Current addiction

in Galenkp's Stufflast year (edited)

20230320_140000~2.jpg

I currently have a neuropsychological malfunction, a compelling urge of the most intense variety, to eat Vietnamese rice paper rolls, called cold rolls here in Australia. Ok, if I'm honest I have a few other addictions: Coffee, sleep, Lego, donuts, fish and chips, public holidays, nature, boobs, corn chips and salsa, mini skirts and push up bras...it's a long list, but cold rolls for lunch has got me in its grasp and...there's no cure, except having cold rolls for lunch!

A Vietnamese cold roll, (here in Australia), is basically a collection of grilled chicken or prawns, lettuce, vermicelli (thin noodles), a little carrot and fresh mint rolled up into rice paper. It's served (generally) with a peanut dipping sauce, usually a little spicy and there's always sriracha on hand if one wants some additional heat.

I know, it doesn't sound like much, but get some cold rolls into your gob (mouth) and your life is transformed into a taste sensation, for a while at least. One isn't enough. Two either, although I (usually) limit myself to two. Sometimes. Occasionally. Rarely.

Lately I've been having cold rolls for lunch during the working week, today's are pictured above. I go to a little place that makes them to order meaning they don't sit around in containers, they're made fresh and are bloody tasty! I think know I am currently addicted.


Have you folks got a food you're currently addicted to? I don't mean an everyday food, I mean something you might not normally eat and are currently bingeing on for breakfast, lunch or dinner...or snacks.

Tell me about it in the comments below if you'd like.




Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default; tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind - galenkp

[All original and proudly AI free.]

Any images in this post are my own.

Sort:  

I know, it is an older (edit: I just looked and the post isn't old, I am just delusional, I have been missing commenting on yours!) post, but, I meant to come back sooner!

For me, it is a muffeleto! I discovered it in New Orleans when I was there for two and a half months and I happened upon an Italian Deli that made this sandwich. The sandwich is a round loaf covered in sesame seeds, split and filled with provolone cheese, mortadella, salami, ham, and olive salad. (to me, this is the ingredient that makes it amazing! It has chopped green olives, pimentos, cauliflower, celery, and carrots, then sprinkled with oregano, thyme, garlic, and olive oil. I have had a version of it with french bread in NYC, but, I like this best. I like it cold, but, the warm version makes the flavors meld and the cheese too.. plus the bread gets a little crunch.

And yes! Now I want one!

Nowadays, I get a bastardized version of it -also rather delicious- "The Original" sandwich, from Schlotzsky's Deli, it comes so close to it, and you might have trouble picking out the differences. Not really, but, I can't get to New Orleans all the time. Tell me, just who doesn't want a round Italian sandwich filled with olive salad and all kinds of Italian meats and cheeses?

Truth be told, I am looking at your yumminess up there, and darn if that doesn't look so good, I want one of those too. I should have eaten breakfast. I want everything.

Gyros and Shwarma are a little different, here anyway. Much the same ingredients, but, different spices. Gyro is fresher tasting, but, shwarma has a delicious Mideastern taste. Gyros are healthier for you.

Hi, Galen!

Now that sounds like something I have to try! All those flavours together with the olive stuff, yum!

I used to go to an Italian market, unoriginally called Mercato, a lot which is basically a grocery store for all things Italian (wines included) and they have a deli there, plus a cafe. Most go to the cafe but nope, not the old G-dog. I made friends with them (this was when I was a commercial estate agent as they had loads of commercial property) so I'd go to the market, get some cold cuts sliced and jammed between some bread with cheese, olives and sundried tomato. Simple fare for a simple man. It was delish! I go there still, just not as often, and they remember me...I guess that's what 20 years of patronage will do.

It's not the same as your sandwich, but similar.

Let's make a deal, when I'm in the States we'll head over to New Orléans for a muffeleto and one from Schlotzsky's Deli too...then we can compare them. Deal?

I hope you're well.

Sounds magic, I have never had them made up fresh! Bet it makes a huge difference

To be honest, neither had I until I found these legit Australians, (who hardly speak a word of English), from Vietnam who make them as they're ordered. It's so good, which is why they're always busy. Just between you and I Boom...I'm having them again tomorrow.

I would be having them every 2 work day and maybe more!

I've never had a cold roll before and can't say I'm addicted to mini skirts or push up bras because personally even though I wear them, push ups can be horribly uncomfortable compared to NO BRAS!

untitled.gif

Coffee? Yes. Every day, every couple hours. Become quite the coffee snob lately.

As for food though, well, I made cabbage and beef stew a couple nights ago and it was so damn delicious, it's now on the list of staples.

No...bras...you...said no bras. Umm, yep, that's one of my addictions as well. Lol.

Get ye some cold rolls and thou shalt not looketh back.

Well, I think that we have many addictions in common. And Coffee (and other age-restricted) are much much enjoyable!
Besides, I have acquired the habit of drinking an Americano coffee in the morning, with Cinnamon (for digestive-fire power-up) and Coconut oil (for brain power-up)

And for the rice rolls, I will look for them and let you know. Last night I enjoyed some good Felafel (the vegetarian version of the kebab) at almost midnight, after 1h 45' of meditation with the Spring Equinox, that was much powerful but also energy-consuming.
Not really Vietnamese, but Middle East still 😎

I did the espresso and coconut oil thing in the morning for a long time, it's good stuff; I should get back on it.

