You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 45: Only three items [answer and win hive]

Hahaha okay the day is finally here… I can finally go into my full “The Walking Dead” mode…

Some context, I’m going to assume that this is in the same area I live in and regarding items I actually own. So for example I’m not taking my winter jacket cause there is no snow and I can’t take a gun cause well…

So this brings me to the following three items!

  • Knife
    This is for protection, for hunting, for cleaning of food, for anything really.
  • Phone/Camera/Drone
    I’m grouping these cause I actually have them in one bag, don’t fight me on this!!! 😂
    The first part is communication, at some point you will hope to find others, or at least have contact with others. This is where the handy mobile phone comes in. I’m not sure if there is still going to be internet but at least for the first part of my doomsday scenario we might still be able to call.
    The second part of this is to navigate, I’m not saying there is a hoard of zombies headed my way but if so I can and will spot them with the drone! It’s also just good to see where I am.
    The third part is recording. If this scenario happens now I feel there is still a lot that I need to say. So I’ll record my thoughts, I’ll document my findings and I’ll even leave messages to friends and family in case anyone ever finds it.

(PS don’t worry; the car charger is already in the car 😃)
Also on of my camera lenses will be used to start a fire ….Shhhhhh don’t tell Canon

  • A tent….
    I know it sounds simple but from what I’ve learned something that protects you from the elements is key. I’m also thinking that I can use the material for other things, a make shift filter for water maybe… Something I can use for fishing (some of those ropes).

I realize I don’t have a lighter, but I do have the camera lens and honestly, you can basically cook on a stone here between 11am and 3pm (it gets hot!).

Also, I’m so sorry Wilson… I’ll come back for you!!! 😩

Sort:  

The drone would be such a useful thing to bring. In a pandemic where everyone is running to the bush no doubt people would be scared and leave with nothing. Hoarding and stealing would be rife. Need to make sure you're monitoring the area and constantly Surveying it.

Good choice

Haha i knew you would see it my way!

Did you see the launch of the DJI Air 2s??? I'm seriously contemplating getting that one!

I did and I have been looking at them and they have good stats but my only issue is wind resistance and the amount of power they need to remain stable.

If my old Mavic Pro can handle all of the ocean and mountain winds I've flown in, I'm thinking this new one should be okay... I'm going to have to put it on the list unless dji finally decides to bless us with the mavic pro 3

I'm hanging to get Mavic Pro, I only have a DJI Phantom 3 Standard. It's a nice beast by all accounts and the batter life is amazing but I'm looking forward to the larger flight range on offer with the Mavic Pro.

I don't get out as much as I'd enjoy with the drone ever since having kids. A hobby that I really enjoy but miss out on :(

Ah yes got you... You should definitely make time for it, maybe combine it with family trips...

The mavic pro is no longer in production so I take it you're talking about the Mavic Pro 2

Hahaha okay the day is finally here… I can finally go into my full “The Walking Dead” mode…

About time right? 😉

Knife, drone and tent...This seems legit...You could use the drone to gather intel prior to moving through a particular area as well as recording the whole thing over time...Good plan...I hope you have lot's of batteries though. A tarp is a good idea as it can be used for shelter and many other things besides.

Well thought out. Nice work. I think you'll survive!

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Haha! Like how you grouped your phone, camera and drone. 😂

Haha! You have a portable charger as well right? Solar? If I spot any drone hovering my side of the wilderness, I’m going to assume it’s yours. If you see me waving frantically, it means I really need to borrow your charger. I forgot to pack mine. “One for all and all for one”. Sharing is caring.

Hahaha I see how you just used that against me... But fine, I'll share my solar charger for some frozen fruit... This cooking on stone thing is harder than I thought and I'm hungry 🤣

Haha! Frozen fruits coming up... or down. What's your location? @regenerette can help us with the cooking.

Hahaha if you walk about a mile straight towards the setting sun and then take a left at the 3rd windmill (on your right) ... Follow the path until you hit the big tree... Look for a small orange x (make sure it's orange! If it's blue, run!!!)
After the tree take a left and look for a group of small rocks that are in a W patter... , hide behind those rocks... I'll come and get you when the coast is clear.

