... and a star to steer her by.

in Freewriterslast year


tall_ship.jpeg

I must go down to the seas again, to the lonely sea and the sky,
And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by;
And the wheel’s kick and the wind’s song and the white sail’s shaking,
And a grey mist on the sea’s face, and a grey dawn breaking.

Sea Fever, John Masefield

I've seen these majestic ships from time to time.

The first was moored somewhere along River Street in Savannah.

A macaw was perched on the wheel awaiting the return of the ship's master. I have a picture of that helmsman somewhere all faded and dusty.

When I was a boy, I read some of the adventures on the high sea: Stevenson's Treasure Island, Defoe's Robinson Crusoe, Melville's tragic Moby Dick. Verne had several on this list including The Castaways.

While the days of sea faring are long past, I am still intrigued by movies such as Captain Blood, even though I know I will never be such a character.

I have never even owned so much as a kayak.


hr.jpeg

Freewrite prompt: A picture is worth a thousand words.

Sort:  

It's never too late to start sailing :)
Such a pity these ships became history.

Thanks for joining pic1000 👍

Hi @uthus2k, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rem-steem!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON