The Weirdest Shit Happened At Oliver's Cabin

in Pinmapple3 years ago

I can't explain it. Myself, @dandays - The Luckiest Guy I Know, is at a loss for words. I don't know wtf happened.

A few days ago or last week, last weekend, whenever it was, we went for a drive toward a city called Townsend here in Tennessee, it's real pretty over there. We ended up on Cades Cove Loop, an 11 mile scenic drive that winds in and around The Smoky Mountains. It loops around a huge (11 miles worth) valley. Imagine a lake in the middle of tree covered mountains with a curvy road wrapping around it. The valley is like that except with grass instead of water—the other side of the road is dense forest.

I was going through my photos trying to choose a cover image and decided I'll go with the burning one for this article. We'd parked the car on the opposite side of a controlled burn for this photo, nothing was on fire that wasn't supposed to be.

4B24EC2BDA84470B904412DB7333F1BC.jpeg
Images - phone

We noticed there's a trail in front of the car leading way off in the distance. Figured it had to go somewhere so I looked across the valley and saw a roof top in the middle of the forest. The valley is all private protected land, there isn't any houses around but I see a structure.

EEAB86B62AA9402C8B9966A20967D404.jpeg

BB7D29E684F2427EB6BDCFDCC635923E.jpeg

FB07A5F6DFDB43A094CED9DB56B44DDA.jpeg

We went over there. It's a nearly 200 year old homestead that's well maintained by Smoky Mountain National Park service. I didn't know how old or what it was until I looked it up. There was an updated wooden sign driven into the ground: Oliver's Cabin.

ABAEE56F2090430EB5144EB0261A4D06.jpeg

024816EF6F264141818D6E043E2F2287.jpeg

The Oliver's settled there in 1826 and have owned that property with the home on it long before the loop toured through until eventually becoming a National Park. The one seen in the distance is a smaller home on the property the Oliver's built for their son. The main house sets behind it. On the property is a few well preserved shed-type structures. Other than that, it's nature, you're in the middle of a forest.

7BB46C7B5CC2485BBC1F3FA629F45475.jpeg

D1789F16D8244964A3D6CC4707745BA5.jpeg

When I take pictures specifically for an article in mind like this homestead, I'm doing a lot of mapping out how I'll write it, too, while clicking photos. So when I click the picture, I always check it out because they have a sequence. Snap it, look at it, repeat. Try not to get my shadow in them—that's one. Make sure it's clear, whatever else, but I always look at it. If I need to delete it, I do, take another one, repeat steps.

We walked up to the house, the smaller one, got a shot of it, walked through it and out the back doorway to the main house. Walked through that one too. Followed the trail leading out the back—it didn't go far. Turned around, got a shot of the property from the back and even put a @coloneljethro touch on it—black n white filter.

D8C5D20741D948C985CC596692E35CAF.jpeg

176021490FA24BA985EC79D8F8E31EC4.jpeg

5AE5B8EDFFF74370BAFC59BC6F4572D6.jpeg

E13837433E9D4B96AF3F181BC2AAF828.jpeg

32F379B53462455188D2734E719ACBD4.jpeg

8986030D34534477AC1C90B10B21F07B.jpeg

C51ACA9BA8D349BE94F76218EE598B77.jpeg

15698D0A53324C9FBBAD8F481A664D23.jpeg

F57A5B09524A49F7B5DAFB9A6C257039.jpeg

What makes this weird is I looked at those pictures as I was taking them. Then we probably looked at them again inside the car cuz it was way too freezing to stay out there any longer. Nothing was out of the ordinary, one of us would've noticed something obviously out of place, we didn't miss it.

So when I went through my photos today looking for a cover image for the Cades Cove article, I noticed two big, unmistakably obvious, red frames in my photo gallery and wrote this one instead. This is what it looked like today, the same gallery I've been looking at for however long now. Anyone? Can anyone tell me what in the real fuck those red things are?

0006CF1D7B01441D8DC61D124FAA8827.jpeg

Notice the sequence? They're right after the stairs. Inside the main room of the front house was a staircase leading up to a second floor—I went up there. Pura didn't want to cuz they looked freaky, she said, so I went up by myself and snapped a few shots right quick before coming back down. Then we walked to the main house and so on—everything you just saw.

When I went up those stairs, I snapped a shot of the gate at the top of the stairs and one of the floor at eye level. I opened the gate and stepped into the room before snapping the first shot—lengthwise photo looking back at the stairs. The second shot was from the side of the room opposite the stairs, looking through the wooden window frame out at the property. That's it. Came down, checked out the rest of the property and went back to the car.

