A Russian Winter 1991

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience



First stop was a flight to Saint Petersburg.
First stop was a flight to Saint Petersburg.

While backpacking around western Europe I got talking to this other traveller about trying to get into Russia. At the time it was not that easy. We went to see a German travel agent and they had a short tour leaving in a couple of weeks. We booked and agreed to meet back in Berlin for this short small organised tour. I did a few side trips then came back to Berlin, My friend showed up but did not have enough money to go. I did not want to miss out on some thing that might be a unique trip. 

It was a bit weird me the only single backpacker with this small German speaking tour group. I had no idea what was going most of the time but it was  interesting. This Canadian guy married to a German girl used to translate some stuff for me. 

The Siege of Leningrad Monument.
 The Siege of Leningrad Monument.

A line up for a state operated shop.
A line up for a state operated shop.

At the time they had just released there money onto the free market. They wanted us to pay for everything on the tour in western currency. I also like to adventure out a bit after the touring was done for the day. I was able to find a local money exchange not linked to the hotel or tour and was a able to get a much better deal. I lined up at a few of the State run shops and bought a few tourist things.

I still have the map with a few of my travels marked on it.
I still have the map with a few of my travels marked on it.

Neva River looked totally frozen. I had never seen anything like it before.
Neva River looked totally frozen. I had never seen anything like it before.

Winter palace.
Winter palace.

Hermitage Museum.
Hermitage Museum.

Peter and Paul Fortress.
Peter and Paul Fortress.

Saint Isaac’s Cathedral.
  Saint Isaac's Cathedral.

Summer Palace.
Summer Palace.

After Saint Petersburg we flew to Moscow.
After Saint Petersburg we flew to Moscow. 

Saint Basil’s Cathedral.
Saint Basil's Cathedral.

Spasskaya Bashnya clock tower.
Spasskaya Bashnya clock tower.

Lenin’s Tomb in Red Square.
Lenin's Tomb in Red Square.

Lenin
Lenin

Ivan the Great Bell-Tower
Ivan the Great Bell-Tower

The Tsar Bell
The Tsar Bell


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Nice memories you have out there. ☺ I live now in Russia, but in the south of it. I was in Moscow about a year ago, and I would say that a lot of changes now. I have some old posts about that. The Fantastic Red Square ! and A cool day in Moscow ! and A walk around Moscow. In those posts you can see how it changed. ☺

Thanks for the links, Red Square at night all lit up looks great and those massive under ground subway escalators. I remember them well, trying to workout the station names with all the unusual lettering. I just had to count the stops in the end.
!LOL
!ALIVE

What did the full glass say to the empty glass?
You look drunk!

Credit: hollowknightgod
@clixmoney, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @new.things
Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!
(8/8)

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

1991! I failed to see the date when I opened up the post and went back to check as I thought these pics look pretty cool. Traveling before the internet or cellphones. This must have been a real adventure!

Love the pics, looks pretty cold!

!LUV !PIZZA

Definitely different back in the old days. Some thing harder and other ways easier all still good adventures.
!LOL
!LUV
!ALIVE

I’ve been told crocodiles can grow up to 15 feet
but I’ve never seen one with more than four.

Credit: reddit
@mimismartypants, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @new.things
Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!
(6/8)

Every Adventure is a good one! Looking forward to Some more travel diaries!

I !LUV how you just jumped in with a German tour group so you could go where you wanted to go. That's so you 😂 Frozen river is epic! I'd love to see something like that one day. Though your post may be the closest I ever get to seeing Russia. Though, who knows, maybe it will feel safer and better to travel there in a decade or so.

Congratulations @new.things! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-07 - Winners List
The 8th edition of the Hive Power Up Month starts today!
Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2022

Congratulations @new.things! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍 Your post was also chosen as top pick of the day and is now featured on the TravelFeed.io front page.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@smeralda (TravelFeed team)

PS: TravelFeed is in social media to reach more people, follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.