Weekend experiences - From shine to despair

You never know what's waiting for you around the corner.

You relax in a beautiful moment, and then, surprise. And surprises are rarely pleasant. Just because something happens when you don't expect it, it's an inconvenience...


This weekend we had a company-organized stay at a Spa hotel Fruške terme, on Fruska Gora.

1000011780.jpg

1000011888.jpg

After arriving at the hotel and entering the rooms, we went down to the restaurant next to the reception where we relaxed and socialized with colleagues, before dinner with organized music.

1000012516.jpg

In the restaurant opposite the hotel where we had dinner, played
The tambura orchestra created a very nice atmosphere.

1000011819.jpg

1000011832.jpg

1000012517.jpg

We were in the restaurant until it closed, and after that wr met in one of the rooms and made a plan, where to have an after party.

1000011886.jpg

We found a restaurant that is open much longer and stayed there until the early hours of the morning.

1000011889.jpg

20231216_011944_1.gif


After waking up and having breakfast ( the buffet table of this hotel is highly recommended), we went to the pool and enjoyed the indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and salt rooms.

1000012519.jpg

I didn't mention, the temperature was around 0°C, so the water temperature was very pleasant for swimming in the outdoor pool.

1000011911.jpg

1000011960.jpg

1000011970.jpg

1000011978.jpg

1000011953.jpg

1000011945.jpg

1000012520.jpg

1000012521.jpg


When we finished the spa treatments, we went on an organized walking tour through the forests of Fruška Gora.
We chose a 10 km long trail.
https://ecency.com/hive-193552/@duskobgd/actifit-duskobgd-20231216t153843104z

1000012522.jpg

1000012115.jpg

1000012123.jpg

1000012119.jpg

The path we chose led us past two old Serbian monasteries, Novo Hopovo and Staro Hopovo.

1000012044.jpg

1000012087.jpg

1000012081.jpg

1000012030.jpg

1000012032.jpg

By the way, there are many monasteries on Fruška Gora, 16 have been preserved to this day (out of a total of 35 built).
In the immediate vicinity of the Staro Hopovo monastery, we visited a smaller cave "Beli kop".

1000012090.jpg

1000012096.jpg

1000012091.jpg

1000012098.jpg

There was no time to stay in the cave for a long time. We took pictures and continued on.

We moved on muddy forest paths where leaves attacked and we bypassed fallen trees.
We did not dare to go over the trees that were placed as a bridge, we used a concrete structure to cross.

1000012160.jpg

1000012153.jpg

1000012159.jpg

We refreshed ourselves at the source of fresh water and continued towards the goal.

1000012126.jpg

1000012133.jpg

The climb at the end of the trail made us very tired. The big slope, along with the wet and muddy ground, meant that we could barely make progress, but with short breaks to catch up, we reached the finish line.


After the walk, we stopped at a restaurant for lunch.

1000012178.jpg

On the menu there was a local specialty - Sarma: sauerkraut, rolled up in packets, filled with minced meat, rice and onions, with long cooking on low heat, Is a superb specialty that we inherited from the Ottomans who were in this area until the end of the 19th century.

1000012179.jpg

We enjoyed a good lunch and when we finished, we headed to the hotel for another Spa tour.
Again, saunas, hydromassages, warm indoor and outdoor pools.

Maximum enjoyment.

In the hotel, I noticed a special part (Adam & Eva), the first of that type that I saw in the Spa.. but I bypassed it, because I was with my colleagues, and by the way I'm not even a nudist😀

1000011980.jpg

1000011795.jpg


The next day, I parted ways with my colleagues and went back to my apartment to go to the vote. Parliamentary elections were held in Serbia on Sunday (unfortunately, the same government was voted in again).

1000012337.jpg

After the vote, we went to Novi Sad with our family members, where we visited the Christmas market and all the attractions that were set up outdoors for the Christmas and New Year holidays.
We drank some mulled red wine and rum punch and bought our favorite cakes at one of the stalls.

1000012351.jpg

1000012425.jpg

1000012352.jpg

1000012430.jpg


On the occasion of the upcoming holidays, we treated ourselves to lunch in the wonderful Novi Sad restaurant "Veliki".

1000012406.jpg

We enjoyed the recommended dishes: rolled chicken with plum and apricot, turkey fillet with cherry dressing, pork leg on pork belly, pihtje...

1000012536.jpg


If I had written this post after lunch, on a Sunday afternoon, I could tag it with #weekend-engagement and write on the topic given by @galenkp : "If you could re-experience any weekend from 2023 which would it be and why?"
I would probably write about this one, but...
(As Lord Tyrion says in GOT, "Anything before but is a lie"), homecoming also happened.

