Think like a Viking: Part fifty one

in Self Improvement2 years ago (edited)

VK (2).png

Eagles should show their claws, though dying.

Thursday's are Viking quote days. I choose one, sometimes randomly and sometimes based upon relevance or meaning to my life, and share some thoughts on it; These thousand year old phrases still offer value in modern society. original im src



This week's Viking quote

🔘 🔘 🔘

Eagles should show their claws, though dying.

- The Saga of Olaf Haraldsson -

We all go through difficult times in life and they affect us differently; what one may feel is a minor inconvenience could be a catastrophic event for another. I'm not sure why that is, maybe intelligence, experience, age and location are factors? Others too I'm sure.

Today I read the thoughts of a man who is feeling depressed and seeks clarification of thought, answers and ultimately a way forward. Finding value in oneself can be difficult at times like this, self esteem or self-worth can seem elusive and this person found it so.

I thought about some of my friends, people who are still alive and those who have taken their lives due to depression and post traumatic stress disorder particularly. It's difficult to think about the latter as many were close to me, good friends, and I miss them, but I also feel a degree of anger towards them for what they have done. I've had to find forgiveness, for them and myself feeling that way; I'm told it's common.

I work with veterans a little here and there and find they often hide feelings, lock them away where no one can see, themselves included, and I understand completely. There's not a lot of room in military circles for what most there perceive as weakness, in others or themselves. It's quite sad really.

In my work with veterans and dealings with my personal circle of friends I've always worked hard to indicate, and demonstrate, that it's ok to be oneself, to show fear, fragility, that one struggles, or needs help. In fact, needing help and not asking for it is madness - A fact I have to remind myself as asking for help isn't my strong point.

I chose this Viking quote for many reasons, none of which I'll divulge here, it was relevant considering the post I read earlier though.

It's a reminder of the power of one's own mind; mindset and attitude.

It reminds me that bad things happen, have happened, and will again and tells me that its ok to be your true self be it strong, afraid, courageous, confident, fragile...That to acknowledge who one is at any given point is the best way to understand the situation and take the steps required to move in new and better directions. It reminds me about the power of ownership, strategic planning, small steps, and the effort to affect positive change. It tells me that quitting isn't an option, not when there's so much on the line. Life itself.

There's a lot more under the surface of this quote than is at first apparent I think. Yes, it could be just as relevant on the battlefield in a situation in which ownership and discipline, fighting spirit and courage are required, but today, for me, it's about the fight a person has within themselves when the guns go silent and the fight one faces is one of a completely different nature.

Finding the courage and strength to fight one's thoughts, feelings emotions and depressive tendency is difficult, but the rewards are great, just as failure can be lasting; it is all on the line in this particular fight.

I don't know if the person who wrote the words I read today will ever read this, though he may. I don't think it'll provide any answers for him though; besides, he seems to be well on track to actually doing what I say in this post anyway. He is fighting for himself. It comes down to seeking answers and to finding reasons to want to fight for oneself in the first place. I believe the chap has many reasons and I think he'll see them when he needs to.


That's it for this week, a thousand year-old Viking quote about being true to oneself, acknowledging and understanding thoughts, attitudes and feelings then finding the courage, the reason, to fight for them; for oneself.

Please feel free to disagree with my interpretation and add your own in the comments below.

Skol.

🔘 🔘 🔘


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Sort:  

There are days when I get so scared for what's happening next. You know, I get pumped up by little achievements that I pray silently that I'll overcome when that time comes for the trials.
As life goes on and we see more and more, I have come to understand that fear is natural and unlike others, where they let fear paralyze them to the point they just remain stagnant, I let it propel my actions. I take those chances because as you said, what do we live for if we have nothing to fight for? Right now, I'm in a whole new territory with successful people and trying to learn the ways of their becoming. Compared to where I'm coming from, this is a new milestone for me and it comes with its own baggage of challenges and tests. As they say, the greater the power, the more the responsibility or a new level, a new devil

I do know that if I want to make it here, my skin needs to be thick, claws sharp and ready to latch on to new opportunities, eyes alert and wings ready for the dive. There's no give up option. There's nothing left for me except death should I stop fighting now.

I have to say, this is a very good quote and the way you present it talks a lot more to me. Thank you

We all feel fear; in fact, I never used to trust those who didn't, or said they didn't. Fear triggers a response, it's a motivator, but yes, fear can render someone ineffectual in thought and action; paralyze them as you say. But...If we are able to let the fear bring courage, that's when we stand, do difficult things, put ourselves at risk and in a position to achieve. It works on the battlefield, in business, relationships, on the sporting field and so on.

What I get from your comment is that you have courage and will apply it. That you want to fight, to achieve, to gain the results you want. That's something to hold on to, and to build upon.

Thanks for reading my post, this excellent comment and for being an awesome fighter.

"When you feel like you've gone beyond the glass being half empty and it is at zero - try looking at it differently. You still have the glass, your next mission is to choose how to fill it".

Your quote on eagles resonates with me. It is often when we feel we are at our weakest point, the verge of breaking that we have the greatest ability to unleash the most powerful version of ourselves. Why? I think it is because when you get to that point your ego falls away. This is when you can really dig deep and find the courage to push aside pride and facade and truly face yourself. Ask the right questions, become more self aware and then put in place or plan your next step to overcoming or pushing beyond your current obstacle.