4D4C00CBB30E48399EF4078B808F335C.jpeg

6B4ACB95222C4EA08ABFC93353F779E3.jpeg

74183E96D0204A849E7B13AD61F73921.jpeg

ADB68E1E150F4ABE8DF30A865D695AAD.jpeg

F98FE5AB43D1482C8B68526777C34924.jpeg

I don't know wtf happened. I have no idea why those last two images look like NoNames designs now, however many days after the fact.

I was wearing a blue sweater that day and a black vest. I didn't have on anything red and I didn't take a backward picture or snap a picture of my pocket or anything weird like that. Blue as in blue, sky blue, and black as in black, not red or blue.

573BB9ADC67942F8A8440E78E60327EC.jpeg

4649350B-ED00-4720-9AF1-DF0F8ECC6F96.jpeg

Sort:  

I spent some time studying these specimens. If I told you what they are, you wouldn't believe me, and that's probably a good thing, because I was just going to say some random bullshit that sounds smart.

Sure is a good thing you weren't trying to sound smart.

That was a close one!

I miss your content around here, there a NoNames status? Furlough? (that may only extend to the corporate world) Hiatus?

Status? I'm not sure what's going on with me. Been trying to figure it out.

Keep me posted would Ya. Seems your rep is on the same decline as.. well.... you know.

C8722441EB5D4799BA8B1F9AB21AF8B1.jpeg

That's f'ed up dude. You threw me for a loop there too. Didn't see the picture things coming at all, and I don't understand it either. What's the timestamp between those ones and the stairs ones?

Your story of the road and nature though, and Oliver's cabin, reminded me of a stay we had in early summer. I'll be sure to tag ya when I write it.

Loading...

Before I read your post, and just saw the photos, I thought, why the heck is he including smudgy low quality photos in his post!!!!!

You sure you didn't cover the lenses accidentally with your finger? And how many seconds/minute apart were these photos taken? It is really weird. The barn look very clean inside, looks like it's not totally abandoned....

"What's up with this guy and these low quality photos?!"

Good morning/afternoon! Got a couple people asking about time stamps, good call everyone!
Shoulda thought of that myself.

Check it out @livinguktaiwan, from the last shot at the top of the stairs to the two weird ones, about a 4 minute gap in total:

545E8CA6FA3F458EA093B108EE3F15AD.jpeg

05D5B3CDDB914ECEAE0DF2F819278BC3.jpeg

56426AE1CF96459D89D6F53E9AFF88FA.jpeg

I not only found the time stamp thingy's, now I know what day it was: Tuesday

I'm not certain I didn't cover the lens somehow, definitely could've happened, I just don't know how I would've missed it from the time i took it to four days later. 🤔

The homestead is well preserved by National Park Service. And the main house in the back even had some road cones stored in it so I'm pretty sure park services stores vehicles or equipment or both in that main house when they're not on forest duty.

Always a pleasure to hear from you, LivingUKTaiwan, you stellar money and self manager you. Enjoy the rest of your weekend. See you soon.

Looks like camera was clicked mistakenly, but you were not wearing red nor is there anything red inside that cabin...just plain weird!

Gotta chalk it up to I somehow blocked the lens or something when I snapped the photo. I just don't know how I or we would've missed it between the time I snapped it and the four days time between posting it.

I just showed a few people here the time-stamps. Check'em out of you got a second, it only adds to the mystery if you ask me.

Always a pleasure @lizelle, you're the sweetest. Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

@tipu curate

Thank you @magicmonk! My autocorrect thumbs had macigmonk just now and that makes about as much sense as those red things.

ORBS...???

If Orbs has four letters, shouldn't there have been four question marks? 🤔 Which letter are you less concerned with? It's the R isn't it?

I knew it!

I just saw you released a fresh piece of entertainment for us, sir--you're my next stop.

Three dots = three question marks...!!! We must keep things in balance lest we fail within the Yin Yang of the cosmos.

Yin Yang of the Cosmos

Spoken like a true bartender

Nice review! Oliver's Cabin design is inauspicious in terms of fengshui. Never get a house where you can see the back door directly from the front door. The back door should always be hidden from the front door to prevent lost of fortune. The red stuff is a phenomena known as "lens flare." Basically, your fingers accidentally blocked the camera lens while snapping photos. It's got nothing to do with supernatural. Happy weekend!

Nice, another @wittywheat sighting! You know I love it when you stop by, right?

Fengshui--ain't heard that word for awhile. Noted about the back door, I never heard that before now. Know that I'll always have an eye out for that now, 'nope! I can see the back door!'

Definitely could've been my finger blocking the lens, an absolute possibility and we'll just say it's likely. I just don't know how I would've missed between the time of snapping the photo, looking at it periodically after I snapped the photo, and going over them multiple times for a cover image. Not sure why or how I could've it.