Right before the toll ramp for exiting the highway, the car started to stall, to lose power.
I tried turning off the engine, restarting it, removing the terminal from the battery to restart it, nothing.
He couldn't go at all, and there was a 90km road ahead of us.
I had to call a tow truck...

1000012537.jpg

So instead of hanging out with the family, the weekend ended with towing the car to the mechanic.

20231217_184919_1.gif

And so, from a great time and a weekend full of good impressions, it ended with an ugly moment.
I was transported by a tow truck service, but now, for me, an unpleasant situation is coming.
After the diagnostics I scheduled for Wednesday, I'm waiting to hear how much money I'll need to get the car back up and running.

Fortunately, colleagues from the company came to meet me and during the failure of my car, they provided an backup car, so that somehow I could function.


That's it for me this weekend.
Thank you for stopping by, to read and see what I've been up to.
I hope that you had only good moments, that none of you had bad luck over the weekend that took money out of your pocket...
Until the next holiday weekend, I greet you.

Sort:  

I wish my company would organise such an excursion for me... oh, well, I am my own boss so I should do it for myself 😂 ... and count on unexpected circumstances too. Once we had to tow our car from France :D

Since you are the boss, you probably don't have a problem with money, you just lack time.
Get organized, it's worth every moment.
As for my weekend, the company organized "only" 🙂 a dinner with acoustic music and a spa hotel.
After party and the walk in the forest was organized by only a few of the bravest of us, because it was very cold.
As for towing, it wasn't long, about an hour on the highway, 90 km. Much shorter than your from France...
But the problem was that I didn't notice that my "roadside assistance" had expired, so instead of the annual membership fee of 50e, I had to pay 150e on the spot...

Here in Spain many of us work as freelancers. So, that's why I say I am my own boss but it doesn't mean I don't have a problem with money. (well, I don't as we have for what we need 😉 )

Those after-party parts usually are even better than the main event 😁

The difference between the 50 and 150 is just in one number, not a big deal, right? 😅

One green is not a problem 😅
I'm more worried about what the diagnostics will show...
The repair will probably take all the colors - and purple, and yellow and green and orange and blue and red and gray (...885...) 🥲

Those after-party parts usually are even better than the main event 😁

The after party was organized by a Croatian branch of a major global computer company.
And we, the ICT sector of a Serbian company.
We teamed up on acoustic music and moved on to the after party together...
30 years ago, Croatia and Serbia were at war on the territory of the former Yugoslavia, and that evening we played "užičko kolo" together.
Since you visited Zlatibor, you must be familiar with the term 🙂

Fantastic 10 km hikes and the nude spa is intriguing. I'm sorry your car broke down and I hope the repairs will not be too costly.

I didn't take a look at the nude Spa, so I can't say anything... But the hike was exceptional.

I read with delight about your adventures @duskobgd, and walked with you in the forest, in the cave... I lived with you with the pleasure of seeing all these beautiful places. But after reading to the place where the unfortunate event happened, I became sad. It's a really unpleasant end to the day. But tell: let it be the biggest trouble in my life! I wish that tomorrow life will bring an unexpected profit!

You know how, that situation with the car cannot spoil my impression of the whole weekend, which was wonderful, filled with wonderful moments and enjoyment.
That evening, when I entered the apartment with my wife, I said: "it's not a problem that everything can be paid for with money, as long as we are alive and healthy".
It's just a pity that the car engine service will cost several hundred euros (I hope not over a thousand).. and it could be repeated on a weekend like this :-)
I'm looking forward to tomorrow and the detailed report from the service.

Looks like the perfect location to relax!
Sarma, mulled red wine and punch rum, yummy 😋

Fruska gora is a national park, ideal for rest and recreation.

And sarma? Sarma is the best 😄
For the first time, I tried it with sour cream at the suggestion of a colleague. Even better taste...

I haven't tried this yet, thanks for the advice 👍 Next time I make it, the sour cream will go with it. I find it tastes best by baking it in the oven instead of cooking it in a pot,...

Besides the sour cream I discovered this weekend, I always eat horseradish with sarma.

When you mention the preparation of sarma... I remember one winter, probably before the year 2000, when we made a full pot of sarma with smoked dried meat... We were in the cottage around New Year's Eve... We cooked sarma for two days on a wood stove (on Smederevac), with the occasional addition of water, how it is cooked.
I still feel the taste of that sarma on my palate today.

Now I'm getting hungry 🙃, I can smell this pot of delicious sarma and smoked meat 😀

Me too 😄

Congratulations @duskobgd! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 15000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP