I ate some cheesecake

in Self Improvement11 months ago

Well, there you have it, it's been about 6 days into my "diet" and today I failed.

I haven't written about how it's been going since my last post about my decision to start living healthier because quite frankly not much has happened. The plan was to start slow but I do admit it's been going a little too slow, here's a rundown on the good and the bad.

The good:

I've mostly just been drinking water and a little natural orange, apple and mango juice. Although I'm sure there's quite a bit of sugar there I've stuck to water about 85% of the time and I'm quite happy about that. Most people would think that's pretty normal and nothing worth mentioning but these people may not know my habits in the past and for a very long time, an unhealthy long amount of time. For years I've been avoiding water and sticking to soda's to the point where I'm almost surprised I don't have diabetes yet. You may wonder how this happened, how could I have gotten so used to something as bad in these amounts as soda, well, I think it's cause I used to smoke in the past. With smoking you get dry mouth quite often, stuff gets stuck on your tongue, you wake up with really bad breath, etc, and carbonated drinks really helped get rid of that, or at least it felt that way. You may also wonder why I don't just get carbonated water instead but once you're used to soda it's kind of difficult to switch to water.

Another thing is that I've been watching what I eat, not to the point where I go hungry, especially not since that would make falling asleep already harder than it usually is for me, but to the point where I'm not as disgusted with myself as usual after the meal is done and I've been full around 20 bites ago already. So that's some progress, I guess.

I've yet to place myself on a scale, we've had some repairs going on here at home so it's been a bit messy since we got back. Something we were hoping we'd avoid during our travels but for some reason they decided to wait for us before they started repairing everything (not really, just unlucky timing). I do however plan on checking my weight soon and at least posting something on these posts that are original pictures since I'm someone who doesn't want to dox himself.

The bad:

I really wanted to start walking but haven't found myself doing it yet, I could probably come up with a million excuses right now as to why I haven't and I know there's no point in that, I just need to do it and once I'm doing it it won't be as bad as I keep thinking before I start doing it. Why would it even be that bad? It's just walking. Ugh.

I've prepared myself with material to walk more, I have some walking shoes I can use for this specifically, I've got audiobooks of a book series I bought way back in Portugal that I was planning on reading but is somehow still there; The three-body problem (which may be fitting in this scenario as I'm almost becoming 3 bodies in one). So what am I waiting for? You tell me.

I've also got an app that'll track my distances that I can start sharing in future posts.

I will however start doing it very soon and once I do I wanna make sure I can keep doing it daily. I initially wrote about this to not have any excuses to not do what I wanted to start doing, now here I am telling you all that I've barely done anything.. oh well.

It's the weekend coming up here and I wanna get one thing done before I give this a serious try, so bear with me. I've been spending quite a bit of time lately thinking, planning and writing out things for this new project I've been working on that I'm quite excited about and can't wait to share more info once things are set in stone. That's at least the excuse I'm using right now to start walking and exercising a bit later. Let's see what my post will say come Monday.

Hope you're all doing well and thanks for all the encouragement and great advice in my previous post. I'm going to try not to let everyone down in my next post. 😅

PS! Feel free to blame @hiddenblade a bit for the cheesecake today. 😆

Sort:  

Hello there, thank you for sharing your personal journey! 😊

I believe there's nothing more challenging than stepping out of your comfort zone, and the biggest hurdle is often the initial inertia to begin something new. However, I'm confident that once you take that first step, you'll excel in whatever you choose to do! It's already a positive start to have your "essentials" prepared for your walks, as they will undoubtedly enhance your exercise routine and make it more enjoyable. By writing about your goals and sharing them with the community, you're creating a sense of accountability. This way, the community can join you on this journey and help keep each other motivated 😁

Keep pushing forward, my friend! 💪

haw... laying low here and sorry I missed this one. I really enjoyed reading more about you personally.

