Do you know who you follow? Or, do you even care? (This is the RESET, the clean-up began)

in LeoFinance2 years ago

many

  I had no inspiration to write a proper post for the past 2-3 days, my imagination can get blurry sometimes, and just writing a technical post might not be for everyone's taste. So I was jumping from tab to tab until my eyes got fixed on this:

1.jpg

  To me, who I never wrote much in the past before joining ListNerds, and also not having a big stake or voting power, having 135 followers means something. Also, I'm not using shitFBook so no friends or followers there, I don't post on Ytube so no followers there, I only started using Twitter because of Hive I could say, I hope you understand what I'm trying to explain. I have no followers on other platforms because I'm almost not using them and I don't create any content there.

  But then, my attention got caught by another number, people who I am following on Hive. Wow, 304 people? WHO are they, and why do I follow them? Do they ever interact with me, are they still using Hive? I had to take at least a quick look at who's who. It took me less than 5 minutes to open about 65 tabs on people/users who I want to check.

img2.jpg

  Don't bash me on the number of tabs, this machine can handle a lot more tabs, at one point I opened more than 150 flashy tabs and it was still working without any hiccups.


img3.jpg

  Back to where I was, checking who's who and WHY I was following. It could be that I've been on this platform since 2019, most times not really active until this year, and probably back then if I received a vote or comment from someone I would follow them without thinking too much. I'll check some more right now:

  • I was following people who did not post a thing in 3 months or even 2 years.

  • I was following people who only posted SHIT.

  • I was following people who maybe one year ago replied to one of my comments, but then never again.

  • I was following some account who never posted a thing, what in the hell was wrong or is with me? :)))


    cunt.jpg

  • I was following people who kept voting for some of my shit posts, but they never commented or posted anything in the past 12 to 24 or more months.

  • I was following people who only interacted with me if I was the initiator, but NEVER the other way around. ☛ THIS is important to me. It's nice of you if you sometimes reply to my comments, but if you NEVER do it on my own content, no matter if good or bad, I need no arselicking-pardon my English, if I'm doing something wrong better tell me about it. So if you are that kind of person, then maybe is better for both of us to split ways as nothing good will come out of it in long term.



  Even if you vote for some of my posts and I do the same with yours, if we don't interact at all at least through some comments from time to time, it CAN'T be healthy, for us both and the entire ecosystem.

  Another example, I was following this lady here because from time to time she is voting on my posts, but she did NOT post anything in TWO years. And I did try to engage and wrote a comment on her latest 2yo post, but never got a reply back. Just by looking at her profile, she would have been a perfect candidate for the #IamAlive community. I feel a touch sad now.


macollette.jpg

  This was just a quick clean up, it took me less than an hour(because I was writing this at the same time), but do believe me, another one is coming. My main goal here is to follow people who I can interact with or at least who can bring some value into my Hive life, otherwise what's the point?


last_follow.jpg

  So, WHO do you follow? Does it matter? Do you care or do you like that big number showing on your profile? People come and go, don't get stuck on something from the past that has no relevance in the present, life goes on.

PS: I was following xxx accounts that never posted anything. I was also following xxx accounts than did not post a thing in 4 years. That's what happens when you don't care that much, but starting from today, believe that I will!

EDIT before posting: After going through all those 65 tabs/users, I ended up opening another 48. If you go and have a look at who you are following, you'll be amazed at how UNTRUE that number is, but that only if you care! You could say that if you follow someone but they haven't posted anything in months or years, that would not affect your feed, but it will affect your general perception or worse, others' perception about you.

THIS IS ALSO IMPORTANT! If I unfollowed someone who did not deserve it, you better hit me with a shovel and do it now!(red or blue, your choosing)



Images from https://pixabay.com/

I'll end this here by tagging @bradleyarrow for always being helpful and why not @taskmaster4450 who I can see has a healthy number of people that he follows, maybe he can share more with us, I don't remember seeing a post of this kind from him.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Dear @drlobes, sorry to jump in a bit off topic but may I ask you to support the HiveSQL proposal?
It lost its funding recently and your help would be much appreciated to keep the HiveSQL service free for the Hive community.
You can do it on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you for your support!

@arcange Oh man, I thought I was supporting it already, anyway I've done it again and also dropped a message in my telegram group so some others will know about it and most probably support it.

No worries. Thank you for your awesome support @drlobes, really appreciate it!

No problem, but I do hope that this was the last time you called me "Dear"! 😆

No prob. Next time I will introduce my comment with a "Yo!" 😅

Many people introduced by me to hive left, only couple still trying to post something. Probably they didn’t see any long term benefit and just give up early.

