You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Think like a leader: Week eleven

It's a cool quote and very relevant to what we experience in all our interactions.

When I was 10 years old and had many friends, my late father always "investigated" each one of my friends. At that time, I felt a little irritated by all the questions from this person I respected so much.

He often repeats the phrase "be careful choosing friends" to me. So once I tried to argue with him that "if you think they can influence me, why don't you think that I can influence them too?"

This made him satisfied and gave me more confidence in my association. Maybe he concluded that I had good protection for myself.

He also once told me that "If you hang out with perfume sellers, then you will smell good too. But, if you are close to someone who is burning a fire, you will also have the potential to get burned. At least you will smell smoke. "

Your post has reminded me of what my father once told me, Mr. @galenkp.
Oh my God, I miss him again now.

Sort:  

Your dad had some good advise for you and wisdom to share, as did mine. My dad is gone also, however I still carry the wisdom he imparted to me and it helps in my life.

Just on the influencing of other people thing...I know a few people who have the need to save those they deem require it and therefore spend time with rather undesirable people. These particular ones make a positive difference, although there are many who find themselves in those positions, often toxic relationships, and also say, but I can help them. The problem is though, that if it's not done right the outward influence one hopes to have ends up caving inwards and the bad influences the good, dragging the person into a descending spiral. It's a complex matter though, and I'm probably not explaining it well. Maybe you understand what I mean?

I can understand that, sir. That's right, sometimes one can be dragged in that direction. Self-management really affects that part, right?

I am sure that your decades of experience in managing other people have made you discover many things and have positioned you as a person who is able to provide solutions. You must have boundaries to protect yourself from being dragged into a downward spiral.

I, like many people here, feel many benefits from your post. I really enjoy your posting sessions on leadership.

You must have boundaries to protect yourself from being dragged into a downward spiral.

I do - I avoid negative people like they have the plague, although, I help a few here and there [those who want change and are ready to do what's required to gain it] and am always careful to keep some distance so their woes don't imprint upon me.