I minted my first NFT - how it went

in Alien Art Hive3 years ago

I minted my first nft!

23 days ago I released 7 nfts in the nft showroom in my first series called “The First”. Here’s my documentation of that experience. Which was super positive and exciting! Lots learned. So here we go...

D815049403994D5DAFC95136EE7FCD71.jpeg
Check it out Here

I used my most recent paint project as the focus of this first collection of nfts, a way to help me get into blockchain & crypto. The intention was to use the earnings to fund currency experiments with the Currency Skunks (group of currency design students). And also to learn by doing, documenting the path so others can follow.

B3F634344FFE4919AFE66B5F198B8FB5.jpeg
The First nft Collection

The Strategy
I staggered the release over the course of 15 days. (I had 9 prepared, only released 7)
Released 10 editions of the first, then minted fewer of each, with the some only having 4 editions.

Promoted on twitter, Bigo (live streaming app) & within Hive communities.

Incentive to collect all- Collect all 7 get access to the dropbox folder with entire collection of photos & videos from the project.
The whole collection would cost - 473 SWAP.HIVE if purchased one at a time.

I saved 1 or 2 editions of each nft to release or gift at a later time.

I feel like the nft showroom was a great place to start. It was easy. I was also already on hive so it was smooth process getting whitelisted. The community is very supportive. When I released the first... I sold all four editions within 12 hours, with no promoting and I had told no one that I had even minted anything. That made me feel confident, so thank you all for that !

I was able to go through the entire process from joining the showroom, creating my profile, applying for whitelist, and selling & buying nfts on the nft showroom from my mobile!!! This is my favorite part of all this. (I work almost entirely from my mobile.) The Nft Showroom is very user friendly. Understanding hive is a bit more complicated, but I’ve spent days and days learning, observing and asking questions and have a better grasp of it all now.

So here’s how it went :
1EDBDAC84A514C91AE628B8221EDE850.png

I sold 20 out of the 43 in the first 20 days! Bringing in 1,225 SWAP.HIVE total from this collection. I spent 71 SWAP.HIVE to mint and 122.5 SWAP.HIVE in commissions to the nft showroom. If I were to exchange that to HIVE then to dollars it be about $111.

I haven’t moved any SWAP.HIVE out of my wallet, planning on leaving it there until next month. Thinking I’ll take half out and use it to power up. Leaving the rest to continue to mint new stuff and collect more art. So far I purchased 6 art nfts from the showroom. I understand the importance of building & supporting community in this space.
It’s the kind of thing you keep your value in and keep moving it as you help others also achieve their goals. I see the potential and vibe with it.

What’s next?

I will continue to focus on developing my skills and experimenting.
I’ve created 4 other pieces since I concluded the first collection. I’ve started experimenting around with photo collage journaling. I shared 2 so far with unlockable journal entry. (Just me writing about my day) The other 2 are mixed media movement art mp4s. These are way fun to produce!! It combines so many of my art mediums together in a single creation. For years I’ve been imagining the day when all my various hobbies and interests would merge into something unique and this is def an evolution!! I have sold one of those and one of the journals.

CD5E0FCB145648B3B907CE00C43B5B5C.jpeg

Now that I have a bit of an idea what’s going on and how this works... I’m asking these questions:

  • Who is buying art on hive? And why?
  • What value can I provide to those buying & selling on the site?
  • How can games (not like video games) be used to create more sales and cooperation/collaboration between artists?
  • What are the goals of the nft showroom? What are the goals of the artists? What are the goals of the buyers?

Ideas for future nfts:

  • Folders of elements (kinda like stock photos but with my modeling work- example: legs, eyes, bum, yoga.. etc.)
  • Hidden messages in the nfts that give a clue to the next project.
  • Surprise unlockables
  • Courses (I lead classes about spiritual & personal development that I’d like to package as nfts, you buy one piece of the course at a time, as you go.)