I'm more interested in people that do understand what is all this Hive about and stay. Its a waste of time to convince someone who is already on Hive to stay on Hive, maybe one day they'll realize what they lost...

Good to see you here man, thanks for stopping by!

Probably they didn’t see any long term benefit and just give up early.

Or maybe they did not even thought about it. I saw thousands of people leaving this platform in the previous 5 years. Most of my followers are inactive nowadays. And I follow 350 people on the blockchain level. Most of them probably also inactive nowadays. I do not even bother to check it. Actually I am following only a few people, and that is completely fine.

Yeah, many followers are just dead accounts. Even if an account votes for you, it can still be a dead one, if it has automated voting or follows a curation trail.

I cleaned the people I was following once in the past, but that's a tedious job, and don't really want to repeat it any time soon.

I agree with you, interaction is very important. More important than the vote itself. Although I believe if one bothers to comment, an upvote should come as well if the voting mana is enough.

As a side note, this is another thing I love about ListNerds, most times on Hive I run out of meaningful VP to vote for someone who deserves it so instead of just commenting if I reach that post through LN, I can vote for them there. Win/Win situation!

Yep. On Listnerds the vote value doesn't decline with voting mana either. It doesn't matter if you have half your mana or full mana, your vote value is still the same.

Although I believe if one bothers to comment, an upvote should come as well if the voting mana is enough.

This is a rule I tend to follow although I don't vote for comments cos of my low power.

I meant from the commenter, on the post. Not from the author. That's his decision. If there are many comments on his/her posts, upvoting every/most comments can drain the voting mana.

Aa.. gotcha!

That's true. Lots of the votes are from auto-votes.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hi,I am a very new user.I follow you because you write good posts and comments too.
I always try my best to reply.
This post of yours was helpful for me,I learned something useful,which I will use.
Have a great week!🍀🌻

New user or not that's not really important, you were really nice from the beginning and I saw you trying to interact with other people which will only work in your favor in the future.

Thank you so much for stopping by!

Thank you!We are different people.
I accept every thing as normal.
We have different interests and different outlook on things in life!🍀

That's interesting.

I hit the follow button when I want a person's posts to show up on my feed.

I hit the unfollow button if I start seeing a lot of stuff from them that I would rather not.

On traditional social media I tend to "clean up" but here, it tends to clean up for you.

Thanks for sharing :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Now that was interesting analysis and good reading. If I look at my friend's feed on Ecency for example, I can see that I've started following some users because of one single post. Later I found out that we don't share similar interests at all.

Beautiful.

Absolutely 💯 on everything you said.

I may lazy not to clean up mine.

But after reading this I just may try and find the time.

!BBH

!ALIVE

!CTP

If you ever find yourself with some free time you should try it, even if you don't clean it all up just by checking who you follow you can discover some good people as well that maybe you forgot about. Yesterday when I unfollowed some guy he got the message and now he is all over my posts, the man simply had forgotten about me and now he is back! 😁

Thank you for stopping by and for your continuous support!

@drlobes! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @bradleyarrow. (7/30)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Because this is such an awesome post, here is a BBH Tip for you. . Keep up the fantastic work

Great post! Good to see you got your mojo back!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks for stopping by man!

This is a very interesting post, @drlobes. I watch my followers' number and to my amazement, continues to rise.
I have followed a handful of people but truthfully, with ListNerds I tend to read most of the posts there and do not get a whole lot of time to scan my feed page.
I am still a newbie on Hive but it makes sense with the way people come and go in programs, that Hive is no different and people will just disappear.
This post really got me thinking. Thanks for sharing.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yes, ListNerds changed a lot my way of finding good material to read and meet new people and if people are on LN usually this shows that they are active and most times nerds engage a lot in comments and conversation.

Thank you for stoping by!

I generally follow ones that I read that have interesting content. Listnerds introduces me to many I would never see. I tried following one but they reblogged 20 items a day that were not of interest to me, so I unfollowed them. I would like to see a show only their original post in me feed if that is possible.
!PIZZA

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Exactly the same thing happened to me, I don't know what some people are thinking and what good is to them if they just reblog 10-20 posts a day. Not sure about other front-ends but if you're using Peakd you can exclude reblogs from your feed:

Thank you for stopping by!

Thanks for the info I will use it.
!PIZZA

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@ijat(1/5) tipped @drlobes (x2)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @drlobes.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more