't mandate on a child to care for them because if they don't know, they would not see him or her around them.

 13 days ago  

Some people needs training before birthing otherwise they miss the main purpose of giving children. It's a shame to know the mentality of some parents

However, parents too shouldn't mandate children to take responsibilities..if they train us well, we should be responsible enough to do the needful

 12 days ago  

Exactly 💯 I have witnessed a bad mother who never got visited by her children till she died recently in my village. This woman suffered at her old age and when she died, I was happy because she has gone from such suffering and agony. No child came to take care of her or even thought of bringing her over to the city.
When a parent is good, children will always want to take care of him or her.

 14 days ago  

You're right on point, parents deserve care regardless of how the society sees it, at old age they no longer have the strength they had in their youth, and without support their love would be miserable.

Although like you said, parents who sees their kids has provety elevation channel are wrong, they should put in the work themselves to amazed wealth, cause the child would also be saddled with his own life and family responsibilities.

 14 days ago  

Of course, children also have their personal responsibilities. If parents brace up..it becomes easier for everyone
Thanks for coming around grandpa with ur well of wisdom

 14 days ago  

The sacrifice made by parents for their children can't be quantified. A lovely parent takes the wellbeing of his children as his top priority. He or she can go hungry to see that the children have food to eat. In many instances, the training of the children makes them forget about their old age. They invest every penny in the education of their children.

I see it as right of parents over children to be taken care of at old age.

No matter how we prepare for our old age, we need the support of our kids for many reasons.

 14 days ago  

That's right, their sacrifices are numerous to mention. The least we can do is to be that shoulder they can lean on at their old age in different aspects of their needs
I appreciate your comment

I think parents deserve some care.

Yes, they do and no matter how we care for them it want be enough to pay for what they did for us

 14 days ago  

We can't repay them for all their laborious effort to bring us to the point we are now. A token of love and care wouldn't hurt
Thanks coming around

Back here again from #dreemport as a #dreemerforlife

The moment I saw the post, I just remembered the retirement plan again and Hess what? I smiled again.

 11 days ago  

Hahaha 😂
Thank you so much, a true #dreemer

Taking care of our parents is the right thing for children to do. I agree that the pressure can be too much for those who are yet to find their stands. Especially those whose parents left the care of their siblings to them at a very tender age.

Still, we can't repay all they have sacrificed in raising us. So we as children should also do our part.

Thank you for sharing Queen.

#dreemerforlife

 11 days ago  

I love your viewpoint on this too
Thanks for the feedback my dear ♥️