I enjoyed some good Felafel (the vegetarian version of the kebab) at almost midnight

Nice one, and a good time to eat it too...Well, anytime is a good time.

I hope you manage to find some Vietnamese cold rolls, they really are worth a try.

I lived on biscuits and crisps on a road trip from Hanoi to Saigon (old skool),Vietnamese cuisine along with Thai,yeuch 🤢

Mini skirts and push up bras , now we are talking something that stimulates the taste buds

I've sustained myself on th biscuits and crisps diet also, simple but it works. I've not been to Saigon, but spent some time in Hanoi and Ha Long Bay...nice place, the latter. Hanoi was too busy for my liking but I spent a lot of time in the outlying areas.

Stimulated tastebuds is a good thing right? I think many would agree with us. 😁

Halong bay yes an awesome place, out on a boat trip, lunch included.... Fish FFS, now where is my bag of cheese and onion.

Halong bay yes an awesome place, out on a boat trip, lunch included

I did a cruise out there on a traditional Chinese junk (a modern one) for a few nights...It is one of my most valued memories. Unfortunately I had a shit camera (photography really isn't my thing) so my photos are not that great. Here's one. I'd like to go back.

Shut up about crisps, you'll make me need some...oh shit, too late...must...have...chicken...crisps.

that's pretty good for a shit photo.

Nope. Definitely did not see the boobs part coming, or the mini skirt or the push up bras. Although, in all honesty those are very legit things to be addicted to, so I would definitely want to hear the origin of this addiction. But I guess that's a story for another day. Hahhhh!!

Been addicted to this thing called Mishai lately. I guess that's the native name but I don't know if it has an English name. It's basically bread. Two huge slices, filled with scrambled eggs, or sardines or whatever you want to put in it and then pressed delicately on a frying pan to heat for about 30 seconds then you turn to the other side and repeat same.

Not even much, but the taste has me hitting notes. Really high notes.😂 And I can't stop eating it no matter how hard I try.

I'm kind of happy this is the first thing I read today. A good laugh to set the day. Nice!!

Oh yeah, that sounds good! I make toasted sandwiches that way some times. Ham and cheese and a scrape of seeded mustard then butter on each side and fried in a pan until toasted and the cheese melts. It's yum! As you say, a person can put anything in there. (Roast chicken breast, sundried tomato, very thin-sliced red onion and avocado is another good one.)

Thanks for commenting. And yeah, maybe I'll do a post about the boobs/mini skirt addiction some other time. 😇

Had to read all these when I haven't had breakfast. I like that I read it but I guess this is my cue to eat. I should probably try your version though. Quite scrumptious.

Can't wait. I think I may have just added you to favourites so I don't miss that boob post. Should be fun! Hah!!

That little list of yours, I have most of those addictions too 😂 but this Vietnamese roll is something new for me. It looks a lot like a shawarma, with an Asian twist. 🤔

Have you folks got a food you're currently addicted to?

I'd say a big fat piece of double, triple chocolate cake fits that category quite well for now. Even though I hate too much sugar and sweetness, it's a sin to indulge in such sugariness, but sometimes I just can't resist. 💀

Oh no, now you just made me wand chocolate cake! You're a bad influence on me! 😁

That I am, sometimes. 😬

I have had these rolls made for me by some of my Vietnamese friends a few years back and I can totally understand when you say you feel addicted to it! The variety of flavors and the kick from the spices hits all the right spot. The mint is what made it extraordinary for me.

Now I want some too. I don’t think I can find them here though, boo!

Yep, that little bit of mint brings it a nice zing and in contrast to the other flavours, the sauce and all, it's an overall winner! I'm glad someone here has tried them...but all this talk about cold rolls has got me wanting to eat some!

Same here mate, dame here! At least you know where you can get some tomorrow haha. I have no clue! I'm heading out with my wife later this afternoon to a place that happens to be packed with restaurants. I intend to search the area to try my luck. 😄

At least you know where you can get some tomorrow

I've already planned my Wednesday-cold-rolls-mission.

Later tonight I'd suggest you keep your eyes peeled...you may find some when you're out. Tag me in the post you do about it if you find some and get some.

No luck today! Couldn’t find a place that serves it, but I have a few more places I have in mind that I will check out whenever I am in the vicinity.

The hunt continues.

I think i don't have such kind of addiction but i love to eat biriyani as much as I can and I don't feel bore to take it again and again.

Seems like an addiction to me...I'm calling it that. 😊

Never knew that sleep or public holidays could pass off as things one could be addicted to - sign me up then (I’ve loved them for forever and can never have enough of them) Maybe cus I'm a bit of a workaholic🤷🏽‍♀️

I love spicy foods and the sensation they give🤤 Suya, kilishi also known as beef jerky and shawarma that I make sure to have on special occasions. If I’m unable to have them for long periods then compulsorily on my birthday. I indulge in my guilty pleasures - not minding their price or health hazards.