Depression, PTSD & CPTSD are very real when you're in the thick of it as you have said in your post and yes, we all deal with these differently, but we all have that innate ability to get through it, the human species wouldn't have come this far without it. Ultimately it comes down to the choice of how each person will choose to show their claws or not.

I hope that the person you refer to will find his courage and use it to claw his way out.

I like that quote, and the use of the word mission. It indicates that evaluation, planning and strategic action is required...because it is.

Facing ourselves is often the greatest battle and you have, in mt humble opinion, spoken correctly, *the dropping of one's ego and the façade we show outwardly can be a big step towards the ownership, responsibility and honesty we must display to ourselves to find the courage you speak of.

Ultimately it comes down to the choice

So...You're in my head? This is exactly what I was thinking as I wrote this post. The choice to act or not, indeed, the choice to find the reasons for the right attitude or not.

You like my quote do you? Thank you, I will wear that as a badge of honour!

Facing ourselves is often the greatest battle

This is exactly it. Honesty at your most vulnerable point. It can be the turning point to better things.

It's a good quote, yes.

My goodness, this is amazing piece man. As I know, the worst enemy a man can have is himself and the best friend is also himself... I down time alot of happening within the heart whisper to our mind and it takes sense of discipline and control to manage that enemy of yours at that moment.

Listening to ones self is difficult in times of distress and I always live on this quote, it is your mental picture that determine your actual picture, therefore feed your heart within good thought so that in a moment you are down you can fall back at the good thought within you.

How to get good thought rest in your mind is the work that needs to be done daily by surround your self with good friend and encourage you, listen to good piece and reading of article like the one I just read here.

Exercise your mind with good reasoning, this go a long way to affect you positively in terms of needs

Thanks man for your article it really means my needs today.

it is your mental picture that determine your actual picture

I agree - Attitude is everything.

Thanks man for your article it really means my needs today.

It seems maybe you have a few things in front of you today and I'm glad this post has helped in some small way, even if that is to order your thoughts a little better and that helps you find the right mindset and attitude to carry you forward with more confidence and vigour.

Thank you for your comment.

Will I say pride is one thing a lot of people have? Some feel they are too big to ask or seek help when they know they deeply need it. And in the end, they feel no one is there for them, so they have felt depressed and decide to take their life. Imagine if they can just keep pride aside and ask for that simple help they may need. Maybe someone responds swiftly to help and their life goes on.

We are all created to bear one another's burden. No one can live this life alone. You're my brother whether we know each other or not. We have a part to fulfil for each other. Let's keep showing love and care to those who need it. We can all make this world a better place. Thanks my dear friend for sharing. This is so inspiring.

Some habits are difficult to break so it's not always easy to simply ask for help as it may feel like they are compromising their own personal values. I don't disagree with you but, as a man who isn't very good at asking for help, I can sat=y how difficult and awkward it can feel to do so.

Thanks for taking the time to read this post and comment with such relevance.

Thanks so kindly for your feedback. I sincerely appreciate 🙏

That quote is powerful sir...indeed it's about staying true to oneself even in the midst of contrasting situations. Courage is not the absence of fear but the presence of fear, yet the will goes on. We can live with losing the good fight but we can't live with not fighting it. Situations would always be out of control but we need wisdom to accept the things we cannot change and this is where we need better attitudes to tackle a lot of things life would throw at us.

wisdom to accept the things we cannot change

So many people spend (waste) time focusing/worrying about things they cannot change whilst allowing the things they can change to be ignored.

I think people do it because if they don't change the thing they can't change they have an excuse; it's unchangeable and outside of their control.

However, if they don't change the things they couod change with ownership responsibility and discipline, they see it as failure, themselves as a failure, and feel worse for it.

So, it's easier not to focus on personal change, growth, development, removing bad habits and creating good ones.

Just my thoughts based on years of being a leader in various job functions and situations.

So, it's easier not to focus on personal change, growth, development, removing bad habits and creating good ones.

You are a man of wisdom sir. This struck me the most.

Thank you.

I'm not saying that's a good way to go though right? Only that many people choose not to do these things in preference to keeping busy with things that they can't change and don't matter.

(Wanted to clarify).

Of course, sir. Your opening statement clarified that. I know you are not also making excuses for them...I am just struck with how you were able to analyse human behaviour to understand that part and that's why it struck me.

Ah ok, just making sure. I'm sorry, it's in my nature to check and re-check. Old habits die hard and the good ones die never.

😂😂🤣🤣 I totally understand sir. You are being careful not to be mistaken. I admire that a lot.

Hey there! Interesting post! 🙏
Mindset of everything especially when navigating through Life, being and to have proper mindset management is key to most things we do, we can only control whatever is within our own power after all and while I do think there are indications of mind influencing external things, it also guess the other way around so bring mindful of such processes can be really invaluable. 😌 ☯️⚛️

Thanks for your comment. I agree, clearly, as I wrote similar things in this post.

Yeah, I love posts like that👍,
I am new here by the way 😄✨
I would love to be in this community too, keep it up!

I love Viking Quotes, used to listen to narrations of them ^^ ✨
Also into Tao and Eastern Quotes ☯️😊

Have you Read into the Tao te Ching?
Very popular Book and perhaps one of the most translated book historically (Source.) .
I studied it a lot. 😄

I'm not so much into Eastern quotes although that doesn't mean I don't know any, or haven't read them. They have their place. I'm 137 years old so have had a lot of time to experience a lot of things and over my life tend to have welcomed the opportunity to learn from diverse sources, mostly through living life itself.

I can see you're knew, used to be on Steemit right? All the best here.