You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 24: Passions [Get paid for yours]

So as not to filter my response to much I decided to not read the comments first. As I have aged I find my passions changing somewhat, but they don't change just because of age, they have also changed a lot due to where I am at in life, pre-work, pre-maariage, post retirement.

All of those have had an effect on my passions except for one. I love to read, even though I do not read for pleasure very much of late I still love to read, and have ever since I learned how to read. I read for pleasure, not to learn something, not to learn about myself, not to improve myself, not to educate myself, I read for pleasure, for pure entertainment. I love the commercial free stories, by that I mean when I read a book I see the story in my mind, I see the bear climbing the cliff, I see the rock skipping through space, I see the gaping wound bleed, I hear the rush of the water, the burn of those first drops of acidic rain, the feel of the juices from the BBQ lambs leg dripping down my hands and the taste of that first bite. I get 100% immersed in my pleasure reading. A good book doesn't interrupt the flow of the story, I don't get waken up to flip back pages and see where something glitched out. My number one and only life long passion has and is and will always be reading.

I used to love fishing as a young person to middle aged person. I was one of those lucky and specially raised kids. It did not matter what time of the year it was when I hit twelve years old, (pretty much all of us kids), we were allowed to be on our own, even for overnight stays. We lived in a rural area, an area that people trusted people still. So I was allowed to ride my bike to the lake camp over night and fish. I grew to love the independence that gave me, to be out on my own. It wasn't so much about the fishing, or the camp fire or the camping, it was about the independence. But it was fun to catch and cook that first trout right away, to skin that evening cat fish for breakfast the next day. I kind of feel sorry for the state of the world today, that the trust has left, that independence has lost out.

Today a passion I have to replace that taste of fresh caught trout is still learning to make soups. I must say I have gotten a lot better at quick potato soups and tomato soups. I like that they are never the same tasting, and yet always are a pleasing taste to me. Gone are the sour vinegary taste I would some times get, experimenting with food that is a fun thing to do.

Life does change, one life long passion - reading; one past passion - fishing/camping Independence; one current passion - making soup. There are many passions we have in life, some of them change, some remain the same, and some are new. Passions are what make or break life, when the joy is gone, life just becomes a waiting game.

Sort:  

I felt that last paragraph all the way over here. Said like a pro. What you said had a tempo to it, like house music with a build up just building and building and then unloads that really deep bass. The kind you don't hear, you just feel it.

Thank you, sometimes you hit the right note, I am glad I did, I really appreciate your comment.
!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I don't know how I left reading off my list! I used to read every spare minute but don't as much anymore. Always had a book tucked under my desk at school so I could read while the teacher was talking. I don't read for fun as much anymore either but I still enjoy it.

Dammit, now you've got me craving catfish!

Nothing in the world like freshly skinned and BBg'ed catfish. I never like it baked or broiled or cooked any way other than over open flames.

You ain't kiddin! I will eat it just about any way but fried but it's hard to beat cooking over an open flame.

I get what you mean about reading...It's sort of like unadulterated entertainment as one can form the images in one's mind rather than being fed someone else's interpretation. I think that's one of the elements that made reading such an important part of my childhood...The Hobbit was my first real book at nine years old and I can still remember the way images would form in my mind and I'd carry them around my day, thinking about the Dragon under the mountain, Smaug, Bilbo's house, Gandalf's fireworks...I saw them my way with only the suggestion of them coming from the words on the page. This is a legit passion.

I love that passage about your fishing and camping as a kid...That's how it should be for kids right? Alas, these days it's probably not so possible thanks to bad actors, freaky pedo's and the like. It's a shame.

I'm glad you mentioned your soups as I know it's becoming a thing for you, something that you're passionate about. Who doesn't like a good soup right?

Passions are something that can be about large things, small, or just concepts...Passion to dream, passion to think...It's all passion and I'm really pleased to see the broad spread of passions coming through in this post. Thanks for adding yours.

!ENGAGE 25

There have been a lot of different passions so far. Some are hobbies on steroids, and some are just plain ordinary life that really kicks a person into gear. Passion is what keeps us going, that quest for life.

