[WE100] Open Letter to LordTimoty: Going Back to the Start

An open letter to LordTimoty..png

An Open Letter to LordTimoty;

Oh Timothy, you do not know what you're about to get yourself into. You're about to discover HIVE and it's going to be addictive! You're going to find kindred spirits, like minds and learn a whole lot of new stuff about yourself. You're also going to learn a lesson in networking (Hivers call it engagement).

untitled.gif

New Years Eve wasn't a big deal for you and you were in bed by 9pm - but it's now the fourth of January, 2022 and you're about to be convinced to write your first blog. You came here via Splinterlands, so it made sense to actually do a Splinterlands post!

You're going to have a whale pass by and give you a massive upvote as a way of encouraging you to get involved in this space; you'll think this blogging thing is a piece of cake - then your next heap of posts will earn you basically nothing. Don't get discouraged - you're just not 'doing it right' yet.

untitled.gif

Luckily, you're on annual leave for the next four weeks and you'll discover a lot, but here are the quick tips:

  1. Start commenting and talking to other people. Don't expect people to care about your perspectives if you don't invite them into your world.

  2. You won't hear about #WeekendEngagement for weeks and weeks, make it a priority to check it out ASAP (How's that for gratuitous praise?)

  3. Try and find routines to get your self sorted. Every week you'll enter The Ink Well prompt (you'll win it a few times too, and feel increasingly confident in your creative writing), two Splinterlands competitions and a weekend post. You'll also make it a priority to write a post about a coffee and a few about film.

  4. Those spaces are your niche - and HIVE is all about niches. You don't belong in EVERY community, you can't possibly contribute to them in a meaningful way. Always be meaningful and authentic and you'll go far - it's no different to life.

  5. Rising Star is worth a bit of a look, when you first log in, you'll go 'Meh', but it's worth persevering.

  6. The CineTV gang are delightful, get to know 'em. It's a worthwhile pursuit - they'll give you a lot of HIVE advice, you'll follow it - and it'll work out.

  7. You will think it'll be a good idea to enter the Open Mic Comedy Competition a few times; let's cut to the point. You're not that funny and you'll be disappointed over and over again.

  8. You also need to learn about curation trails! Don't think 100s of people are sitting at their screen voting independently within seconds of each other - you'll work yourself up in knots to figure out what are the key hastags to let that many people find others so quick - they're not - it's automated!

  9. Speaking of hashtags, get to know which ones to use - don't just click on top earning posts and borrow theirs - it's not how it works and you'll end up using tags specifically for basketball - and we both know, you'd be lucky to recognise a basketball in a sports shed!

Now the other tricky thing is upvotes - you'll count down the days until you receive your blog earnings, and then you'll wonder where half your money went! Do some research in this space and you'll see that half of your earnings go to the curators and half go to you! One of the things you'll follow closely is your HIVE power - keep investing here as a priority and watch your vote grow! You're going to aim to be a DOLPHIN within 1 year.

Oh Timothy, it's a lot of learning you'll be doing - and when you start watching tutorials and setting up Binance accounts, you'll feel overwhelmed - but keep watching those tutorials and you'll get your head around this crazy world and be all the richer (figuratively and literally) for the journey.

PS: You idiot! Why did you pick such a dumb name to blog with. It's too late now, embrace the dorky-ness of the gaming name you've been using since you were 12.

untitled.gif

This post was part of The Weekend Engagement, get on it here. It's 100 weeks young! That's a milestone worth celebrating!

Image:
Cover image crafted in CANVA using elements and text.
.GIF images inserted directly from PeakD .GIF search (Tenor)

Sort:  

WE THX image (1).png

Thank you for supporting the #weekend-engagement initiative conceived by @galenkp and featured in THE WEEKEND community

The image belongs to @galenkp

Point 2: Gratuitous praise is always welcome.
Point 7: Lol, I found this funny, so maybe you 're a bit funny.
Point 8: There's not hundreds of people sitting around just waiting to vote me?

Expanding on the idea of the 100s of people - I suppose being the internet I just assumed billions of people would be on HIVE. It sounds too good for them not to be here! Made sense that 100s of people would be refreshing content waiting for the good stuff to upvote.

Turns out, I'm funny, and stupids.
Bed time here, been a long day - but tell you what the yard looks good. Hadn't mowed in a few weeks, but we've got this neighbour who gets the lawn mower out every Saturday, so I feel bad if I go 2 weeks without taking the top of 'em. Bring on Winter and dormant grass!

Damn that neighbour, making you look bad for not mowing your lawn weekly. Still, there's a certain satisfaction in having a nicely mown and edged lawn right?

Have a good night and weekend to follow. 😊

Hey Tim

This is a brilliant list, I've had a good chuckle at a few of your posts, but apparently my sense of humour isn't for everyone - dry humour and sarcasm crack me up, both of which I think you do pretty well at.

Lol at the part about curation trails. Until a few months ago I had no clue how autovotes even worked so you learned a LOT faster than I did. The 50% vibe I think catches many people off-guard, but it makes the system work!

Have a great weekend, glad you got your lawn sorted.
Cheers

In truth, I remember getting my first Curie upvote - it must have been a curator being on at the right time, it happened a few minutes after a post - and I spent hours going down rabbit holes investigating hashtags, assuming the right combination might have triggered the result - so I repeated everything, and got nothing. Took me down many other pathways after that - I've seen the proposal that there needs to be introductory modules on Hive. Basically the concept was, pay people to complete modules - and that gives them their starting hive power balance to be able to engage further. - Otherwise, my life at the moment is hectic, and without time to explore, google, watch tutorials etc - it can all be a little bit too much.

Tim you are clearly very analytical which I think in this platform can drive you nuts. I know because I'm like that too.

I've posted a post that I felt was great and it went nowhere, posted posts that I thought were subpar and they got some of my highest payouts. I'm putting it down to luck of the draw.

These courses and modules that you speak of are in essence a good idea, I think many people get discouraged when they first join because you can do very little with the resource credits of a brand new account.

I too came here via Splinterlands, however I wish I had started Rising Star instead!

Me too - a couple of months headstart in R/S would be pretty sweet return now. I know a few people making 100,000 starbits per day. I make 14,000 per day and cash them out - would take a pretty big investment to catch up now starbits are basically pegged at 0.003.

My Splinterlands journey is still going, but seems to be that I keep having to put money into it for this or that. I am hoping to build to over 100,000 card power by the end of this season - and am hoping that by playing in Gold, will feel like I'm actually stable for a while and making some DEC progress. Onwards and upwards they say.

Yes I see people getting over 100k a day, well I have not invested in RS so just do for fun!
Splinterlands I won't invest as was too late there, so again basically only play just before EOS🤣🤣🤣

what a funny and witty way to give you encouragement dear @lordtimoty, but every tip is spot on, so I'll take advantage and follow your tips too, I hope you don't mind, I love reading you, cheers!

Pdta: yes I also chose a weird name, but since, you can't change it anymore jiji

hahahaha Almost all of us make the same mistake, thinking to change the pseudonym later, you have a perfect list to restart on hive I had forgotten all these details, I wanted to answer this question but I could not. @lordtimoty

Very entertaining your publication and at the same time didactic, I find your way of writing very fluent. Excellent and thanks for sharing those things that have happened and will happen in Hive. Best regards.