(Gasping!) listen, for a minute, I was confused. I thought I was looking for an orange fruit, maybe because I just ran out of frozen fruits.
I then saw 2 X's, one was orange and the other blue. I decided to run as fast as I could . I'm out of breath. Listen, someone needs to tell me what's with the W- formation of these rocks. I'm hiding but I don't feel safe. I'm moving to the big tree to the right of the rocks. Please hurry!!! untitled.gif

Don't worry about to the W right now... We have other concerns! YOU ARE NOT SAFE! I'm watching everything with the drone and there is someone or something coming for you... I'm gonna try to distract it with the drone.
Listen carefully... Run exactly the opposite direction of where the drone is flying to.. You'll hit a small toolshed, do not mind the blood on it, that's a story for later. Carefully open the door and go inside...and whatever you do.....
DO NOT drop the frozen fruit...

Hahaha hey one for all and all for one!!! 🤣🤣🤣

Hahahahahaha while reading the first few lines I figured it must be really hot where you live.

basically you can cook on a stone here between 11 a. M. And 3 p. M. (It's hot!).

With this I confirmed it. I think it's hotter than where I live. You have a good profile to emerge victorious from a scenario like this.

Hahah okay hold on hold on... I haven't actually tried this but I'm sure it can work.. Maybe not a stone but a piece of medal could work... Right???

Hahahahaha try it before you go on the hike and let me know.

I really like the idea of a drone. I've got a place to go if it's really bad, but it would be REALLY nice to be able to watch the entry without being seen.

I have a fly bag (with one change of clothes among other things) ready right now, as well as my camping bag with everything I need for a few days.

I feel like everyone has to have a fly bag these days one can never be too prepared...we've become so dependent on all the luxury!

What's in your camping bag? Rope? Medicine?

Tent, sleeping pad, 2 sleeping bags, kitchen and all the stuff to support them. Rope, duct tape, para cord, tent stakes, pot and pan kit, coffee kit, 2 stoves (butane/propane mix and white (unleaded) gas), some dry food and stuff like Tuna and spam. A pretty good first aid kit. Oh, yeah. A 250 tab bottle of Tylenol. :)

Whoa! That's an extensive bag!
I like how the coffee kit is in there! Hahah people need that in any situation 😀.

Also, I’m so sorry Wilson… I’ll come back for you!!!

Comedy line of the day, I got a good laugh at that.

Some good things for a temporary modern day event.

Hahaha he needs to know I love him 🤣

Good choices here man! I would swap out a phone for a radio or some kind like a HAM radio or CB radio so you can talk to people. Those I think will be useful things to have if the situation calls for it.

The others are definitely important to have! We can make fire in lots of ways, if your phone dies you can turn part of the lens into a magnifying glass and burn something that way. A knife is one of the best things to have, preferably a giant one hahaha.

Hey MacGuyver is that you? 👀😀😀😀





I see you!!!

I'm learning new things here, I honestly have/had no idea what a HAM radio was... But do you think the mobile phone coverage would go down? Internet yes but normal calls?

(and now I'll quietly wait hoping you got that reference, the level of humor depends on it!)

It depends very much on what happens. If there's an EMP then cell phone coverage will be knocked out, the old school radios that actually run on radio waves I think would probably still work. If not, hey there's always smoke signals 😄

Haha who said anything about an EMP? Hhaha why are you making things worse for us??? 🤣

Lol No Connection in the Jungle Bro 😂 I'm pretty sure that your document findings will be something special that helps scientists. 😀 These stuffs perfect for you to survive and we need you to come back and make us laugh. Don't die brooo !!!

you can basically cook on a stone here between 11am and 3pm 😂😂😂

Your choice is so necessarily needed. That's good idea.

Thanks! Any food tips/recipes for cooking in the sun? 👀👀😀

Sure, I will show some recipes to survive.