Yep, they are large, small and everything in between. I've got so many that are seemingly insignificant, but not...The smell of vanilla, cut grass, getting into a bed with fresh sheets, a crisply ironed business shirt and so on... All passions, all mean something to me, but all just small things. I find passion in many aspects and mundane parts of life...My life wouldn't be the same if I didn't. 😀

There have been a lot of different passions so far. Some are hobbies on steroids, and some are just plain ordinary life that really kicks a person into gear. Passion is what keeps us going, that quest for life.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

It's like that philosophy quote that says that the river is never the same river. That's how we change. I envy a part of your childhood. Independence is a fine thing to have and of course that people still trusted each other, so you could let kids go and do stuff because you know they wouldn't do any harm.

Fishing is awesome. Although, I have only gone fishing once. Luckily, I live near the sea, so maybe I could go someday. There's hope. I love fish. My grandparents used to live near the sea and they cultivated that love of the sea in all my generation.

I love your expression what passion is. I'm gonna keep in mind every time I want to peptalk myself. It's nice to know more about you.

A lot has been lost in the last 30 years or more. People like to think they have independence, and I am glad they think that. That it is still something people believe in and strive to regain every day. If you can not let your kid go fishing because of life and it's current situation are we really free and independent?

That's kind of sad. It makes think about that phrase of Tolkien in which he states that "history is a long defeat with some short glimpses of victory". It is the worst thing to see how things decay in so many levels.

We have a perception of freedom, which is not as good as the real thing.

My best ex and I used to talk about that very thing extensively. She grew up in the deep suburbs (a 10 acre farmette) and as a pre teen would eat breakfast, get on her bike with her Springer Spaniel beside her and come home for dinner. We both know when that innocence died in our area (the rape, murder and dismemberment of a girl selling girl scout cookies) but it was a change that neither one of us liked.

That was 1964.

It is a shame the effect one person, one incident, can have on society as a whole. Once bitten by fear it is a very hard thing for individuals and societies to over come.

The murder was never solved. Half of Washington State was in the air. Parents in good conscience let their children go like they had. It was ugly for a whole big area.

My ex was in a position to talk to police bigwigs. They were convinced that the guy was in prison in Boston, but they couldn't build a case.

Very nicely said. I have the reading passion, and particularly the reading for pleasure. Right now, I have four volumes current in my Kindle. 3 are somehow studious, the need to learn something or experience something. But there is ALWAYS a pleasure book in the mix, and just generally speaking, the one read the most. I am certain that the reading will outlast the motorcycles. It certainly started before and when I can't ride anymore I'll still read.

I still camp once in a while, and still love it. I quit fishing about 25 years ago for several reasons, but mostly I got tired of killing stuff. I fished catch and release at least 5 years prior to quitting. I still identify as a fisherman, I just don't do it anymore. Same with hunting.

I tend to wear my passion for cooking right behind my belt buckle :) I don't do it every day, but often. Yesterday it was nachos. They were quite good. First time I've cooked them in my air fryer/toaster oven...

Passions are what make or break life, when the joy is gone, life just becomes a waiting game.

Oh, yeah. I hope I can come sliding into death at the very last instant. That isn't just my impatience talking.

When I was growing up, people, (grown-ups), talked about a zest for life, it took me a little while when I reached adulthood to understand they were talking about fun and passion in life, I may not have accomplished much in life, but I certainly had a ton of fun so far and want to continue having fun.

And howdy. I didn't leave much of a mark on the world, but damn, I had a great ride and a lot of FUN!

I think that when asked at the pearly gates - "What did you do in your life?" - the answer of - "I had a hell of a lot of fun!" would be a great answer,

When you think about it, what is the opposite of FUN? Is there a word that means the direct opposite of Fun? i mean we have love/hate, this/that, yes/no, but what fills in fun/?, anything? anything at all? I may just be having a brain fart, but I honestly can not think of what the opposite is for fun.

Point well taken counselor!

Only one thing that I've never done. I ain't never ever had too much fun
George Thorogood.

There was a time when reading was my passion, so when you wrote about visualizing a book, I totally understand how it feels. Our passion changes from time to time, it can depend on the environment we find ourselves or the category of friends around us

Well, i don´t really like reading, i am really surprised at how much i read here at Hive, but i can count on my hands the books i have read in my live, at least the ones i remember what they are about.

Fishiiiing, i want to learn how to do it one day!! I don't know if i will end up sleeping waiting for something to catch, but it is an experience i have to live.

ok, last one is weird, but i like it. I guess i underestimated the value of preparing a good soup.