Posts and Comments on Hive by Application

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Which applications are being used to enter posts and comments to the Hive blockchain?

The data range is from the 19th November 2020 to 19th January 2021.

Posts

Also known as top level comments or comments at depth 0.

image.png

Comparing to a similar post peakd / hive.blog back in May 2020 (referencing data from the birthdate of Hive), the big 2 have lost 11% of their share, with the likes of ecency, leofinance, and dbuzz arriving on the scene or growing in size.

New entries of note include dapplr, exhaust-beta, and stemgeeks.

image.png

The chart above show the daily post counts of the top 8. Peakd has distanced itself from hive.blog as the most popular interface, but both seems to follow the same trend.

image.png

Without the top 2 interfaces included, it is easier to spot the rise of leofinance and even more so, ecency - the latter topping 300 posts in a day recently.


Comments

Also known as replies.

image.png

Previously (links above), the top two controlled 62% of the share of comments been produced on Hive, and this fallen to 47% in recent months.

Again, leofinance and ecency have gathered the most ground but likely due to different reasons - token price / mobile application.

null makes an appearance (need json) and waivio still look to be producing a lot of automated comments (?).

dbuzz, engage, and dapplr are notable new entries.

image.png

Again, peakd and hive.blog tend to follow each other closely on numbers. Waivio has the odd busy day (looks automated) and null has produced a suspicious looking spike lately.

image.png

The chart above, without the big two, shows more clearly the likely automation from waivio, and interfaces/code without a json value set for 'app' (null).


The above charts are a bit disappointing to me - I was hoping to show where the human posts/comments were being made, and so I've stepped out to the monthly charts (since 20th March 2020 - Hive's birthdate) to see if that helps...

Posts

More of an arbitrary selection of applications here but the chart below does show the fall in posts from the big two - without any that I've chosen to display picking up the slack...

image.png

And without the big two, a clearer indication of less actifit posts, a rise in posts from leofinance, and a sharp initial rise in posts from ecency (perhaps people moving from esteem).

image.png

Comments

As with Post counts, the big two has dropped off, but it's more noticeable which apps have picked up the slack.

image.png

And even more so when the top two are removed.

image.png


ecency and leofinance have shown solid growth in application use with regards to commentary/engagement over the past couple of months, but I'm not sure the reasons for the growth of these apps is the same. Token price V mobile accessibility?

Not my favourite charty post, took far too long as well.

Cheers

Asher

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I wonder if the null spike was due to the work being done on Hive-Engine these last few days.

It is nice to see the decentralization of the applications, but it would be nice if the trends were not down so much toward overall postings. I guess I could be looking at the charts wrong, but the usage trend does seem down.

I wonder if the null spike was due to the work being done on Hive-Engine these last few days.

You could be right, I hope so :)

I agree it being good to see the posts/comments being shared out, and yes, if I'd just done the basic 'total posts/comments' by month you would likely see a downward trend. Although, without looking, I could be wrong.

My friends always ask me which app they should download to interact within hive. Although I’ve seen many people saying it’s irrelevant, that’s the main mindset... “is there an app for that ?”
And @ecency is doing a great work filling this necessity.
I don’t remember exactly, but I believe many more people started to use it by the time they started to offer account creation for free. I believe that’s why.
:) cheers

If they are mobile, ecency seems a solid option although I've not used it myself - I'm happy with hive.blog, peakd, and the other hive.blog copy interfaces on my mobile.

Free account creation is a good lure, although this is available on a growing number of apps, including leofinance I believe.

You should try ecency.com and ecency mobile app, one main reason, your engagement will increase without a doubt because we have push notification on both website (desktop) and mobile app, beside that you earn Points which you already familiar with. Our website has evolved and we continue to add unique things. There are some more benefits like fastest website, which saves you ton of traffic data if you have limited monthly data available... etc. etc. If you do give it a try, let us know what you liked and what didn't. 😉

I love Ecency app so much! I can't imagine wanting to use anything else! ♥️

Thanks for all the great info, I didn't know peakd was used that much.
I always like a good pie chart.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yep, the app of choice for most non-niche posts/comments.

Been too busy flying my drone for much pie of late, I should get back into it now I think i've been illegally flying though!

Hello dear friend @ abh12345 good night
Excellent information you give us
From Peakd I did not expect this fall, from hive.blog yes, because there were many problems during and after the fork
The growth of ecency and leofinance does not surprise me, they are two platforms that have been working a lot.
Thank you so much for this information
have a great night

I personally like hive.blog interface , it's simple and easy to use.

Yes, certainly good for its simplistic set-up :)

@peakd best dapp on hive

Definitely the most feature-rich :)

Some great data in here. I honestly would have guessed that LeoFinance was almost rivalling PeakD.com... I prefer the PeakD frontend myself... but LeoFinance really has a lot going for it...

Leo is the first to heavily customise the original interface - in fact, I think they have rebuilt it completely. PeakD is feature rich and the one I use most too.

Yeah, unfortunately most of the people I follow don't use Leo, so I can't really use it to reply and comment on people's posts... which is a shame. I wish I could see everything in it.

Its amazing how many front ends there are.

This is real decentralisation:

  • 20 front ends + @ausbitbank's IPFS server-less Hive interface;
  • 19 API nodes and growing;
  • Over 100 active witness nodes.

Even though I'd like to see all these number increase, Hive already has a level of redundancy, resilience than no centralised platform can match.

We are ready for the refugees from The Purge of free speech from Big Tech platforms and the destruction of centralised free-speech platforms by the Big Tech cartel.

Yes there are many more than 20, just that most are not used like the ones shown and are just a 'ripped-off' Hive.blog front end, which of course is taken from steemit.com.

Hive already has a level of redundancy, resilience than no centralised platform can match.

Totally agree, we'll be here waiting for others to realise I guess.

Hi, How are you doing this plots? What do you use to query the data? I have found it very hard to find technical documents about hive. The getting started guides are about the blog and with no reference for technical parts.

@hivesql (free) to collect the data. Excel for the charts.

Hive.blog keeps surprising me, I've never felt like that's a place to stay.

Slowly, bits a being added :)

@dapplr is underrated, I think many people just don't know about it

I must admit to not trying it yet. Favourite feature?

Back to posting :)
!WINE


Cheers, @siphon You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @abh12345.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting


WINE Current Market Price : 10.000 HIVE

Had a look, can't see one :P

You are right, hopefully tomorrow ;)

Peakd has very simple and straight to it UI. I love it, hut I use ecency more often now, still its great to see so many Frontend

You already know that @Ecency gets my vote! The Ecency Ecosystem is Multilingual which makes it easier for more people around the world to use and understand Hive. New languages are being added continuously I think in the future this will be a huge factor in attracting new users from all around the world.

Your charty posts are always cool Asher

Cooler than the drone vids? :O

!wine


Cheers, @goldcoin You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @abh12345.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting


WINE Current Market Price : 10.000 HIVE