Seven and Still Standing

in LeoFinance4 months ago

image.png

8,899,561

That number holds some significance for me. As does this date. Because on that number is forever stored the moment that I joined my first blockchain, which due to a set of unfortunate circumstances, led me onto this blockchain.

image.png

image.png

7 Years

They say that the seven year cycle has some kind of life changing significance. That it somehow ties into the changing of the cells in our body, or some celestial shift, or just the general superstition that 7 is somehow special. Whatever it is, the seven year itch seems to be supported by statistics.

Statistics support the idea of a seven year itch. According to the most current figures available from the National Center for Health Statistics, the median duration of marriage was 7.2 years for couples who divorced in 1989 and 1990.

Coincidental or not, seven years is a fair amount of time to learn something, live something, and make an impact on something. I am not sure how much of an impact I have made, but I have learned a lot, and lived a lot in the last seven years, both on and off the blockchain. However, pretty much everything of significance in the last seven years has in some way impacted on my content creation, as I want my offering to be real, and something that perhaps people can pick through and learn from to improve their own experience, even if it is by going in a different direction.

The older I get, the more I want to be a positive force in the world, even if it is localized, and even if it isn't always appreciated. And sure, I get it wrong too, with unintended consequences of my actions doing the opposite of what I set out to do, or not having the outcome I had hoped for. At least, I want to be able to look in the mirror and say,

I tried.

Perhaps after seven years, relationships fail because they feel that they know each other well enough, that there is nothing more to discover - no mystery, no magic. But then, since we are always changing, perhaps this is just an assumption and if we were actually paying attention, we would find that what we thought we knew, is something quite different, and what we knew, is no longer so. It is like those people who talk about crypto with authority, even though they are using information from 2017, that they didn't fully comprehend to begin with.

I have tried to categorize Hive over the years, and tried to illustrate it in many ways, from the economic ecosystem, to the complexities of the community, but it is always lacking. Nothing quite encapsulates it. It is like observing light, it depends on how you look at it as to whether it acts like a wave or particle.

What I often find is, some people can only look at it from one perspective, which I see as a mistake. It is like the economists and tech nerds who say crypto has no value, because they are approaching it from their singular perspective, rather than as a combination of them. And then, they are completely omitting the community aspect of it, the human aspect, the cultural components. If they did, they would see it as far more robust than they do, but they are stuck in their ways.

One thing I believe when approaching Hive, is that it requires constant reevaluation and adjustment. It isn't a set and forget investment, nor experience, as it is always changing, there are always new opportunities, new ways to do things, new games to play, new people to play with.

So much to learn.

It is interesting to me that at almost 45 years of age, this is the longest I have ever been so engaged with something constantly. And, in the last seven years I have been involved in many parts of the ecosystem, and through good and bad, highs and lows. And, it has been captured here on the blockchain, so that perhaps one day, someone will chance upon something I have written, and benefit from it all over again.

This a long term investment.

It isn't just about the potential for financial value, it is also the value I feel from feeling like I am part of something I believe makes the world better, and has the potential to be so much more than it currently is. I believe that a lot of the problems in the world are being created because so many people have very little focus, consistent attention, or value-adding meaning in their world. Perhaps if they spent some time writing through their experience like some people do here, they would discover that they have a lot more to offer than they currently are giving. And, it would make them feel better to do so, even if it isn't the easiest thing to do.

7 Years

It is a long time.
But not that long.

There is further to go.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Have you written about this before... what were the unfortunate circumstances that led you to this blockchain? You're not going to make me scroll back a million posts are you?

what were the unfortunate circumstances that led you to this blockchain?

Originally, it was the struggles after our daughter was born. There were complications that meant that us being "prepared" turned into us drowning financially, physically and emotionally. To this blockchain specifically, it was the Justin Sun incident. :)

Oooof! I didn't know that about your blogging origin story, I'm glad things have worked themselves out (or that you seem to be at least treading water financially, physically and emotionally, if not winning Olympic gold).

I was around for the Justin Sun incident though.. as far as I know that dude bounces from scandal to scandal.

Happy Anniversary to you! Not that many of us from "back then" who are still around. It seems like a long time, but it is also just the blink of an eye.

