You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement week 13: Ask me anything

in Weekend Experiences4 years ago

Damn you...Asked a bloody hard question. The thing is that traditionally Australian food has been very influenced by English food, unsurprising as we began as a colony of the British. These days our food is so diverse due to the multiculturalism. I like it all too!

But I'm going to pick something truly Australian.

The ANZAC biscuit.

This biscuit was made for the troops fighting in World War One, the Diggers. ANZAC means Australia New Zealand Army Corps as we're joined forces with the sheep fuckers Kiwi's over in NZ to go to war in support of the British. The ANZAC biscuit was sent to the boys for a snack.

If I ate only these for the rest of my life I wouldn't last long, but they are one of my favourites and a very Australian thing. So, yeah, that's it.

https://www.delicious.com.au/recipes/slightly-chewy-easy-anzac-biscuit-recipe-you-can-make-now/7ffc9d90-5b77-4698-a8fa-dc8457370c71

Sort:  

Party pies are one of my all time favourite aussie snacks. I saw that pic and got instantly hungry.

Can't say I'm surprised, since I got pretty hungry after going through Google Images looking for curry puffs, or "karipap" as we call them here. I think I tried licking the screen, but I don't think it helped. I tried looking up what party pies are, and they look quite delectable too! It's almost the same concept, but replace the broth, tomato paste, and red wine in meat pies with curry, and you have karipap!

image.png

Sounds like id eat karipap for sure. I'm currently hungry and thinking about what to do for lunch. Reading all these hive posts on food is pulling me in so many directions. I want party pies and chips, burgers, stuffed peppers, guacamole and sushi right now. But i can only pick one!

Haha, I can feel your pain. I've trained myself now to browse through food posts and videos just before going to bed, as it'll make my stomach grumble in joy. Unfortunately, the stall that sells karipap outside my apartment complex isn't opened 24 hours. I think I need one... Right now 🙃

Lol...The old party pie...A good old snack, meal if one eats enough of them! Good answer. I actually like the little pasties the best although have been known to smash the pies for lack of pasty-action on the table. I went to my brothers graduation when he finished his Marine Architect degree, it was down in Launceston last year. The after party thing was great...Good food...Where does the G-dog head..Yep, party pies and pasties. #simpleman #easypleased

Don't forget the sausage rolls! A little bit of tomato sauce and youre good to go!

 4 years ago (edited) 

Ah yes, they're my secondary protocol...Pasty, sausage roll, pie...Although rarely do I have one without the others. Just how I roll.

No they all go together like a shmorgsbourg. Or however you spell that word.

Haha, smorgasbord I think.

Smörgåsbord is a type of Scandinavian meal, originating in Sweden, served buffet-style with multiple hot and cold dishes of various foods on a table.

I think that's where the word got stolen from. Funny how words get used like this huh?

I told you, mate, I'm not going to go easy after that chicken tender incident. Especially since I know deep down that there's quite a large variety of things you like to stuff down your gullet. Still, ANZAC cookies look and sound mighty tasty! They do remind me of a popular brand of packaged oat cookies we have here; Oat Krunch.

They are delicious, and its anything like ANZAC cookies, there's enough sugar in there to make branding the oats as a healthy ingredient, quite pointless. A pack or two of these, and I'll have diabetes for sure. I suppose its understandable to give those soldiers in the trenches loads of energy in a pinch. I'm guessing you're not too fond of the Kiwis then, the sheep fuckers 😆

image.png

New Zealand and Australia have a constant (good-natured) rivalry. You'd have to be a Kiwi or Aussie to understand it. We pick on them and they return fire.

We went to war together though, we're close in that way, bonded, and either will stand up for the other in a fight or at a time of need. That's what we do.

They call us stuff, we call them stuff and we play our rivalry out on the sporting field: Cricket, rugby and netball.

A Kiwi would look at that comment I made and laugh, return fire and then I'd laugh. It's what we do.

The term ANZAC means a great deal here, and we honour those who fought under that banner, blokes who died together to protect an ideal back in WW1. It might seem an odd situation but here, for Aussies and Kiwi's...It's how we are. A disrespectful banter based on deep respect. It won't make sunset unless you're from NZ or Aus though I think.

The ANZAC legend lives on in us and when I was there I visited several ANZAC war memorials to pay respect to the blokes who died alongside the Aussies. I take that seriously.

Lest we forget.

I totally understand that, without a doubt. I do enjoy a bit of banter between different communities, out of mutual respect and understanding, and nothing short of the upmost trust with one another.

After WW2, my grandad put his rifle down and got into civilian life, but not before spending some free time in Singapore hanging around with his former Brit, and ANZACs in the army.

Whether it's there hanging around on the beaches and chasing the ladies, or defending a hill from the Banzai charges, there's nothing short of trust between them. Respects to those who put their lives on the line, so that we may live in harmony.

Well said here, nothing else to add. ✅

I got you, mate ;-)