Eh... take it easy on yourself. Progress not perfection :)

Small steps are better than none, I've found. And when I take a step back I just figure out why and try to miss that one again. Slow and steady <3

@actifit really keeps me on my toes as I push to beat the 5k and 10k targets each day and I walk the 300m to 7/11 instead of jumping on the bike. Gamify fitness.

I noticed you said 'used to' smoke. That's the real biggie and kudos for that achievement.

So. Download Actifit. Eat cheesecake

Win-win :-)

Have a great weekend, guys

Yeah that was way harder than dieting imo, I did vape for quite some time after which is a lesser evil I guess and helped with quitting quite a bit. Then moved on to nicotine gum from there and that's where we at now. :D

At least you're honest.

Get a fitbit or something to track your heart rate and steps it can help and is better than the phone which isnt always in your pocket.

Most people would think that's pretty normal

I've been drinking water all my life, all my family lives on the stuff, sparkling preferred. I have a machine to bubble up my tap water and I drink a lot of it.
Pub's here are not really prepared for people like me and generally I get asked if I'd like something with some taste.. I don't, I am happy as it is.
If they do have some it's a tiny bottle at a horrendous price..

Most people do not find it normal at all, they would rather order diet coke and stuff like that not realising that that is an appetizer and makes you eat more.. 😉

Water rules! haha

Good luck with your plans!!!

Most people would think that's pretty normal and nothing worth mentioning but these people may not know my habits

Nah, I know a good chunk of people who don't drink nearly enough water. I also have family members who literally drink nothing but Pepsi, I've stayed with them for a week and watched, seriously, nothing except Pepsi 24/7. Shit made me wonder if they were all actually just the alien cockroach from Men in Black. Also, carbonated water that's flavored is goated though and you should give that a go over normal tap water, I'm just saying.

Also, as someone who dropped 228 pounds so far. You're definitely going to have mistakes as you go and it takes a little while to get into gear and stay there. Something that helped me a lot through the weight loss was fasting. I used to do 20 hour fasts everyday, now I'm just chilling at 18. I'd recommend you give it a go and see if it helps you. Start with a 14 hour fast and see how that works for you, if it's good/easy then go up to 16-18 hours over the following weeks and see how you do. An added benefit for me is my gut health feels way better fasting than when I didn't fast. Used to feel nauseous and acidic all the time, and that's went away now while I fast.

Every diet has one free meal or some of them, an entire free day of eating.

It's not that exceptions that will make you fail in the target but the repetition of small bad habits.
Seeing that you have already replaced soda with water is a great start.

And for the walking part, the audio books, the shoes and all the fancy stuffs to simply go walking...well, "done is better than perfect". When you go out to make shopping, start making a longer route than usual. When you go chilling, simply increase the length of the path. Or start today your day1, by simply going out and have a walk around the house or the neighborhood.

Small steps are better than nothing. But you have started doing something for your health, and that's the best part.

Excellent points!! Small steps indeed..
It took me years to retrain my brain and understand things better.
Well said!
As in many parts of life, consistency is key... 😃

Juice is fruit without fibre, which means it's basically just sugar. It's the fibre that helps you feel full for way longer, and how I'm managing on so few calories every day by having fruit here and there each day - Smoothies are a better option (or that lumpy juice you can get)

It is still 5 days of a successful diet. Now you just go on and on. Nothing bad about failing here or there. It happens and it will happen again. What's important is to try again, and not give up.

What you said about smoking is quite interesting. What's more - smoking would numb your sense of taste, and because of that - smokers would choose a stronger spaced food and very sweet carbonated drinks. Just to feel something. Make sense, right?

Changing any bad routines takes time. Try new things so long as you find something that works for you. For me, it was a combination of intermittent fasting and keto. And before that - I was constantly hungry and hated myself for it.

I cross my fingers for your strong will and patience. You will get there!

