You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 24: Passions [Get paid for yours]

Fan passion can be a real thing, it can carry and make a persons life. I have known a lot of DeadHeads in my time, they were all very passionate about the Grateful Dead and Jerry Garcia, they live and breathed their life through the music and the concerts. Many of them became friends, lovers, and families were born.

I was fortunate enough to attend a few of the Bands Concerts, they were a lot of fun, I myself never became fan to the extent that others did, but it was kind of cool to see people that knew each other only through the concert circuit, to see families with kids of all ages enjoying life.

There is fan passions, but I have never been a passionate fan.

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited) 

I agree with you and, like you, haven't found someone interesting or engaging enough to say I'm passionate about them, other than my wife of course...Thirty three years and still passionate...I'm proud of that fact.

I am glad that there are so many passions out there, life would be pretty dang boring if we all had the same likes, dislikes and most of all life would be almost unbearable if we all had the same level of passion for the same thing. I am glad for the passionate fan boy, at least they bring things I may not see into the light of day. It is just unlikely I will be one, although I am close to being one I do like W.M. Gears sci-fi works and books.

One never knows, something might come along and draw you in.

The Dead Heads always amazed me. I went to a few concerts with a couple of them. I never caught that particular passion except like you, appreciating it in others. The birthday party in Eugene Oregon every year was something special.

A friend I met introduced me to their outdoor concerts, which were more like a giant family reunion than any thing else. They were fun things to go to, I think I made it to 3 in that year.

I think I went to Eugene 3 years in a row. That was such a fun show. Like you said it was a giant family reunion.

I really liked the Dead for one reason. They encouraged recorders and later video recorders at their concerts. I think you can find a couple of videos of every concert the Dead ever did.

They knew that the bootlegs actually promoted buying albums rather than destroying it.