During that first 20 days, 4 members of the Currency Skunks joined the hive ecosystem. All hive I earned from my peakd & 3speak posts about this art project went into bringing the Skunks over to hive. I helped them learn how to use the wallet, power up, and craft a post. It’s my intention to bring more people over and aid in a smooth transition.

**Additional Notes & Interesting Happenings: **

I also minted 3 unique pieces on Rarible from this same project focusing more on the nsfw parts. I have sold nothing there yet.

I minted 43 total nfts in this collection and the whole collection costs 473 SWAP.HIVE. 43 is my favorite number- A significant number for me. I didn’t intend or plan this... I didn’t even know how many different pieces would be in the collection. It just worked out to be!!

time lapse of the painting I used for the collection.

*I never present content as a long form blog....it took me 4 days to get this out.lol *

My Links:
NFT Showroom
Rarible
Twitter

Sort:  

I woke up to 43 followers!! 😃🔮

The right most picture in the second series in this post has a psychedelic quality that I really enjoy. Also I don't know if this was your intention but I also like the juxtaposition of the two nudes on each side of the religious imagery there. I feel like there is some meaning there but maybe I just smoked too much this afternoon lol.

I just stumbled upon your account and all of your content is very well done. This place benefits from creators like yourself.

Hi and thanks so much for this reply! The psychedelic piece is a screenshot from an mp4 nft ! Here the link for that one: https://nftshowroom.com/polyannie/gallery/polyannie_movement-art_7441028
That one combines hoop dance, video editing and music (I also made the backtrack!)
There was no intent behind the nudes placement around the religious figures. It just visually looked the best.
In general I create intuitively and then the messages and meanings come in hindsight to me. Almost like doing a tarot reading. I create freely then go back and analyze what was expressed.

Really great to be here :)

Your welcome, your stuff is super cool and deserves praise.

"I create intuitively and then the messages and meanings come in hindsight to me."

I think the nature of your medium allows for more of that (and benefits from it) and than writing does for me. I find that I need some intention when I go into that creative mode. I can try to let it flow as it were but I never feel like that's my best work.

Even it wasn't an conscious decision on your part, I choose to "read" it placing the nude form in a "secred" context. That being said, I took a closer look at that picture with the that incorporates the religious figures and I'm pretty sure it has a little nude in it too so it might do that on on its own.

Excited to watch the progress in this new art realm!!!

Thank you!

 3 years ago  

This is a really great overview, I hope you can onboard some of your collective!

Thanks! Def excited to bring more folks here :)

Awesome! I'm going to have to check out your work.

Thank you !

Congratulations @polyannie! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 comments. Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Next Hive Power Up Day is November 1st 2020
Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and get your Halloween badge

Currency skunks?
Glad I can't smell this art. Also, I thought that money didn't stink?

Just kidding. I love this art, following your journey and I'm excited for what it has brought you so far. Keep up the good work and thanks for motivating me even more to set foot in this area of the blockchain one day soon.

A hug from Portugal,

Vincent

Wow I missed a few comments on here! A bit late but... Thank you Vincent 😊

wow, that was a long post, and congrats for your first successful #cryptoart project. I like the route also going to "stock photo / art" and offering also commercial licenses (limited reproduction rights) for artworks, which is a unique feature on @nftshowroom. I think cryptoart with commercial licenses is a big plus and USP in my opinion and makes nfts / art more valuable and useful.

Hey thanks for the feedback! I agree about the stock photos. I def plan on doing more of that. Thanks for the support over the last couple of months!

I'm behind on your articles but know that I'm making my rounds now, I saw a reblog of your work and couldn't help but stop by. I see you're about 6 months into this platform--welcome!

@coloneljethro, you should come check this out. Right up your NFT alley and talented as fuck.

Hi!! Thank you! It's awesome being here and having the space to blog. I've never put so many words out before and I love it! Before I mostly just put out content with little context. This is like writing my story! It's so cool :)