I love you but also, just walk. every time you wait for "the start date" you wait another day. walk whenever you can on a silly schedule, then focus on the consistency bit after~ if you wait for the first day of a "consistency streak" you're do a lot less walking and won't be any more consistent.
YOU CAN DO IT OK

I can imagine the situation of you. I am imagining it because I never faced it. Your past lifestyle isn't allowing you to maintain a proper diet. Do feel demotivated. Nothing is going to change overnight. You maintained a diet for 6 days and I appreciate you for it. The first time 6 days is not so bad. next time keep to maintain it minimum of at least 10 days and little by little increase the gap. It might work for you. It's hard to directly change for you. So you can follow this strategy if you like.

I really wanted to start walking but haven't found myself doing it yet,

In that case, I am not supporting you. It's just an excuse nothing more. You are just delaying and you know it better that it's not good for your health.

Wishing you a healthy life.

I admire your honesty and transparency in sharing your health journey. Being more mindful of your eating habits is also a positive step forward. While finding the motivation to start walking has been a challenge, I believe once you begin, it won't be as daunting as you imagine. Remember to be kind to yourself and understand that setbacks happen. Your excitement about a new project is understandable, and once you've accomplished what you need to, you can refocus on your health goals. We're here to support you on this journey, and I look forward to see your progress on it. Keep going!

I really hate how cliché it is, but ultimately it’s a lifestyle change rather than a diet. Don’t beat yourself up for having an off day, just get back on the horse and keep marching on. Nothing wrong with doing it slow and methodical either, but at least you are self-aware enough to realize that you want it to be faster and can put in the effort to do so. You got this!

The first step is always the hardest (especially if there's a cheesecake along the way 😁). Good luck to your health journey. We'll get there at our own pace. You may try @actifit to convert your steps into Tokens. All the best to your journey!

I love your sincerity 😁😁 I think I’m slowly getting addicted to soda but will try stopping it earlier

I knew it @hiddenblade has been traveling alot. I bet she has ice-cream hidden somewhere because of all the ice in her post recently.

Also GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR why is there no picture of the Cheesecake!

You could write a walkers book out from all these helpful comments ;-) at the end, out of my own experience because I really should do more walks for my health, I think if one doesnt like walking the daily routine will be difficult.
Maybe its the environment? I loved to walk in Bavaria where I lived a few steps from river and beautiful nature. But here its rather boring for me to walk around and always driving somewhere with the car is also no solution.
Hopefully you could change your routine within the last 11 days :-)

Once you start noticing how much you can do with food, you'll probably get motivated by moving as well. Power up. This kinda includes eating Cheesecake every once and a while. Don't just quit eating what you love, just adjust to the amount of shizz you wanna see your future self eating. I got pretty far with changing eating habits, now I just wanna get started with moving a bit more :P

Well, there you have it, it's been about 6 days into my "diet" and today I failed.

You didn't fail. You had a set back. It's best not to get hung up over stuff like this because it will happen.

If you are interested in a good fitness Youtuber I suggest Fat Meets fire. Dude lost a bunch of weight, disappeared from a bit, and it turns out he gained it all back. But he is currently working on losing it all again.

I used to think that dieting was so easy, but now I know that it can be very difficult. Especially in the early days. Once you get used to it, it's not a problem. I'm going to start dieting soon because, as I said before, I've gained weight and I can't go on like this. How many kilometers a day do you plan to walk? I've been thinking about that for a while.

It is so hard to change habits. I wish you all the best.
I made the experience that it only worked if I committed a change of bad habits to a friend. He would in turn also skip something unhealthy. So far we both haven´t had a relapse yet.

Bad habits deprive you of energy, when you realize that, and start receiving energy back, it become easier to change that.

Hard to tell - procrastinating person can choose one explanation or another, but under that surface the real reason is: you dont want doing that! Pure water and juice is a nice diet! 🧡 I am sure you can add one or two cheesecakes, from time to time.

it's a cheat day, trust what the actifit peeps say 😉
also listen to the all comments recommending fitbit and actifit, they go so well hand in hand 💪

Cheesecakes do increase calories, but they're also quite yum. I guess try being consistent with tracking ur calorie...

Respect! Go for it my man, no fear.