Thanks for sharing. Lovely piece as usual.

Indulging in guilty pleasures is ok now and then; I do it too...but interestingly, *don't feel guilty about it! 😄

public holidays

Who wouldn't have public holidays as an addiction.... workaholics I guess. Definitely not me.

Two either, although I (usually) limit myself to two. Sometimes. Occasionally. Rarely.

Why does this sound like you limit yourself to two only once in a blue moon.

Have you folks got a food you're currently addicted to

No food has won this spot in my heart yet. I really should step up on my food exploration. Just maybe I could find an addiction then.

Anything can be an addiction. Some may even be addicted to addiction.

I love the dessert Galen, the pineapple and apple cake inside and out is so delicious, and the coffee of those that gives glory to see and sip it, with its vegetable milk froth and everything...hmmm...

You like dessert? You and most people I'd say, certainly me!

It's an addiction this cake the pineapple stuffed with apple I can eat it every day

Tofu is what am addicted to especially when is fried. It tastes good.

Oh ok, that's healthy. I'm not a fan of tofu personally, I'd rather eat cardboard. Although, if I'm honest, I have had some decent tofu dishes in Thailand a few times.

Good to know you've tasted. Though is not your kind of stuff.

At first glance, I thought of shawarma. The rolls looks delicious and I hope I get to taste that in my lifetime. Don’t have anything like that around here.

I don't know what shawarma is, but it's not that.

The food in your country isn't very multicultural? What a pity. Fortunately it is very diverse here in Australia.

This is how shawarma looks like

We don’t always have food from other countries available here just like the cold roll. Since we have a lot of ethnic groups in my country, we have their food available.

Ah ok, we call that a yiros here, basically a wrap with marinated lamb, chicken or beef, lettuce, tomato tabouli, onion and tzatziki sauce. It's a Greek thing, brought over after World War Two when the Italians and Greeks flooded in. Bloody good too!

Now I am hungry for it 😅😂. I would have to order for one during the day.

How much is the cost of yiros there? Over here, it ranges from $3 to $9 max depending on the ingredients used and location I am buying it.

A yiros here is somewhere between $14-$18AUD. Worth the cost if it's a good one (most are).

Hmmm they are delicious. Had one not that long ago and it was so good. If it's got tsatsiki on it, even better!

Ok, if I'm honest I have a few other addictions: Coffee, sleep, Lego, donuts, fish and chips, public holidays, nature, boobs, corn chips and salsa, mini skirts and push up bras...it's a long list

We have practically the same addictions, also considering the fact that you have omitted some in this list, for example vegemite!
I know it was an oversight heh heh!

As far as I'm concerned, one of the things I can't give up is coffee; but then as said above the list of my addictions is long😉

Haha, yeah I couldn't list all the addictions I have or I'd still be working on the list. Vegemite is there though, for sure.

I will soon have to write another post in which I tell the arrival of the vegemite and my experience ... I will soon considering that I have already ordered another jar 🤤

However yes we have many addictions, all in all healthy though, it's not a bad thing, right?

Another jar? That's the way to feed your addiction mate...you'll be Australian in no time at this rate.

But you have to tell me what the next steps are... after all the way we will buy our house in Australia and start a new life!🤟🎊🎉🎊🎉

Lol...more Vegemite!

Hmmm.. I thought very hard but I realise I don't have a food that I am currently addicted to.. Not sure if that is a good or bad thing.. Work has been so busy lately that I am just eating to sustain myself for tasks after tasks.

Sustenance eating helped keep the human race alive so there's nothing wrong with it. I tend to put more emphasis on my own life rather than work though, life is too short to do it the other way.

Yeah I also hope that is the case but sometimes global events are not within my control. Haha.

https://leofinance.io/threads/@ladyfoth/re-leothreads-f5okk9cy
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( ladyfoth ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

The ham,egg,& cheese croissant...

Damn the creator of that evil addictive combination of food stuffs. I am currently suffering withdrawal. 2 days.

This ends in the morning.!

Damn You Burger King and Arby's!! (both quite tasty)

untitled.gifuntitled.gif

Ham, egg and cheese...croissant...sounds legit. You know, I've never had one. I'm not a huge fan of egg and cheese together for some reason. I'm all over the ham and cheese croissant though, like a fat kid on cake.

Reading through the post, I find myself in complete agreement about boobs. I can honestly say they're often in my thoughts. Not mine, though. Well, my thoughts, yes. Not my boobs. They're disappointing.

My food addictions are the ones I am always addicted to: bacon and ice cream. Not at the same time. Ew. That'd be gross.

Oh yeah, the time spent thinking about boobs could be better spent, said no one ever! 😁

When Mr. bonkers was here (my four year old nephew) over Christmas/New year we went to a famous pancake place my parents would take me to as a kid. It's a tradition that we go there every time he visits - he lives a long way from here so it's not often. Anyway, we all selected normal pancakes, the usual suspects. But him? I can't recall what it was called on the menu but it was pancake, bacon, ice cream, M&M's and maple syrup.

Yep, he's bonkers! 😂