Santa Justa Lift in Lisbon Portugal

in Pinmapple2 years ago (edited)

The Santa Justa Lift was my favorite attraction in the city of Lisbon Portugal, so much so that it warranted its own post.

20220513_163118~2.jpg

Its a beautiful cast iron elevator designed in the neo-gothic architecture style and dates back to the begining of the 19th century. I just stumbled upon it while walking around and thought that it's architecture and design were really quite beautiful.

20220513_163040~2.jpg

I also liked its location and found it to be quite interactive in a way; definitely a cool spot to photograph.

20220513_163047~2.jpg

This is me trying to be artistic about it.

20220513_163204~2.jpg

It costs money to ride the elevator (around 5€ I believe) and there were long line ups to do so when I was there. It didn't appear to run continuously throughout the day and I believe there is a schedule with set departure times. Don't quote me on it but keep it in mind that you might have to plan your visit in advance if want to take a ride.

20220513_163215~2.jpg

I generally don't waste time on vacation waiting in lines for mundane things like riding elevators (even really cool ones like this) and I generally don't schedule events unless its something that I really "must do."

20220513_194500~2.jpg

That being said, I didn't go inside the lift and unfortunately I don't have any pictures of the interior. That doesn't mean that I didn't go onto the platform though.

20220513_194453~2.jpg

The tower stands 45 meters tall and takes passengers from the Baixa district on the lower level up to the ruins of the Carmo Monastery above.

20220513_194149~2.jpg

If you walk up to the ruins like I did then you can access the platform from there for free to get some amazing panoramic views of the city.

20220513_193712~2.jpg

The platform above the area where I was cost 1.50€ to access, but below that its completely free. I just walked in to the nearly empty viewpoint and was totally satified with what I saw.

20220513_194043~2.jpg

I actually didn’t have the option of going any higher at that point anyway. There was wrought-iron staircase inside the platform but it happened to be closed for the evening and roped off for the public. Maybe get there a little earlier if it's something that you want to do or maybe there was another access point that I wasn't aware of?

20220513_194537~2.jpg

So basically, I wasn't at the very top of the tower. In the photos you can see that there are two more floors above where I was standing.

20220513_193949~2.jpg

Still, the view was pretty awesome where I was nonetheless.

20220513_193940~2.jpg

I brought my wife back to this location in the evening but for some reason she didn't come onto the platform with me and chose to hang around the ruins and play on her phone 🙃. I can't understand women at times.

20220513_193855~2.jpg

20220513_193909~2.jpg

An interesting tidbit of information according to the lifts webpage, is that it can take 20 people up but only 15 people down. It doesn't say anything about why the discrepancy though. We will all just have to wonder and speculate on that I suppose.

20220513_193740~2.jpg

Anyway, I stayed up there alone for about 15 minutes taking pictures and taking in the views before heading back down to where my wife was waiting.

20220513_194114~2.jpg

The sun had just set by then so it was time to move on and start working our way back to our hotel.

20220513_194349~2.jpg

Well thats it for our time in Lisbon. If you are interested in seeing more of our trip to Portugal than stay tuned, theres more to come. Until then, thanks for stopping by.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @ifarmgirl ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Definitely cool spot for some pictures leaky. Nice architecture, color. Nice views from up there, looking down into the city. Cool perspectives.

!LUV

Yeah it was a cool find in the city. I do like a good view 👍

Wow! That's an amazing lift, and the architecture is amazing indeed! Makes me smile that they've made an attraction of it, and charge people to enter. I'm not the biggest fan of elevators, because I am claustrophobic, so I think I'd have missed the interior too.

I would have a panic attack if I was stuck in an elevator

I also never book or pre-pay for any attraction when I'm on holiday. I like to go with the flow:)

Yeah my understanding is that the elevator is considered public transit because it takes the person from one part of town to another. So you can get a 24hr transit pass and that includes the elevator. Lol
Sort of funny.

Wow, this is brilliant. I think this elevator, although a bit old now, looks very modern and up to date even in 21st century. Definitely offers a very interesting and unique experience. All these posts from people in my friends list make me want to visit these places, that are featured. Portugal seems quite a nice place to visit for a vacation.

Yeah the elevator was quite elegant looking. Kind of like an art piece in the city. Portugal is a great destination spot for sure. We really like the country.

Great elevator and even better free location you found to get those great views for the city!

Anything free on vacation is a plus in my opinion. Sometimes the simple things, like a nice view, are the most memorable.

What a great find! I love the architecture and the wrought iron is unique! I have never seen anything like it, but, I am sure I would have passed on it. I think you went about it the right way, your view was great!