Hopefully we can continue to do our small part to make the world a better place, in some small — or not so small — way.

May it last long.

And the same to you mate. Only a handful still operating I suppose - many gave up the ghost, not wanting to change at all.

So much potential, so many hurdles in front.

That's quite the acci.plishement being on the chain for so long. It's crazy to me how quickly the time is going.

It has flown by in my opinion, even though so much has happened throughout that time also.

We have definitely seen a lot of changes. Reward pool, curation, forks. It's crazy we are still here plugging along!

Happy Hiversary!

I guess lots of good did come out of whatever unfortunate circumstances that led you to the chain, hopefully that makes up for it

A lot of good did come out of it all, and my daughter is awesome now :)

Its been a joy watching Smallsteps grow up and develop into an inquisitive child, thanks for sharing a valuable period of her life with us

Seven years. Congratulations. Yeah, I believe also in a seven year cycle as I have experienced that as well in my life. Seven is a complete number and things go in seasons. I joined Steemit in May of 2017 so I am not far behind. Hive is a long term investment and is diversified enough to hold much potential.

May is coming up fast. Any plans for a shift in cycle?

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Well, I am glad you're here, that's for sure.

it is also the value I feel from feeling like I am part of something I believe makes the world better

Same here. My involvement here has sent my life in a different direction entirely! I am so grateful for that. Anything I want to know, there is some friend here, whom I trust, who knows it. And I am regularly exposed to information I didn't know I needed to know. So cool.

My involvement here has sent my life in a different direction entirely!

I find it amazing how much it has affected my life outlook. I sometimes wonder what would be different now, had I not started writing at all, or interacting with such a wide variety of people :)

Almost 3 years being active, even if I joined steemit long time ago, being active for like 2 weeks.

In the early days, it was easy to overlook what was actually the potential here I think.

In May 2017, I registered in the Steemit fork. So my 7 years in graphene blockchain is also this year.

Were you in crypto at all before?

When I joined, I knew nothing at all about it.

Yes, I bought 10 ETH for $11 at the beginning of 2017 and began participating in the ICO. 2017 was a good year, it’s nice to remember.

Not a bad deal on Eth :)

Happy Anniversary my friend. I also joined HIVE (Steemit back then) in Jan, but 2018 :) I know some other users too, Jan seems a holy month for HIVE :)

January has a few. Not many still active from way back though.

Thanks for this post and this insight

Here's to the next 7! Who knows what they have in store for us? ❤️

Congratulations!
It is not the amount of time, but the engagement you put into it!
I like how you can go and check the blockchain transaction as it is there, immutable as far as the chain exists. I wonder if anyone will ever build a tool to show with graphics, how an account has evolved out of the transactions on the chain. I remember seeing some Twitter tools animating your account evolution over time.

Wow, 7 years is already a long time. Happy Anniversary, or is Happy [account] Birthday more appropriate. Cheers to this accomplishment, I hope you keep going strong, and I wish all of us good luck to this coming bull market.

This is huge, they use to say 7 is a perfect number, and I believe so because if you do anything for 7times it becomes an integral part of you.

coming this far I can't imagine the wealth of knowledge and experiences You've accumulated over these years on hive, I would describe it has enormous, wow congratulations,....

Where's @hivebuzz that dude need to hand you a trophy 😂

Congratulations on 7 years. Time really flies by and I have been here for over 3 years already

Happy Anniversary to you! Hopefully you will stay here for many more anniversaries.

This a long term investment.

I started in december 2017. Only now I am starting to get not only consistent rewards but also consistent engagement. I just hope that I will not burn out and will be able to keep posting 2-3 times a day...

Wow
So you’re one of those who joined early. This is fantastic. Happy anniversary to you and I wish you more good days on here

Ooh every number and every day has its own story in everyone's life

Congrats on 7 years. I always look forward to flipping up the lid on my laptop and looking for your posts in my feed. I do hope you continue the streak!

Perhaps if they spent some time writing through their experience like some people do here, they would discover that they have a lot more to offer than they currently are giving.

Something else for me to chew on. Thanks

Happy Anniversary and Big Congratulations.
Thank you for always being an inspiration here. Your contents are always worthwhile. Thank you a lot!