Dealing with Overthinking

in Self Improvement2 years ago

Damn, why can't I get [something] like the others?
Is it because I chose to do [something else] in the past?
Maybe if I did [another thing], the situation would be different.
I'm so f****d up now. Such a loser!

--

Sometimes, there are times when I can't help but overthink or have some negative thoughts. Usually it happens when I'm facing certain conditions that are exhausting and uncomfortable for me. I did think about solutions, but I bumped into many obstacles instead. It made my thoughts drift all over the place.

It's difficult to control my thoughts at that time. And the next thing is, I was already in a loop of toxic thoughts: comparing, regretting this and that, what if this, what if that, and so on, and repeat.

IMG_20190512_072827-01.jpeg

I know overthinking makes me even more tired and prone to depression. I've tried to stop it, but it keeps striking back. It's unhealthy, unproductive, and makes things worse. Having an overthinking mind is exhausting. Honestly, I'm tired of going around in circles in my own bitter mind.

At that time, I knew I should stop it immediately. Then I remember to do these steps:

Catch my breath

Take a deep breath, and exhale slowly. Focus on the air that enters my lungs, then release the heavy feeling as I exhale. Enjoy every breath I take. Repeat it until I feel more in control of myself. As time went on, my breathing became more regular. It's relieving.

Istighfar

It's a Muslim recitation for seeking forgiveness and mercy from Allah, as well as for getting strength from Him by saying "astaġfiru -llāh" in repeat. Usually, this word is also said when someone is controlling their emotions. It works for me too. After a while, my mind will gradually calm down.

IMG_20180120_192604_555.jpg

Be grateful

Next, I have to believe in myself that my current situation is the best state for me. If in the past I had made a different choice, I wouldn't know about the result either: it could be better or could be worse. It's the same possibility.

What I need to do now is count all the things that I've received and be grateful. Everything that we get is a gift, no matter how small. And when we feel fulfilled and happy with it, it becomes a blessing. I realized then, maybe because I wasn't grateful enough, it made me unhappy.

"In daily life, we ​​must see that it is not happiness that makes us grateful, but gratitude that makes us happy."
Brother David Steindl-Rast

Make peace with myself

Until this stage, the fog in my mind began to dissolve little by little. I started to think clearly. I apologized to myself for having poisoned my own mind. I have to be at peace with myself, appreciate whatever I've done, and be positive.

So think about something good. It will happen. Sooner or later.

sideofme_20190623.jpg

Take a break

If I'm tired, that means I need to take a break. I need to stay away from those distracting and tiring thoughts for a while, by sleeping or chilling out, watching a movie or playing with my cat.

So it’s true what they said about cats can support our mental health. Wow.

Doing the necessary tasks one by one

After I calm down completely, I will return to doing what I should be doing one by one in my own time. There is no need to force myself; the important thing is to keep moving forward, be patient, and hope for the best.

--

Those are the stages I do when overthinking hits me. If you experience it, what do you do?

Sort:  

I love the path of making peace with yourself.

I sure do this a lot of times and it's therapeutic because it releases me off my thoughts and slowly I find rest.

Thanks for sharing

Glad you're doing it and it works for you too.

You're welcome. Thanks for the comment 🙂

Congratulations @sigota! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 7000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the May Power Up Month Winners
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-05 - Winners List
Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day

Actualmente no estoy muy conforme conmigo, vivo en casa de mi novia despues de regresar de Colombia adonde fui por "mejor calidad de vida"; siendo sincero, no se si fue buena o mala desicion venir a Venezuela sabiendo la situacion critica del País en la actualidad, vine por ella, para estar con ella a pesar de que mis padres no me apoyaban al 100%, siento que esta semana me he convencido de que realemente no fue buena idea, sin embargo, pienso eso cuando estoy en aprietos economicos, ya todos pueden saber que mi problema es economico, no les mentire, pero yo mismo me castigo por mis propias decisiones, me digo algo como "Eso no era lo que querias? pues ahi está, sufre las consecuencias de tus malas decisiones" quiero saber si a otra persona le ha pasado igual :(

Yes, if we dare to choose, we must dare to take the risk and all the consequences. Problems will always come and go, but our job is to find a way out. I myself am still looking for my way out 😓