Nitro Strawberry Stout - Shake before use...

in BBQ & Drinks and Fun4 years ago (edited)

Normally Saturday is Stout day but due to some circumstances (a stomach bug I caught from babysitting Toddler Sam), I had to drink it today (Sunday).


IMG_2771.jpg


I picked up this Strawberry Nitro Stout last week when I went shopping at my local beer shop.

I'm always up for trying new Stouts and this one looked interesting.

Not only because of the colorful pink bottle but also because of the Nitrogen.


IMG_2770.jpg


It's a fairly light stout at only 8,5% which normally is a bit too weak for my taste so I was hoping the specialness of the Nitrogen would make up for it.


Screenshot 2019-12-22 at 17.27.33.png


For the people that don't read Dutch gibberish it says:

"Shake before use to release the Nitrogen and it will taste like a full Strawberry Milkshake".

Shaking a bottle of beer in my office next to all my expensive equipment seemed like a very bad idea.

So I went to the kitchen gave the bottle a good shake and opened it.....

And as expected....straight away the bottle started to spray foam all around like an overexcited teenager...

About 10% was lost within seconds.

I quickly redirected the bottle to the glass and saved the rest.

This was the last time I'll shake a bottle....what a terrible idea.


IMG_2773.jpg


The stout was as black as they come with a beautiful solid foam layer (must be from the Nitrogen).

On the nose, it has a roasted fruity flavor but it's not very strong.

I took a sip.


IMG_2774.jpg


It has a small hint of strawberry but the beer itself is very watery.

I like stouts to be full and thick, maybe oily even and they should make you feel like you are being punched in the mouth by awesomeness.

Not this time.

Besides being watery it also has no body and therefore the taste disappears very fast.

What a shame. It's from the same maker as the Coffee Connaisseur, moi? 13% Coffee Stout I had last week and that one was out of this world excellent.

They also have the same price.

This Nitro Strawberry Stout is a limited edition from 2018 and a fun idea but that is what it should stay at.

Hopefully, I have more luck next week!



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:


Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect


We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

Lol, I just can't imagine shaking one before opening it!

oily even and they should make you feel like you are being punched in the mouth by awesomeness.

And that's just how I prefer them too!

the shaking is a trick! lol, don't fall for it.

Yeah, heavy oily Stouts are great, especially in the wintertime!

But now you know. When buying a beer, if the bottle states "shake before opening", simply leave it on the shelf.

:-)

Looks nice, but looks like it lacks the abv that good stouts usually have

I learned a new word today. Did not know about that kind of product. We had once a black beer in our beer market, but the bottle was transparent. You knew what you were getting.
Cheers

That sounds absolutely banging!

That’s what I’ll try to brew lol )

Posted using Partiko iOS

Lol
Hey @exyle thanks for the upvote and Merry Christmas to you and family (with Stout hope 😁😂)

Thanks! Same to you!

There is nothing worse than a watery stout.

This beer just sounds like a poorly executed gimmick. What a shame.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Keep up the good work buddy hope you and the family have a wonderful Christmas and a wonderful new year here's a early Christmas present it's not much lol 😂👍🏾 $trdo

Congratulations @kgakakillerg, you successfuly trended the post shared by @exyle!
@exyle will receive 0.41328225 TRDO & @kgakakillerg will get 0.27552150 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

@exyle, Hope that your Mouth is punched by Awesomeness then. Your expression is reflecting the excitement brother. Enjoy your Stout Time and stay blessed.

Hi, @exyle!

You just got a 13.68% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @exyle, your post successfully recieved 0.41328225 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@kgakakillerg earned : 0.2755215 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

If you ever get a chance you should check out the brews from Rochester Mills Brewery. They have a full line of milkshake stouts. One of my in-laws got a whole case of the different flavors for Christmas. It was like sampler pack.

http://www.beercos.com/?age-verified=eeb20738ef

I've seen you all over the platform! Shame on me for not coming to your page sooner. I thought stomach bugs were only for us travelers! haha. Hope you are feeling better, and smart move going to the kitchen with that beer.

Following, up-voted, and voting for your witness!

Happy Holidays!

-Dan



Where did satan first go when he was cast out from heaven? Comment what you understand of our Video.
Check our Discord 😍🤗❤

I think Satan went to the Dutchbargain Brewery and told them a Nitro Strawberry Stout was a great idea.

But all joking aside.

I respect that you can use your RC's as you see fit and spam this message under a lot of people's posts.

But you have become my personal downvote project because of it. I respectfully would like to ask you to stop. It takes a long time to earn a +70 reputation on Steem and it's a shame to see you lose it because of this.

Thank you my friend. I admire your work on this community. I will think of it, thanks for advice 😊