Water and lemon, tasty and healthy drink. I have a weight of 115 kg and I like to walk a lot. Best of all where there are no cars and a lot of trees.

Keep up the hustle to become the perfect you.

Actifit, Fitbit and a Golden retriever got me walking 10,000 steps a day.

It really helps.

52B62AA3-30CB-49C0-A7EA-BAD1A2F1A469.jpeg

Also I highly recommend a Recreational Kayak if you are anywhere near water.
I bought 2 kayaks with Hive many years ago. Best investment ever.

B1E908CD-61D7-420B-92B1-0EB0F21AD450.jpeg

Congratulations @acidyo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 358000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 360000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - Collect Badges and Prizes - Thousands of HIVE, Tokens or NFTs to be won!

Congratulations @acidyo! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - July 2023 Winners List
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 12
Be ready for the August edition of the Hive Power Up Month!

Hola ACIDYO disculpa por haberte puesto ese comando no sabía que tenía baja reputación
No lo volveré hacer me perdonas 😭
Tu tienes una cuenta muy poderosa con ese voto negativo me hiciste mucho daño

That command just brought your account to my attention, not sure why you go around trying to upvote 3 week old posts but looking at your comments that seems all you try to do. In general I'm not a fan of doing these spammy giveaway posts where you give away a tiny portion of what you make in post rewards and everyone upvoting those posts should really feel bad although I suspect you're controlling a majority of those upvotes yourself.

You're giving away an asset worth 0.3 Hive and making 3-4$ per copypasted piece of shit post that brings no value. These garbage activities should really get nipped in the bud before our platform looks worse than twitter and other fake web platforms where it's all about using regular users for your own gain.

Si te pones a ver todo los reinvierto yo utilizo la regla del 80/20 lo que gano lo invierto en risingstar y horita estoy invirtiendo en terracore y playcraftink y los del voto automático de risingstar esos es aparte solo por jugar risingstar
Ellos te regalan voto eso no es mi culpa. Tu lo dices así porque vive en un país subdesarrollados
Yo vivo en Venezuela dónde el salario mínimo ronda los 30 dólares lo que gano en la red hive me sirve de ayuda pará comprar comida no me estoy enriqueciendo tu a cambio eres una ballena

It doesn't matter what you do with it, you're earning it unfairly compared to others. If everyone did what you did this place would look disgusting, we may as well just reward AI bots creating the next world order with the returns in that case. If you're getting rewards and overly profitable returns for copy-pasted content that goes to you directly as profit it's frowned upon and most people with some stake will downvote you for that. Doesn't matter where you're from, you gotta put some effort to get post rewards, if @risingstargame isn't checking what they're upvoting it's on them as well as this activity shouldn't be encouraged.

Si ellos ven y revisan mi publicación yo solo regalo 20k de starbits pero hay personas que ganan excesivamente más de 50 HBD semanal no compra token no invierten en juegos de la red hive y son publicaciones que también son basuras eso no lo ves tu. Yo no soy el único que hago sorteo de esta forma (te doy gracias por haberme criticado eres el única que votas mi post
En contra) Dime qué puedo hacer para mejorar si quieres aumento los Sorteos a equivalente a un 1 hive Diario osea pero en starbits

These giveaway posts are quite pointless in general, if you insist on doing them then figure out a way to create them unique now and then, have the contestants do something that brings value other than just placing a comment.

Feel free to let me know who else does these similarly and I'll take a look at them.

Surely you must understand how this farm isn't sustainable and with a shared reward pool it's just taking value from others trying to create something with effort behind it.

Lo que voy hacer es aumentar las recompensas y no voy a a botarme yo mismo así no tendré tanto votos

Oh, I totally get it! Blame it on @hiddenblade and that irresistible cheesecake! 😄 It's like a sweet conspiracy between delicious desserts and procrastination. But hey, who can resist such a tempting treat? It's all about finding that perfect balance between indulgence and staying on track.

1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @dirego1! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus

@dirego1 has 1 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends and gain access to upvote rounds on your posts from @dhedge. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.