You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 45: Only three items [answer and win hive]

Where I live, I'm fortunate enough to be surrounded by an abundance of fresh water and game, and I'm already really close to the wilderness. I've also been 'roughing it' in the local woods, with just me and a blade and the clothes on my back, since I was a child, so what I would take would depend largely on how long I planned on being out. If it was a mild pandemic like this one, and we just wanted to get out of town for two weeks while everyone was 'flattening the curve', I'd just take some weed, some liquor, and my guitar, and we'd go on a little vacation. I can make rudimentary shelter and fire with just my hands, and there is a lot of spring food to forage right now.

If we're talking about some deadly superflu like in 'The Stand', and we're saying goodbye to civilization forever, I would definitely want to put more thought into it. We have 'go jackets' rather than bags, that have basics for fire, first aid, fishing, trapping, and keeping warm. You seem to be counting a bag as one thing, so I'd take advantage of that. We have a rolling DeWalt tool chest filled with medical supplies for just about any occasion, so that would be one thing. We can use the car for shelter, so I wouldn't waste extra space on that. I guess if the jacket is one thing, the medical chest another, I'd probably fill a tote with as much arms, ammo, and reloading equipment as I could, and I'd fill the rest of the tote space with our garden seeds. I normally like to include some kind of entertainment with any load out, but for a long-term bug-out we'd be moving someplace with milder winters, so there should be plenty for us to scavenge along the way.

Most of this is pretty normal stuff than anyone would think of, althogh I haven't seen anyone else mention seeds. Being able to grow your own food is a pretty big deal in any long-term survival situation, and while it's possible to do that with entirely wild cultivars, having a few nutrient dense, easy to grow seeds like kale can really make the difference between surviving and thriving.

Sort:  

Good answer and considering it's you I expect it; That you're prepared and have put some thought into it. What I find really interesting is the very specific nature of this topic in respect of the individual, location and logistics around transportation. For me personally I could hook up my camper trailer to my Landcruiser, grab some go-bags and stuff, firearms and reloading equipment and probably live like that for a long time...Others...Well, they probably can't. It's a very personal thing but at the end of the day preparedness is something we should all be looking into simply for our general well-being and peace of mind. Bad things happen.

I think only one other person mentioned seeds, fast-growing edible things. It's a really good idea and considering they take up so little room it makes a lot of sense.

I'll be honest, I love this topic, thinking and discussing it as no matter how experienced I feel I am I always learn something and it's those of us who are open to learning that will hold the most information. I've done a few things in life, had some specific training and experience that places me in good stead in this regard, the survival aspect...Not everyone gets that chance, but it never fails to boggle my noggin when I see people have literally no plan and no clue...No care factor.

!ENGAGE 20

I really enjoyed the topic. I have spent a lot of time building a place here where I can 'bug-in' through whatever the world throws at me, and it worked great for the recent pandemic. I haven't given much thought the past few years to a concrete plan about what I would do if I was forced out of my fortress. As a guy who's pretty comfortable on foot in the woods, I've always just figured I could improvise if it came to that. This was a great mental exercise for me, and today I'm going to spend some time in the woods with more of an eye for an evade-and-ambush route out!

Thanks for the great topic, and thanks to @dandays for encouraging me to give a closer look to the engagement posts!

Nice to see you here dude! Figures you come by the only weekend I was unable to attend.

Rolling DeWalt chest, what's the matter? Don't trust made in USA powertools? 🤔

Member how I was saying I like to hang out at The Weekend and I just drop by most everyone's comment and drop sardonic type one-liners? Had I made it by the weekend over the weekend, your response would've went something like this:

Did you miss the part about 150 words or less or are you just a self centered bastard who doesn't think about anything other than his tool?

You've read my posts, I can barely say hello in 150 words or less!

Yes, I am that self centered. It all started when they told me the universe was infinite, and I realized that means that I am in fact at the center of the universe.

I'm sure I'll be back for more of these, opportunity for sardonic one-liners shall abound. I'm looking forward to it!

You've read my posts..

I've skimmed a few at best Mr Self Centered.

This.. I love it, The Weekend they just fly like this, ain't it fuckin great?!

Skimmed? SKIMMED? You shoot to wound, and lie, I suspect. Harsh tactics for a cyclist!

What's your safe word? I was born talking shit to the doctor!

"Disappearing diesel truck."

Really is. And it really did. Now don't make me bunny hop on your rocket stove.

You have stuff figured out...One of the enlightened ones. Thanks for joining in!

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.