To Decant, Or Not To Decant?

in Cheers2 years ago

image.png

Hello fellow Wine Nerds! So let me ask, do you decant? I find decanting makes a huge difference, especially big Bordeaux's, and Napa Valley Cabs, but tbh almost all of the wines I drink benefit from a good decant, some more then others. I am sure some do not as well. But I am not at the level to notice this difference, or to make the call on not to decant. I just think the benefits outweigh the risks. Would love to hear from some of you who are at a higher level then I.

Some of you may be asking, what is decanting, and why would you want to do it? Keep in mind that I am answering this as a person who so far is self taught, and I would love to hear from experts, such as @uncorked-reality in the comments to correct me, or to fill in the blanks.

Decanting can make a world of difference in a bottle wine! It really is a shame to know there are many people who say they do not like wine, all because they did not know how to drink it. Yes there are some basics one should know in order to experience wine the way it should be, these things can be storage, temperature, vessels, not knowing what TCA is, and decanting. Some wine need's to be opened, and exposed to oxygen in order to unlock it's bouquet. Some longer then others. Pouring wine into a decanter can help with this process. For instance this Rhone Blend I recently picked up(for cheap btw), was so much better after sitting 30 min in the decanter. I have had some wines take hours before they started to come around. Just think of so many that gave up on a bottle of wine after that first pour? A real pity if you ask me.

image.png

Another big reason to decant is an obvious one. To filter out the sediment from a bottle that has been sitting in the cellar for some time. Other benefits of decanting, to burn off a little bit of the Alcohol. Yes this may sound a little far fetched, why would you even want to burn some it anyway? Sometimes a little to much Alcohol can make a wine unbalanced. I may be misinformed on that last one, so fell free to pitch in to help. I do recall a person who is considered a Master of wine say the perfect amount of Alcohol content in a wine is 13%, which is a good rule of thumb when searching for a great bottle of wine. Although that is not always the case. CDP wines are in the high range, and so are many of California wines. Please comment below, do you decant? Why? When? How? Thanks for taking the time to read my post, and as always CHEERS to you!

Sort:  

Great post and great comment from @uncorked-reality too! Especially the first part of the comment I fully agree with and that's one good reason not to decant. I personally don't use to decant because I love to touch the bottle when I pour and I love to see it on the table or chimney when I'm enjoying the wine! What I definitely do is open the bottle wie some time in advance, and put a bit in a glass which I take with small sips in order to taste the evolution. Another good tip to add oxygen is to walse the wine in the glass. Don't fill your glass over 1/3 and you can add ss much oxygen as you want (and drink more glasses lol)

Thank you! You are also giving some great tips as well, and it is true the touch of the bottle is part of the experience. I would say for me i get that when I pour out the bottle in the decanter, but after seeing what you all are saying I will start to use more discretion.

I remember when I first started to drink wine, and when I started to notice the change in the flavor, and smell in a wine after it opened, it really blew my mind, and that is when I started to get obsessed! Thanks for stopping by, CHEERS!

!wine


Hi @wineyoudyer, You Do Not Have Enough WINEX Tokens To Make Another Successful Call.
Please Stake More WINEX Tokens.
(We Will Not Send This Error Message In Next 24 Hrs).

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.400

I usually don't but probably should...

I should of also mentioned a persons preference as well. But yeah it really does help in so many cases. Especially for those wines that are meant to age for a decent amount of time, but you don't have the patience to wait 10-15 years. CHEERS!

!wine


Congratulations, @wineyoudyer You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @rmach.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/1 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.500

To decant or not decant. hmmm.
So many questions. Are you drinking it all tonight? if you're not going to finish the bottle and have to dump it back in, you're decreasing the life of the bottle for the next evenings enjoyment.

Is it a young(er) wine that would benefit from being in the cellar for a few more years? Decant. They say an hour of decanting can add a year of life.

Is it an older wine? Yea, great to get it off the sediment in one pour, if you tip and pour a glass three or four times, by the time you get to the end the half bottle will be sediment strewn. So great to get it into the decanter all at once. Also, if that wine has been locked up and closed in a bottle for a very long time, it might need some oxygen to allow it to come back to life.

As for alcohol, yea, some will blow off and evaporate if your in a warm house or the like. I recommend if you can taste the alcohol, if it tastes boozy, instead of decanting it necessarily. Chill it. Reds with a 15min chill in the fridge can be helpful. Most wine is served too warm.

Rule of thumb, if its young, decant away. If its a red that might be a few years old, say a 2016 Rioja. decant away. it still could cellar a few years. If its got some funk to it on the nose, decant it, see if it blows off. !WINEX


Congratulations, @uncorked-reality You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @wineyoudyer.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/1 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.400

great tips! I knew you would have more experience on the topic. Defiantly exciting to see this conversation here on Hive, and I hope to bring light to people who are interested. All of it makes sense. I do know there have been wines that where so amazing of the bat, that most likely needed no decanting, but my inexperience gets in the way, and I decant away. thanks for chiming in!

Congratulations @wineyoudyer! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 13
Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 10
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!