Always a pleasure WittyWheat, enjoy the rest of your weekend--don't be a stranger.

!BEER
for @dandays

Cheers @eii! Thank you.

Now that is weird. I know that many people are suggesting that you had your finger or your entire hand over the lens. That may be the case, but I don't buy it. For @dandays not to see those two pics when he reviewed them shortly after taking them and then to look at them again in the car and not realize something went wrong isn't your style. You are the dude with the keen eyes, the dude that picks up on even the smallest imperfection of an article.

Orbs for sure!

What a beautiful place. It's great to see old structures like Oliver's Cabin be maintained. Old buildings like this one still have their place as they give us a glimpse into the past. A few of the pictures you took while inside of the buildings show just how skilled those old homesteaders were.

good article my friend!

I sure am glad you liked this one sir. And thanks for having my back on this one.. a finger, a palm.. sure, it's possible, it's happened before. The only catch is, I've never missed one until now and, seeing how this is the first time I missed it, how the hell did I miss two?! And how did I miss them for four days?

The weirdest shit

I can't explain it. Eh, thanks a lot for reblogging this one, you've always supported my content around here and it means a lot.

That construction is stellar isn't it? The main house in the back seems to be used for storage these days, I'm thinking equipment or park n rec vehicles. I saw a few reflective cones stored in there (they just didn't make for good pictures). I didn't intend on writing about the weird red frames as I snapped these pictures but when they showed up however many days later, I couldn't help.

I can't explain it man

I'll get to the real Cades Cove article soon enough, snapped a buncha nice shots, even got a few shots of the GIANT turkey's who chased me through the parking lot--them things are aggressive!

Enjoy the rest of your weekend Sweed!

You do know that Thanksgiving is right around the corner, don't you? Now, I know you don't eat meat, but a wild turkey, no pesticides, fungicides, herbicides, growth hormones, steroids, or whatever else they feed those farm-raised birds of chemicals, may have been a treat. You see that is the difference between a country boy and a city boy, the country boy would have been chasing them!

LoL! That's funny.

I'll put together an article shortly here, I ain't shittin man! I thought the one was posing for me so I snapped a few images. They're on that protected land too so they're fearless. It wasn't posing, Sweed!

I snapped a few shots within 10 feet of the thing and it let out a sound that didn't go: gobble gobble gobble. It was more like "Intruder Alert!" And I heard all the foot steps in the forest behind me. Dude three of'em came out swingin!

Can't make this shit up!

I ended up doing some wanna be Bruce Lee maneuver and backpedal'd quick! They frikkin chased me! I ended up having to turn around and run-run, once I made it to the parking lot, they stopped chasing me.

Put on a hell of a feature for at least 50 people in the parking lot though. All I heard was laughter and camera flashes.

Sneak peak:

img_4945.heic

To funny! Turkeys must be birds of prey, and I guess you were the prey.
You should have had your walking stick with you to beat back their advance>

Your camera got possessed by the ghosts of Olivers past!

That b&w one turned out rather nicely. There's a few more that the old b&w treatment would make pop quite nicely.

I'm glad you made it over here dude. I don't know wtf happened with those two images. Coulda been and probably was and mighta been something or other but I've taken pictures before and I know I look at them. Can't explain it.

Anytime the colonel suggests a few images are b&w worthy must mean I'm doing something write left red rong?? Ahh forget it.

You ain't fucking up, I will say that, which is more than can be said for that camera :D

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

We are giving away 2000 Hive for reaching 1000 travel digests
Anyone and everyone can join!
Join the raffle and check the 1000 contest post

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Nice to see you again @pinmapple!

Congratulations @dandays! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 9750 replies. Your next target is to reach 10000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thanks for keeping an eye on me @hivebuzz!

You're welcome @dandays


Hey @dandays, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Next round's on me!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1037.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Now that is weird. I know that many people are suggesting that you had your finger or your entire hand over the lens. That may be the case, but I don't buy it. For @dandays not to see those two pics when he reviewed them shortly after taking them and then to look at them again in the car and not realize something went wrong isn't your style. You are the dude with the keen eyes, the dude that picks up on even the smallest imperfection of an article.

Orbs for sure!

What a beautiful place. It's great to see old structures like Oliver's Cabin be maintained. Old buildings like this one still have their place as they give us a glimpse into the past. A few of the pictures you took while inside of the buildings show just how skilled those old homesteaders were.

good article my friend!

Looks like a toe someohow ended up on the lense.

Definitely looks like it could be a toe. What is it for sure? Clueless. But I know whatever it is, it didn't show itself for four days. Weird.