The elven girl

in Weekend Experienceslast year (edited)

elf girl.jpg

Her back was turned, hooded head leaving her features indistinguishable, and yet the quiver of arrows and bow slung across her back and the earthy tones of her garb left me in no doubt I'd found an elf. I was quiet but not quiet enough for her keen elven ears; she turned and my suspicions were confirmed. Pointed ears, light skin dusted with freckles and hair the colour of mid-autumn leaves...yep...an elven girl.


Last weekend I went to a fair in the hills. It was a cold day, I knew it would rain a little, and that the ground would be a little muddy underfoot, but I wasn't missing the opportunity to attend the annual medieval fair.

In truth it's not just about the medieval (middle ages) era however that's the main focus of it. That doesn't stop people from dressing as Vikings, Game of Thrones and Lord of the Rings characters, pirates, wizards and witches, tavern wenches, kings, queens and princesses, monks, friars and druids, Romans, Saracens, people from the Tudor period, peasants and just about anything else you can think of from hundreds of years ago and the fantasy genre...like the elven girl I found.

There's many demonstrations from medieval combat, jousting, fighting gladiators, medieval life, blacksmithing, archery and horse archery, arms and armament making, arrow-making, embroidery, leatherworking, sewing, cooking, a Scottish warriors' test of strength, Punch and Judy show, juggling, music and dancing...there's even a medieval tavern. I put together a few photos below if you're interested.


Here's a few people (and a horse) I ran into. This is one of the horses used for the horse archery with her rider on the right; the horse archery was super-cool. She was a bit of a princess, that horse complete with pretty braids, but friendly and I had a pat. You can also see the elven girl I mentioned, another of the horse archers and one of the chaps who fought in combat. He was slain.

assorted.jpg


Here's some of the martial arts in progress. They did a melee (combatants fight individually at the same time against everyone else all at once until only one is alive), team combat and individual combat. There was much death, destruction and carnage. These folks (guys and gals) go at it pretty hard with arms and armour they make themselves. This is a world-wide activity enjoyed by many thousands of people and they get right into it.

fighting 2.jpg

Below was one of the teams battles. You can see three fighters converging on a lone enemy whose legs have been cut from beneath him. It was only a flesh wound though, he managed to fight on, kill one of the others with a glorious back-slash of his sword but, alas, was cut to pieces by the other do in a rather workman-like manner. The chap on the left in the blue tunic was one of the Marshalls who keep an eye on things for safety purposes. This is not mock combat though, it's full speed and unchoreographed with few rules.

fighting.jpg


Here's one of the other demonstrations, embroidery - not as brutal as the combat, but difficult enough. I'll admit that this didn't hold my interest for long but I had a funny conversation with the two ladies in the image below. Sorry about the blurry one on the left, she moved as I took the shot. She embroidered the crappy thing on the left and the other one did the excellent work on the right. Don't be fooled though, the one on the left fought in combat and did very well. She's a brutal killer...and can do embroidery. They make all sorts of medieval things like clothing, hats, belts, pouches, tapestries and bags; you can see a hat one of the hats below.

embroidery.jpg


After the not so exciting embroidery area I headed off for some jousting. I'm sorry about those jousting photos below folks I only had my phone, not my camera so the zoom is rubbish. They were proper-jousting though, full armour, horses at full tilt and lances were breaking on shields. I also stopped off to look at a few blokes doing some weapons instruction, knife fighting, and a few medieval people cooking up something fucken vile in the pot; it was possibly a human head left over from the melee.

demo 1.jpg


After that it was time for a glass of mead and mulled wine at the tavern, both delicious! There were some rather lovely, well-proportioned tavern ladies there...I'd say their tops were a little too low-cut but I'd be lying...they were just perfect. Sorry fellows, no photos of that. I had a mead and a mulled wine and was feeling pretty damned happy as I wandered around afterwards.

mead.jpg


There were a lot of artisans and craftsmen around the place but I wasn't able to get around to them all unfortunately. I had some great chats with a few though, talked about making weapons and armour, the methods and reasons things were done a particular way and that takes time so I missed some. They were all super friendly and chatted as they worked though and it was informative. I wanted to buy some things whilst I was there but refrained, I don't need more swords and axes...I just want them! I was a good boy though, and bought nothing.

axe forging.jpg

Swords and armour.jpg

I had a really great conversation with the fletcher. A fletcher is a person who makes arrows and the guy was in the middle of making some arrow-heads in his forge. We talked about different heads and how they fly and penetrated mail or armour, the feathers used and how the use of different birds feathers (and how they were affixed) would make the arrow do different things like twist for instance. He was saying how water-bird feathers are preferred as they have more strength. We chatted for a half hour and I found it all pretty fascinating.

arrow forging.jpg


I thought it was really cool how so many people got dressed up for the day. I'd say there would have been about 3,000 people there at any one time over the day and at least a third of them were wearing some type of costume, many of them very good! There was a group of Vikings wandering around, three girls and three guys and they looked awesome, as did a group of druids who all stayed in-character the entire day; nerds. It was great how all ages were dressed up too and people from all walks of life including entire families. I was really impressed with how people got into the spirit of it and it made the fair that much better.

There were loads of food stalls offering just about everything, none was medieval though. I opted for a kransky hotdog with sauerkraut, mustard and tomato sauce which was bloody tasty...it may have been washed down with another mead too. Possibly.

armour guy.jpg

Overall, I thought the day was excellent. There was only one light shower, although the ground was a little sodden underfoot, and the sun even popped out now and then which helped evaporate some of the mead and mulled wine I'd drunk right out of my system. It was well run and I'd say it was worth the fifty Australian dollars I paid for myself and my warrior-woman shield maiden to get in.


Have you ever been to a themed fair like this? Do you think this is something that you'd find a little interesting? Would you sit at the tavern and have a mead or mulled wine with me? Are you an elf, druid, king, or some such thing? Whatever the case, feel free to comment below if you feel so inclined?


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default; tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind - galenkp

[All original and proudly AI free.]

Every image in this post is my own.

Sort:  

I'd like to visit a ren faire some day, but my schedule always seems to conflict when there is anything within any practical distance. I really should make more of an effort.

So, the real question is, should I plan to dress as The Doctor or some other famous time traveler?

Well, I think you should look into readjusting your schedule and getting it done, loads of fun for sure. The theme of your costume is something that only you can come up with yourself and I have faith in you that your choice will be exactly what it needs to be.

Marty McFly? (Back to the future)
Sam Beckett? (Quantum Leap)
Billy Pilgrim? (Slaughterhouse-Five)
Dr. Rick Marshall? (Land of the lost)

I'm sure you can come up with better options.

I can think of a couple literary options.

Does Gulliver count?

That reminds me of the Vikings festival. Had a nice experience while reading this one.

There Vikings for sure, but it wasn't exclusively about those legit people. I think that's what made it so fun, everyone was just jumbled together and still interacting. It was a very cool day.

Thanks for your comment, I'm glad you liked the post.

Wow! What a great weekend experience. Honestly, I have not been to a fair themed liked that and I wish to experience it in the future. Indeed, very interesting.
!PIZZA

I'm not sure they have things like this in your area but a quick google search will let you know. It's a lot of fun.

Very interesting, I have never been to a themed fair like that. I have seen them on TV before and read about them, but never attended.

I would for sure sit down and have a mead and mulled wine with you. I would even have a couple if I could manage my meds appropriately and keep the well bosomed ladies bringing them to us.

I would probably be more of a Shrek like creature if anything. I would like to think I would be a noble warrior, and I once was maybe, but now I am more of a chubby, tall, entertaining thing.

Maybe now I may look to go one of these if we ever have one locally.

Tavern mead and mulled wine session is on the to-do list. Somekne has to keep those well-endowed tavern girls entertained right? ✅

The day was very enjoyable and don't worry about Shrek man, you'd rock a Viking for sure.

I'm sure you folks have these sorts of things up there, probably bigger and better than down here so see what you can find.

Yes, they must be entertained😀. Viking it is, I wil ltake the compliment and roll with it my friend. I will look around, it should be that tiime of year they should start popping up if we do have them. have a good one.

Looks so fun!!

But, one thing really caught my eye... SPARKLING MEAD?!?!? Oo

That sounds so weird xD

Mead was traditionally not sparkling. Add some bubbles and it's sparkling. Add some sparkling mead to a group of friends in a tavern with buxom serving girls and one has the recipe for a decent night out.

medieval cosplay!

some folk do the strangest things with their down time, but it looks a decent day out away from reality.

It was an enjoyable day and I'm glad I went. I've got no judgement for those who dressed up or engage in this medieval thing as a hobby, only accolades for being passionate about something and getting involved. I thought it was pretty cool.

👍
i guess if it makes them happy and brings pleasure to others it is harmless fun.

I agree. It's not something I'm much into but I celebrated the fact there was people out there enjoying themselves and that it offered me some entertainment.

This is such a wonderful experience. I haven't been to any medieval - themed fairs like this one but glad you had fun. And that most of all, you were a good boy!

It was a really great day and I'll be going next year as well. I'm already thinking of my costume as I'll get into the spirit of it next time. I'm thinking a Viking. Björn Gdognarsson will be my name.

I'd been thinking of what Game of Thrones character would possibly fit you but now you've mentioned Vikings, it seems perfect.

been thinking of what Game of Thrones character would possibly fit you

The Hound most likely, Sandor Clegane. I'm an ugly bugger. Lol.

Lol, why did I just know you'll say that. Well you're no Khal Drogo but I thought Oberyn would be a better fit?

Anyone who isn't female is fine by me...I'd not make a very good girl. (Not Lord Varys either.)

You had me there.😂
Don't know much about you, but I know you wouldn't last a day being Lord Varys. What with all that hunger.

I love your descriptive language!

Thank you. I try to make my posts interesting although I probably don't always succeed. Nevertheless, I appreciate feedback, so thanks.

Wowww I was amazed.

First of all, what great pictures, I love medieval times and everything fantasy like elves, I'm very fascinated by them.

I was looking at the drawings on the axe, how wonderful!

The helmets and armour are awesome.

Everything, I loved it all!

Thank you very much @galenkp , I enjoyed it a lot!❤️❤️❤️

I really wanted to buy an axe on Sunday, they were pretty cool, but somehow I managed not to, I don't need another one. 😁

I'm glad you liked my post, the day was pretty great and I'm happy I conveyed that in my post.

That axe caught my eye, I admire the art with which they are made and on the other hand I love craftsmen, handmade and so on.

A wonderful publication, will there be more photos of this event? I want to! hahaha

I have some other photos from this event and may use them in a post from time to time although I'll not do a second post on the event as such.

Great to see those missing, thanks @galenkp ❤️

What a beauty Galen that fair is really very well staged in Medieval times, a few years ago I visited something similar in Boston where they recreate the life of the first pilgrims in the USA, and all the staging was similar but not the same.

Of the Vikings, I have always been interested in their lifestyle, Nordic warriors who in their lifestyle believe in supernatural beings like these cute elves that you share with us through this showcase in your fair experience.

Thanks, Galen, I've walked her through you.🙋🌞

You've been to somewhere similar? That's cool, you'll know how much fun they can be.

We had a good time and will go back to the next one.

Oh yes, you have a good time because you blend into the scene and experience, it turns out great.

The great thing about Viking women is that the high-ranking ones choose their ideal husband, lol

Have a nice evening, dear friend 🤗

I have yet to go to one. But this virtualization tour of yours was pretty kewl.

The arrow maker was my fave part. Followed closely by the food vendors, "Kraut Dogs Rock!"

untitled.gif

Sometimes I wish I was a kraut-dog instead of a g-dog, based on that lovely lady eating the kraut-dog. Lol.

I think you'd have liked that event as there was a lot of artisans there all happy to talk. I am always happy to give something a go, like this medieval fair, and usually I'm well-rewarded.

Put kraut-dogs our our list of to-do's when I'm up in FL.

Wow, really cool!

When I lived in Tuscany I also took part in a medieval themed party, it's called "the unicorn party" and it is held annually in Vinci... yes, Leonardo's birthplace!

It was really a wonderful occasion to celebrate and I had a lot of fun, I hope to be able to return in the future.
Even this party that you attended attracts me a lot... maybe one day I'll come to see it my friend and we can toast with mead ;-)

I feel very Elf anyway eh eh!

The unicorn party sounds interesting indeed. Is that an annual event?

Unbelievable, you've managed to stir up some great memories of an experience of mine at a medieval festival, I'll leave you some pictures.

DSC_0025.JPG

DSC_0006.JPG

Oh cool, you've been to one too. It's a lot of fun right?

Yes, I also attended a medieval festival, it was a wonderful experience, especially as I was able to interact with the people involved there.
As you saw in the picture, we managed to do some activities, we shot a bow, we made fire by rubbing a stick, we created the blade of a future sword, we managed to make clay pots.
I believe that this year, somewhere around July, this festival will take place again.

Oh what fun! I'm hoping you go in July and do a post. Feel free to tag me.

I can't wait to find out the date and venue of this medieval festival and even more so to see the day-to-day programme of the event.

I'll look for the post.

Wow, that looks like a cool event. To be honest, I'm not very into cosplay. So probably wouldn't join in. But it is fun watching people enjoy themselves. You got some great photos of the event. Seeing the weapons and armor would be fun. I have no interest in owning such things, but watching the craftsmanship is always very interesting.

Do they do these fairs often there?

I have no idea how often they were held and only heard about this one by accident. I presume it's held annually although I think the individual groups hold their wn events on a regular basis.

an interesting and very strange festival that I just learned from you. Thank you so much for sharing your comments

You're welcome, it was my pleasure to share it.

I never knew there was something like this.... It must've been amazing. Hope to witness this some day😊😊😊😊

Hopefully you have a chance to get involved with something like this. I wonder if such events are held in your area?

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@pinkchic(1/5) tipped @galenkp

Oh this is fantastic, I have always wanted to attend such an event. I once had the opportunity to enjoy a medieval banquet with period decorations and recipes.

Thank you for sharing this great experience!

A medieval banquet would be fun. I know someone who went to one, like one of those theatre dinners in the UK and loved it. Now I want to find one to attend down here!

The fair was fun though, if you get a chance you should try and get to one.

The fair was fun though, if you get a chance you should try and get to one.

I would love to!