You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 43: Your food love or hate - Win hive

Food Loves


Baked Chicken would have to rank up there as one of my favorite food. I don't eat it very often any more but it is still a favorite. The restaurant we used to go to did a great job on baked chicken, but they kind of lost their best cook and things are not as good as they were. The nice thing about baked chicken when done at home was the leftovers. Nothing is quite as good as a spicy chicken salad, (salsa for a topper/dressing), or a finely chopped chicken salad sandwich. Take some left over chicken finely chop, mix with sandwich spread, a little drop of mustard, add some fine chopped onions and just a couple drops of pickle juice, mix well spread on bread, whole wheat or rye bread was the best.

Last year and the year before, I had no pizza at all. I still like and enjoy a nice pizza, so this year I have had a couple of meat lovers pizza's from a local pizza joint they do a nice job with them.

It has been years since leftover chicken makings, but it just got to be to much and we could no longer get fresh chicken just frozen ones, and well it just was not the same as fresh chicken.

Food dis-likes


Not many dis-likes, number one would be beet soup (Borscht, in some language {Russian I think}), it has just never been a food I like. I still try it out every few years just to see if my taste buds have changed, but nope not yet.

A pretty short list, there are a lot of foods I have not tried like all the fried bugs and a lot of the stuff from the ocean, so I could not say if I like them or not.

Sort:  

I worked at a local pizza joint for a whole year and I still never got sick of pizza... I reckon I could probably eat it for most meals forever...

Not the best food for type two diabetes, but after two years I just felt like having a few, they still taste great. I figure as long as I don't wash it down with beer I should be good number wise.

!ENGAGE 15
!BEER

Yeah, that must be really tough. Numbers above all else! But I'm glad you got a slice or two...

I don't worry to much about it any more. If I start to feel like crap, I just change my diet again.

That's fair... it's totally the same as you get older... if I eat too much pizza I'll feel like crap too... I guess the portions are just different for you.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.


Hey @aussieninja, here is a little bit of BEER from @bashadow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Me too. If it wasn't so bad for my waistline, I would eat it every day!

Oh yeah man, roast chicken is legit! (Baked...Same thing). Across the road from my office is a place that does charcoal chickens, fish and chips and all. It's not a fancy place, just a take-away, but a couple times a month I'm there for a 1/4 chicken and salad for lunch.

The left overs thing is legit too...Chicken sandwiches the next day, mayo and pepper...Yep, I concur!

Beet soup...I don't think I've ever tried it to be honest, although I like beetroot so I suppose maybe I'd like it? Soup and crusty bread is a legit thing for me so maybe I'll see if I can find it and give it a try. I love beetroot dip on crackers so who knows?

There's so much out there I haven't tried, some I will never I guess, but my tastes have changed over time and will do so again I assume. Thanks for joining in.

!ENGAGE 25

Yeah there is a lot of food in the world, I used to love those cooking shows when I watched TV, just to see what people eat in different places around the world, I plan on spending some time tomorrow reading comments just to see what people eat in other parts of the world.

I'm hoping there's some interesting comments dropped...One of the cool thing is the way we can range around the world here on hive, all on one post!

All we need now, (and someone is working on it, I just can not remember who), is a right click translate function on the post and comments. Google does okay on some things, but it would be great to have a global translate all post and comments to English option or what ever is a persons native language.

This would be great to be honest. I have so little time in my day and having to translate stuff is a pain...It'd be good if if it was a lot easier.

If peakd or one of the other front ends had it as an option the new tab might be used by me more often. Right now I judge by the cover photo thumbnail, I know that is wrong to judge a book by it's cover thing, but with the time needed to open and then translate...well most just get passed by.

 3 years ago (edited) 

Yeah, I agree. I'll admit that I get a little impatient with comments left in response to my posts that have not been translated to English. I mean, if they can translate the post to answer it then translate the response right? Am I being too harsh?

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I think chicken goes well with everything and how you prepare it, especially in the oven.

The beet soup I tried it only once and I didn't like it at all!!!! I don't think I will venture to try it again someday.

I never give up on a food, even though I have yet to acquire a taste for beet soup, one day I might, so I end to stay open minded about some foods. Example I never liked spinach for the longest time ever, but I got used to it and enjoyed it on occasion.

Wait a few years then try it again, you never know. Well I am pretty sure I will never like beet soup, but I still try it every couple of years.

!BEER
!ENGAGE 15

Hahahahaha, good thing you're still holding out hope.

As a child I didn't like yellow cheese and a long list of vegetables, and now I eat them with pleasure, there are certainly things that over time you can get to like. In my case I don't think I will ever be able to accept beef liver in my mouth, but for everything else I am receptive 😊

Yeah, I'm not a big fan of liver. I think only pure bred English people can stomach liver.

I honestly don't know how they can eat it 🙈🤢


Hey @miriannalis, here is a little bit of BEER from @bashadow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

My wife is a big fan of baked chicken too. She always gets pissed at me and calls me a spoiled princess because I'm a spoiled princess and won't eat chicken. So she's always making me something different. And same with pig, too, she makes me something different. She doesn't eat beef though so we're cool on that one.

I had to go without meat for several years, mostly fruits and nuts and green salads, but that diet caused other issues, so I am finally able to do a more balanced diet, less meat than before, and less fruits than before. Still all in all chicken is a good food. rattlesnake even taste like chicken, or does chicken taste like rattlesnake?

I've never tried rattlesnake, is that weird?

I don't know if it is weird or not. But you have to do something with the snake after you kill it so skin it, (hat band), keep the rattle, (great for scaring people), toss the head away, (who needs it), and cook the rest. I guess it is mostly back woods campers that ever really get to eat rattlesnake. It is probably illegal to do that now.

Rattlesnakes are protected species here in Arizona. I mean REALLY!.

That happened because of commercial hunters. So, you are supposed to carefully move a rattler you find in your yard to a wild place. It's pretty tricky to do, mine almost always seem to end up dead. (Or in the neighbors yard :))

I knew there were venom harvesters of rattlesnakes, but there were people harvesting them? Heck they have pretty big broods when they mate, or so I've been told, so why not just farm them if they want the skins for belts and the meat for exotic restaurants. People are lazy I guess, or really afraid of them in tight quarters.

No doubt about it, chicken tastes like rattlesnake.

I think I was 14 years old when I had my first taste of rattlesnake, and it really was a great tasting food.

Definitely love me some baked or roasted chicken! That stuff is awesome and I just learned the pickle juice secret like 2 years ago for making chicken or tuna salad! It's a life changer for sure lol.

I'm with you on beets man, I don't dislike many things but beets are one of the only things I can do without!