I am still curious why it could take twenty up and fifteen down. Let me know if you find out. I am stumped. Portugal is such a beautiful place, getting ruined by it being such a wonderful place. Now everyone wants to live there.

I am sad that your time is coming to a close, you make such remarkable posts about travel. Of course, you will have all of Canada, a wonderful place all in itself. This was a classic Leaky post. Thanks for that! Great camera work!

Yeah I'm not sure about the 20 up and 15 down. Very odd.

Yeah I'm going back very soon. Luckily I have a ton of material to keep doing travel posts haha

You got some great pictures from the platform :) I can't imagine why your wife would rather be on the phone than enjoying the view 😲

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

After she read my post she stated that it was because it was so hot out and she didn't know that I had found something cool to see... lol

Thanks for the support 😁 what's VYB?

😂 next time, you have to spell it out!

https://ecency.com/proofofbrain/@vyb.vyb/new-tribe-and-token-verify-your-brain-oror-vybrainium-vyb

https://ecency.com/hive-150329/@scholaris/vybrainium-moderation-a-proposal

There aren't any recent updates, but we are still actively curating. By using the tags you can earn both vyb and pob :)

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LUV

That is some stunning lift @leaky20
Love the iron and the intricate details. Beautiful. Yes for sure deserved a post on it’s own.
Thanks for show us.

The line alone would make me not go on it hehehe 🤭
Happy Wednesday 👋🏻☀️

Yeah I don't wait in lines on vacation. Who has time to waste like that?

Exactly… it truly has to be something special, like a once in a lifetime kind of thing. If not… nope hehehe 🤭

Yeah I agree for sure 👍

Greetings friend, how nice this experience and the photos that you do not share, I was really surprised by the beauty of Portugal, plus that view from the elevator and to see the roofs and houses, it's crazy. Some day I hope to be able to take a tour of those places, greetings.

Hopefully you will get a chance to see it one day. It is a beautiful country.

Your creative "peek-a-boo" images are my favorites! Hard to believe you need to schedule an appointment and pay to ride the elevator...until one sees the views you captured from (almost) the top of Santa Justa Lift.

Wow! Breathtakingly beautiful! @leaky20

📸 ⏫🇵🇹🆙️ 💯 🆙️🇵🇹⏫ 📸

Yeah there was quite a view from where I was standing. I can only imagine what it's like at the top.

I have been to this place too it is beautiful

Yes I agree. It's a very cool structure. I'm glad that you were able to experience it.

💕💕💕💕💕

Nice 💥

What an incredible bit of architecture... design... tech... what would you call it even? (the lift)

It's really beautiful.

Looks like your trip became more inspiring after all :)

Like life, I suppose... you never know what is around the next corner!

Looking forward to more of Portugal.

Have fun 🖖 😊

I'd probably call it architecture and design. But yes it is quite beautiful in that regard.

Like life, I suppose... you never know what is around the next corner!

Yes very true indeed 👍

I'd probably call it architecture and design.

Let's go with that :)

Agreed.

let us know what you see around the next corner.

Catch you on the flip side 👋

The lift is beautiful and fascinating. The views you got even not on the top is amazing. Love the colors of the roofs. Stunning shots.

Thanks. Yeah the colors of the buildings and the rooftops were pretty cool. There were some great views from up there.

When visiting Lisbon, this place is a must see and definitely not to be missed.

Yes I agree 👍 💯

Thes cast iron elevator is so decorative, no wonder that tourists like to visit it and 5 Euro is not really much. Looking from the height the whole city and its houses are so tight with such narrow streets. But still looks like in old time.

Yeah 5 euro isn't bad to ride it. It has a great view for sure.

Beautiful shots!!!

Thank you 😊

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I like the color of those buildings as well as their architecture .. nice trip

Yeah me also. Both were very nice 👌 😁

Wow me encanta la arquitectura de los techos y la formas como se observa el color en los edificios, debe ser un lugar hermoso, que deberíamos anotar en una lista de: Lugares por visitar antes de morir...

Feliz dia 🌻

MALOMI TV 💙

Thanks! 😁
Yeah it's a spot worth checking out

Noted on my list 😁😁.

Greetings and happy day

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1665.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

!hbit

Success! You mined .9 HBIT & the user you replied to received .1 HBIT on your behalf. mine | wallet | market | tools | discord | subscribe | <>< daily

Starting Sept 10, you will need to reply to your OWN post or comment to mine HBIT. You MIGHT also find a bonus token! Details here.