You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Think like a leader: Week eleven

in Self Improvement2 years ago

Your dad had some good advise for you and wisdom to share, as did mine. My dad is gone also, however I still carry the wisdom he imparted to me and it helps in my life.

Just on the influencing of other people thing...I know a few people who have the need to save those they deem require it and therefore spend time with rather undesirable people. These particular ones make a positive difference, although there are many who find themselves in those positions, often toxic relationships, and also say, but I can help them. The problem is though, that if it's not done right the outward influence one hopes to have ends up caving inwards and the bad influences the good, dragging the person into a descending spiral. It's a complex matter though, and I'm probably not explaining it well. Maybe you understand what I mean?

Sort:  

I can understand that, sir. That's right, sometimes one can be dragged in that direction. Self-management really affects that part, right?

I am sure that your decades of experience in managing other people have made you discover many things and have positioned you as a person who is able to provide solutions. You must have boundaries to protect yourself from being dragged into a downward spiral.

I, like many people here, feel many benefits from your post. I really enjoy your posting sessions on leadership.

You must have boundaries to protect yourself from being dragged into a downward spiral.

I do - I avoid negative people like they have the plague, although, I help a few here and there [those who want change and are ready to do what's required to gain it] and am always careful to keep some distance so their woes don't imprint upon me.