Splinterlands - Beginner's Guide - Renting Vs Playing & Riftwatchers!

in LeoFinance2 years ago

thumb.jpg
source

Are you new to Splinterlands and searching for some advice, then you found the correct series! In this Beginner’s Guide Series, we are discussing things that new players of Splinterlands should know or try to learn. In this specific episode we will take a look at the continuous question that everybody is asking: to rent out or to play the game? We will discuss this question with some examples from my side and see what is more favorable for me. Furthermore, I want to talk about the latest Riftwatchers announcement and what it will mean to us as players going forward economy and playstyle wise. With that being said, if this article motivated you to start playing this amazing game, then feel free to join the fun over the following link:
https://splinterlands.com?ref=ga38jem

Current Situation

Let’s get started with the general situation at the moment. Since the Airdropped of SPS stopped, DEC was replaced and the reward system was changed, there is a lot of talk whether it is still worth it to play this game. I saw many articles suggesting that it is much harder to earn rewards and that it should be more beneficial to rent out your cards.

This is what I want to figure out today! First of all, let me tell you: I am certainly not a pro-player and do not have a great deck myself. In fact, I am able to play comfortably in Gold 3 while starting in the Silver leagues each season. With that being said, I am very passionate about the different strategies in this game, which is why I generally like to play this game. Secondly, we need to talk about the rental market situation. For a few months now, the cards are not renting for as much which for me is no surprise. I feel like since the Bear market started, the general interest in crypto has declined drastically again.

Renting Vs Playing – Comparison

Nevertheless, let’s take a look at what I was able to find out in the past few weeks. My current situation is that I am renting out cards that I am not using on an day-to-day basis and that do not affect me in losing my league. I have 56k CP which means I can drop down to 50k CP without falling out of Gold 3. This means that I am currently renting out around 6k worth of CP. This brings me around 13 DEC a day. If we do this with my whole deck and are not playing we would get around 0.085 USD worth of DEC per day.

Now let’s take a look what I am able to generate whilst playing the game regularly. Usually, I am able to dedicate around 30 minutes a day, spread throughout the day towards playing the daily quests. This helps me to generate between 10 Silver Chests or when I am playing in Gold around 3 to 5 Gold Chests. It all depends how good my opponents are and of course how sharp I am with choosing my team. In average I am able to generate around 0.3 USD worth of rewards. I must say that the biggest portion of these rewards is definitely SPS, meaning that if I am getting more SPS the value of my reward is increasing exponentially. My highest daily reward was 0.8 USD so far.

As you can see playing the game makes definitely more sense in terms of rewards. Not only that but there is also a seasons reward bi-weekly which can also generate around 3 USD. Not only that but every reward card that you are getting can be “reinvested” into the rental market. You can see it as compound interest. And yes while the second method requires a bit more time it is also defiantly the more lucrative one. On this note, there is nor right or wrong way. I like to chose the middle way and rent out my not used cards. This way I am getting the good stuff from both worlds and benefit from the increasing rental prices at the end of the season.

Riftwatchers Announcements!

To change topics, there was also a Riftwatchers Announcement earlier this day. In there was described how the upcoming Riftwatchers Packs will be distributed and what kind of cards we can expect. I must admit that I am very excited about the new cards, as they are supposed to help players in higher mana battle rulesets! This is incredibly nice as I was lacking good choices in these ones recently.

On top of that there will be new epic summoners introduced which might create new synergies with new and existing monsters. The new cards will be introduced by the end of September and I will make sure to make another article and analyze the new cards. The pre-sale will begin already next week and this will have some implications to the in-game economy!

Every pack will require a Voucher. This will ultimately mean that Vouchers will be very highly in demand. Furthermore, all packs are going to cost 5 USD and will be able to be purchased with SPS- This will also mean that some of the SPS will get removed from the market. This brings the question whether we should use our Vouchers to purchase packs or rather use the moment of time and sell the Vouchers at an extreme attractive price.

I think I will choose again a middle way, where I will use part of my Vouchers to actually purchase a few packs but also sell a good bunch of them in order to reinvest the money with more purpose into cards that I actually want. I do not want to miss out the fun of opening the packs but I also want to increase the power and skill in my deck which is why I need to evaluate the corrects cards to purchase. All in all I am very excited to see the new cards and get my hands onto some of them and obviously try them out with new strategies!

Previous Beginner’s Guides:

Ability Based Focuses

Overlooked Untamed & Dice Cards!

New Legendary Fire Summoner

Struggles & Upcoming Changes

Most Frequently Used Cards

Published by ga38jem on
LeoFinance
On 6th September 2022

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @ga38jem ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thanks for sharing! - @alokkumar121