Splinterlands Beginner's Guide - My EOS Rewards & Rewards Changes!

in LeoFinance2 years ago

thumb.jpg

source

Are you new to Splinterlands and searching for some advice, then you found the correct series! In this Beginner’s Guide Series, we are discussing things that new players of Splinterlands should know or try to learn. In this specific episode I want to highlight my Season Rewards and how the Rewards System will change in the future. Furthermore, we will take a look what will change for new players due to this new implementations as well as how to react to this interesting change. If this article motivated you to start playing this amazing game, then feel free to join the fun over the following link:
https://splinterlands.com?ref=ga38jem

My Season Rewards

Let’s start with my own rewards for this season. I was quickly able to get into my highest division yet. For now I am capping in Silver 2 because of my Collection Power, but I am slowly making my way up there. Right now I am standing at around 46k CP. This means I need another 24k to reach Silver 1 at this point, but if my rewards continue to be as great as they were recently it is just a matter of time!

With this being said, let’s take a look at what rewards I was able to get this time around. Like the last few seasons I got 15 rewards chest again and I did not expect anything great, but boy was I surprised. The first card already was something special to me: Djinn Chwala is not only a great card to play but also an epic card which adds another 100 CP to my Collection Power. Continuing to open my rewards, the reward cards kept on coming! The whole first row were only cards which is really great for a beginning player. Not only that but it continued to be a great rewards run. The second row consisted of DEC and another epic card! This opening was already very special and worth every tear and sweat that I lost during the season. The best part of this season’s rewards were in the last row. I was able to achieve my first legendary pull out of a reward chest which I am super hyped about! This means that I am adding another 500 CP towards my goal of Silver 1.

Bild1.png

source

Rewards Changes & New Reward Cards

Seeing these rewards, makes me a little bit sad that they will change to the end of this next season which ends at the end of the month. This is because there will be a new reward system in place. But just because it will change does not mean that it is getting worse! In my opinion this change will be very interesting and it has the intention of rewarding the players that are playing this game which is very beneficial of the actual game itself.

But first things first, let’s discuss the upcoming changes one by one. For starters, the distribution of your battle rewards will now be dependent on the amount of cards that you own. This means that every starter card that is played will decrease the amount of DEC you are getting for each won battle. This is supposed to help against the increasing bots in the game which is a very interesting concept to fight this issue.

Furthermore, the daily quests will no longer require you to win five games under a certain condition but will rather fill up a certain meter when you fulfill the requirements that are being asked in this quest. This “focus” how it is called now will be available for 24 hours and after these 24 hours you will get the amount of chests that are related to your filled meter. According to the developers it will take around 30 battles per day to achieve your maximum which seems very doable to me.

Not only the daily rewards are changing, but the season rewards will be earned according to the amount of daily reward shares that you achieved in this season. This is also a very interesting concept and I am very interested to see whether I will be able to get rewards above my means if I put more time into the game. Additionally, there will be new chests that correspond to your current level which is another interesting change that has to be seen playing out first before judging.

What I am most excited about are the new reward cards. There will be 12 new reward cards that can be earned. Two of them already got leaked: The first one being the “Ever-Hungry Skull”. This common Death card looks very powerful if Magic attackers are banned as it brings a lot of armor and additionally ahs the flying ability at level 1. The second released card is the rare earth card “Vampiric Blossom”. In my opinion not a very strong card on the first glance, but it might have some interesting use cases like every card in Splinterlands does!

Bild2.png
source

Bild3.png
source

What is most important for new players is that by buying the Summoner’s Spellbook, players will get 3000 credits back which they can use to buy their first cards in order to be able to earn battle rewards. This is very important and very good step towards the adoption for new players. Not only that but it will be soon be possible to buy the remaining Chaos Legion Packs with DEC which is great as players can then grind their way up faster with some luck!

Meaning For New Players

So what do these changes mean for new and beginning players? In my opinion they have good and bad implications on them. Because card ownership is incentivized now it will push the card prices to the top. This is not the worst thing if you already own cards but if you are just starting out it will make the threshold somewhat harder. I remember when I first started out and the cards were on their peaks I really had to think a long time before buying my first cards. In the end it was worth it but it brings the risk of discouraging many players in the beginning. But I am already saying it now and I will say it later again, this game will reward your patience and determination so stick to it and it will come back!

The other very big change are the rewards themselves. I think it helps new players to understand the game more as they will be incentivized to play more battles. Not only that but it will also reward the players that are putting time and effort into this game which is the best thing a developer can do. With this being said, it will be interesting to see if the bot problem will be solved by doing this. I understand the thinking process but sometimes theory and actual practice are somewhat separate.

Conclusion & Opinion

All in all I would say that the changes are going into the right direction! I am very excited for the new reward cards as well as try out the new reward system. I am curious to see how my rewards will change and whether I will be happy with the change or whether I will heavily disappointed. After my recent rewards I feel like I can not demand for more but there is always room for improvement :P

What is definitely a plus is that the development team is constantly working on this game, even during hard crypto rimes like these. For me this is a clear sign that the team is believing in this project and is willing to stick around for longer than just one bull run. For me this would be a clear indicator to start playing this game and even invest potential money into it in order to grow inside this amazing game.

Previous Beginner’s Guides:

Guide & Tips

Battle Strategies

Things I Wish I Knew Before

Why You Need To Start Playing!

Splinter Overview & Rating

My Splinterlands Story

Published by ga38jem on
LeoFinance
On 18th May 2022

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.