Maker's Mark Distillery a Wednesday Walk

in Pinmapplelast year

IMG20230402101315.jpg


This past weekend my wife and I got to take one of the most beautiful walks I have been on in quite some time. We were visiting Louisville for Spring Break and we decided to head down to Loretto, KY to visit the Maker's Mark Bourbon Distillery.

There are countless distilleries we could have toured down in Kentucky, but as I was doing some research something kept drawing me back to the Star Hill Farms which is the home of Maker's Mark.

IMG20230402100815.jpg


As I said, the property of the distillery is absolutely stunning and there is a good chance I will be using pictures from this location for many months to come here on Hive. I was resizing the photos this morning and realized we took over 300 photos on this trip.

IMG20230402100821.jpg


It's a bit of a walk from the parking lot to the welcome center, but it was a beautiful day, so we didn't really mind. The welcome center is undergoing some renovations, so we didn't spend a lot of time there. We basically checked in for our tour and then spent some time outside. At $18 a piece, the tour was really affordable.

IMG20230402101239.jpg


This was a section of the welcome center that was actually open. We found that displays like this are quite typical down along the bourbon trail. I have a couple of shots from various distilleries that are similar to this one.

IMG20230402101311.jpg


This plaque sits on a patio that overlooks the property and the shot that I used to open this post.

20230402_101511.jpg


@mrsbozz flexing her selfie skills with this shot! I have to admit, while I like Maker's Mark, I wouldn't have considered it one of my favorite bourbons. After this trip though, it is now right up there at the top of my list!

IMG20230402101313.jpg


The walk down to the main part of the facility is like you are taking a step back in time. It's pretty awesome.

IMG20230402103511.jpg


You can see the channel here where the limestone water flows down from the spring fed lake that is on the property.

IMG20230402110045.jpg


This is a shot looking back up towards the welcome center that is up on the hill.

IMG20230402103858.jpg


The paths and landscaping in this place are just stunning. I can't really even put into words just how beautiful it was. I can only imagine what it looks like at the height of Spring, Summer when everything is in full bloom. @mrsbozz and I were already impressed with how green the lawn was already compared to ours up in Michigan.

IMG20230402110925.jpg


Part of me wonders if many photographers come here for photo shoots. I don't even know if they allow that, but I could totally see getting special occasion photos taken here if you are a fan of bourbon or just beautiful scenery.

IMG20230402120356.jpg


Finally, I am going to leave you with this photo. You better believe I will be writing more posts about this location. I didn't even show you the inside of the buildings yet or the process they use to make their delicious bourbon.

Be sure to check back tomorrow as I talk some more about our trip to Maker's Mark!


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


All pictures/screenshots taken by myself or @mrsbozz unless otherwise sourced

Sort:  

That's a very photogenic location. I need to try their bourbon some time. I can get it easily here. Hope you had a great day.

Since it is a wheated bourbon is pretty smooth. You should check out my post today for more info. The distiller picked specific grains to help make it very easy to drink.

So cute your pics, greetings! 🤗

Thank you! It's easy to take amazing pics when the place looks as amazing as this!

So true! 🤗💙 you're welcome!

Great job on taking such a beautiful and informative trip to Maker's Mark Bourbon Distillery, Bozz! It's clear that you have a great eye for photography and it's awesome that you were able to capture the stunning scenery of the distillery. Your attention to detail and enthusiasm for the tour makes it sound like a fantastic experience, and I'm sure that many readers will be inspired to visit this location based on your post. Keep up the great work and I look forward to reading more about your travels!

Thanks, I appreciate it! You should check out my post today for more info. I took a bit of a deeper dive into the tour. It was a lot of fun. Of course the fact that we got to taste some bourbon always helps too. This place is so beautiful it made it really easy to take such amazing photos!

This place is beautiful, suitable for vacation with family. Thank you for sharing @bozz

There actually weren't many families there, but it was pretty great. Beautiful is definitely accurate!

