You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Future of PeakD design and a discussion with @ryzeonline

in About PeakD3 years ago (edited)

I'd love to see another feed available. This one would include posts from the new users. Learning curve and low rewards for high quality content are strongly discouraging and we could enhance interaction with new users by design. Please, consider this feature.

I got feedback from one of the new users getting familiar with Hive, she said newbie might feel "almost bullied" by complexity, additional attention directed to newbies could offset this effect.

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited) 

I'd love to see another feed available.

we have already created the underlying system to make this possible

If someone made a BADGE of those new users there would be a nice feed. We would approve a badge for someone that did that and determined what constitutes a new user. I suppose it would be easiest for someone with the technical know how to automate this process of adding to a badge I doubt someone want's to do this by hand. BTW adding the new user to a badge is as easy as a follow... so just automating a follow of new users until they are no longer new then unfollowing.

Agreed and well said! :) 🙏

I dont know, just my opinion, I understand that users issue except the introduce yourself tag is the best curated it has ever been. In the past 3 years never before have I seen so many whales that are providing support.

Now that does create a whole slew of new problems. Users who get overlooked by accident feel as though they are left out of the party or not explained to why they were not curated. Which is a way smaller percentage than before of new people coming in and not getting any support whatsoever and then leaving.

The option to look at tags is on Peak D still and all you have to do is just look up that tag and adjust settings to trending, hot or recent.

If there are tags beside introduce yourself that I am not aware of that new people are using I would love to know so I could let some people know who want to help welcome people with their own curation efforts. It is just that OCD and numerous Whales are already curating that tag and doing a great job in my opinion.

Yes, I see this efforts and regularly add my upvote to intro posts, there are also introduction and introducemyself tags used more sparsely. However this, and love sniper efforts to share this posts is basically it.

Data shows it's clearly not enough, retention is still low, and as long as new people won't be able to meet their friends here, we need to create as much welcoming and helping environment as possible. We can create first impression only once.

There could be more at play as in regards to retention perhaps everyone's buying Hive and just playing Splinter lands
Thanks for the heads up I will be more mindful about this

I'd probably just model Reddit or some other successful project on this:

image.png

Could be applied to the feed in general, specific communities, or both. 🙏