You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 24: Passions [Get paid for yours]

Huh, well here goes.

  1. Gaming. Mostly RPGs but I also play board and card and video games. I am part of a group of people who run games as conventions for people to enjoy. This year we have been doing this entirely online because Covid.
  2. Making things. Like putting together LEGO, or making small props for cosplay or just to have or learn how to.
  3. Probably going to go with Geocaching for this one. Using billion dollar technology to search for containers in the world. It uses GPS and coordinates. I haven't done as much of this as normal this year because Covid.

I do other things but thought these three were the ones to go with.

Sort:  

Woooooooow i looove making LEGO hahahaha that´s very random, but i hadn't thought of that! Have you gone to any lego store? It´s like heaven.

image.png

I didn't know there was a Lego store. I'll have to locate one and check it out.

It would be great if they installed one in my country!

I was in one in the Mall of America many years ago. It was a crazy place that I had to get out quick before I went broke. :)

hahahaha i agree.

I really wish I got into video games because there's so many good ones these days! It's just not my thing, although I have a few mates who love it...They're always talking about it and I try to join in...which only lasts about 20 seconds and then I sit back and listen to them babble on about stuff I know nothing about.

I'm with you on the Lego/making things for sure...I like doing things with my hands, putting stuff together and sitting back satisfied with the end result. I find it very satisfying.

You're quite a technical guy, I mean live the details of things I think, hence the Geocaching thing and the others you mention...It's good to be analytical and you're also clearly creative...A nice balance.

Thanks for coming over this week, I really appreciate it.

!ENGAGE 25

Thanks.
And I am not as good as I once thought I was at video games. Getting older will do that to a person apparently. :)

"As good as I once thought I was!" Lol...Yeah, none of us are though I guess.

Damn this getting older thing. But I suppose it could be worse so I'll take it.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

!ENGAGE 25

Oh, RPG's I have used a considerable amount of time on those. I remember the last one I was playing was Warframe until I decided it was enough of that. It is a guilty pleasure for me, but I met some amazing people while playing.

Yes, I friend who likes to build things like me. It is a joy to see your patience and work pay out once your project is completed.

That last one sounds interesting. I read about something like while translating a book a while ago, but never read or heard about someone doing it. Is a job? Or do you just go around looking for containers because it is fun to do?

Geocaching is a hobby. Looking for hidden containers with log books is a fun time. Check it out if you are interested: https://www.geocaching.com/play
It is free to play, especially if you have a smart phone and there are Geocaches everywhere in the world.

It sounds interesting. I wish my internet connection were better. Is there any objective to the game? I mean do you earn something, are there achievements? Can you brag about your scores and tings like that?

Basically you earn 1 "point" for each one you find. Those "points" are only good for bragging about having that many finds. There are digital badges you can earn that are a way of showing achievements. The objective is just to get out, explore your surroundings, and have fun.

As for internet connection, I had a pretty slow one for many years playing the game. While you are out searching for the Geocaches the only thing you need is a GPS or a smartphone with a Geocaching app on it. You can even download the data to the phone and use it without a data connection. If you have said smartphone you can log the finds in the field. If you use a separate GPS you can come home and use the computer to log the finds.

My uncle was a fairly avid geocatcher. I'd go with him once in a while (he wintered here in Yuma for several winters) and always enjoy the hunt. I was involved in another project, a lasting memorial to a fellow rider that died. When we were originally setting our little tribute we found a geocatch and moved ours. Last time I was there the geocatch was gone and our spot goes on. I have a personal Carinin at the location, it's why I go back once in a while.

I have not cached in Yuma but I know people who have.

There is a lot of 'hard' desert around here that is conducive to driving or walking. Plus the temperatures are generally pretty good when the northern folks suffer winter :)

Yeah, doing much outside in the winter here is cold.