I have never been there or heard about it. It looks very nice. I hope you enjoyed yourself and I will be waiting for more posts about the place.

Oh there are plenty on the way, you won't be disappointed. It was a great trip!

You were not far from me if you were in the Louisville area. I live about 15 minutes from there. We moved here about 3 years ago and have never been on the tours of the distilleries yet, but I would like to. My brother loves Makers Mark, so that may be my first tour. I look forward to more of your posts about their location.

It's in a beautiful area. The drive alone was worth it. We stopped at Bardstown and had lunch then popped into the Four Roses and the Jim Beam campuses. We drove over from Cincinnati on Friday and stayed right downtown in Louisville. It's a cool town. I think we were a bit ahead of the tourist season though.

Yeah, I think it will pick up in another month or so. Mostly when school starts letting out. I hope once my health gets better, as part of my de-isolation therapy, I may get down there to take some tours...and some drinks.😀

I kind of feel like derby season is what really kicks things off. There were a fair number of people when we went, but lots of the businesses were closed and stuff.

Yeah, they will get lots around the derby for that short period I think. But then it goes down a bit until the summer break I believe. I may be wrong though.

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1840.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you! I appreciate it!

I think that having to walk for quite a while in the park before reaching the distillery is a win-win situation considering how beautiful the weather was on that day and that you got to spend a little while in nature as well. I love this kind of discoveries which improve my knowledge but keeps me close to nature as well :)

yeah, it was the perfect day for it. I have to say though, they have a shuttle to take you back up to the top and my wife and I decided to walk instead. We misjudged the incline a bit. We were both out of breath by the time we got back up to the top!

This is quite a low key, and beautiful site for such a big brand. Is it their original site, and do they still have production facilities or is it all moved elsewhere now?

Yeah, it was really serene and beautiful. We were one of the first tours of the day, so that helped. Actually, check out the post I wrote today for some of the answers to your questions.

Looks like a great place to visit. I've been to the Jim Beam distillery and it was great !

I stopped at the Jim Beam facility on my way back from Laretto. It was our last stop before we got back on 65 north to head back to Louisville. They both have really beautiful facilities!

Aye - the million barrel warehouse was quite impressive - I'd happily spend some time locked in there !

For sure! I really enjoyed this tour! Such a great location and history!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

That is really cool! I've never been Bourbon distillery! I love Maker's Mark and such a pretty location, I think I'll make a point to go the next time I'm in KY. Did the tour come with free samples?
!lol

Mom are we pyromaniacs?
Yes we arson.

Credit: reddit
@bozz, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @thebighigg

(1/8)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

Yes, it did come with some free samples. I'll get to that in one of my future posts. It was a great time. The landscape is just amazing here!

It's such a nice place to visit. I can see greenery everywhere. You and your friend looking cool together. I hope you really enjoyed this trip can't wait to see inside the building things on your next post.

I have that post up already so you should take a look! My wife and I had a really great time yes! It was simply amazing!

That place is so picturesque. It looks like a postcard. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Getting the background info and history on that kind of product makes you appreciate it so much more. I hope we can visit a distillery in Ireland this fall.

I hope you can too! It is an amazing experience. For the most part a lot of them are really similar, but learning the history and sometimes just being there makes all the difference. This place was phenomenal. I'll write more about the process tomorrow.

Okay.. I'm jealous. For one I wish I had my taste for whiskey and scotch .. oh and beer too .. back from stupid Covid. Someday maybe. So beautiful there. Should have brought your horses and hooked them up to that wagon full of whisky! hehehe. If it were full of whiskey and if you actually had a few horses with you at the time. 😆

It was an amazing place! I don't think I would be able to handle it if I lost my taste. I hope it all comes back for you soon!

Thanks. I was telling my wife the other day. I think it’s slowly, but surely getting better. Very very very slow.

That is good to hear. I can't imagine if it were permanent. My friend was the same way though. He had stuff tasting funny for him for a long time.

Amazing

Thank you!