My Childhood Memories - The Car Washing Game [Esp/Eng]

in Toys on Hive3 years ago

Hotwheels Car Wash
ML Ve

Greetings community of toy lovers, in this my first publication in your space, an old fox comes to share a very personal experience that I hope you like.

Childhood Memories - The wealth of being poor.

When they invited me to participate in this contest, I immediately thought that I had nothing to contribute, my childhood was not the same as that of many around here, even among the poor, my family was much more so.

We were poor in economic matters, but rich in values.

In my childhood, I did not have normal toys, in fact, I do not remember having even the cheapest toys of the moment, the plastic soldiers.

Soldier
Picture from iStock

I grew up in a small town far from the city in Sucre state, Venezuela. Most of the local families were poor, and the children played with handmade toys, like many other children of the time.

The difference was that when I was 8 years old, I lost my parents in a traffic accident, and I had to live with an aunt with alcoholism problems and my older brother, who when he turned 18 decided to leave, just as I would. long after him.

Because of all this, we were having a very bad time, so not to mention playing.

While other children went out to fly parrots (kites, as they say in some places) I was at a gas station cleaning windows in exchange for tips.

My favorite game was born there.

At that time there was much more money in the country, and rich people always passed by the service station, I clearly remember that every day I "dressed well" so as not to clash with the drivers of luxurious cars, although in reality my clothes were old. and it was inherited from my brother.

Car Wash
Medium user Midnight Express

The game consisted of being as professional as possible, speaking correctly, and earning the opportunity to wash the windows of the most expensive and exotic cars I could find.

If you live in Venezuela or in another third world country, surely you recognize my former co-workers, many annoying children who without warning fill the cars with a strange and sticky liquid that many times instead of cleaning, they dirty, and they force you to pay them money to clear up the clutter they have created themselves.

Most of the drivers with common or modest cars had no problem hiring our cleaning services, they even invited us to clean their windows and in return they gave us modest tips, but we were very happy.

However, the drivers of the most expensive cars were always conceited, they saw us in a different way, with contempt, and very rarely did they meet my eyes when they spoke to me.

This bothered me a lot, it made me feel inferior and many times they completely ruined my day, but it seemed normal, all my friends were used to it and understood that it was true, we were inferior.

One month in January, a boy from the town started inviting us all to play with his game console, a Super Nintendo with cartridges just bought at Christmas, and that was my first experience with video games, at the age of approximately 9 years.

Super Nintendo
By Xtreme Retro

We all believed that the boy was rich, but we knew that he was not, he worked with us, and his house was very humble, free of luxuries, but his mother was a teacher in a home school and his father was the town mechanic, so what the money he earned washing windows was for himself.

The game started.

As I began to spend time with him, I noticed that the drivers with nice cars greeted him, treated him well and even looked him in the eye, laughed at his jokes, and he showed impressive confidence. I wanted to be like him.

At first, as I mentioned before, he tried to dress me the best he could, but it was not a question of clothing, it was an attitude.

As he shouted his services and moved from one car to another, I was simply static waiting for someone to take pity on me and call me to clean their windows, I was not like the rest of my friends, annoying, much less like him , proactive.

While I was learning to be more myself, without allowing the environment to make me feel less, my jokes started to come out, I started talking to the employees at the gas station and I realized that, in reality, no one thought that I was less, only me.

Kid Wash
By CBS News

The employees paid me to fetch water for them, they gave me tips if I helped them carry some things, in the gas station workshop (where my friend's father worked) they always welcomed me and I learned many things.

When I was 10 years old, my life revolved around that gas station where I had found the family that I was missing.

And while cleaning the cars, I imagined that they were mine, felt each of their forms, treated them with great care, and that's how my passion for automotive design was born.

That was my favorite game.

Wet my hands with the water, smell the soap and see the foam running through the hot bodies of the vehicles I was washing, compete with my friends to see who cleaned faster and better, check at the end of the day who had the most tips.

I bought my first toys at the age of 12, and they were not for me, but for my cousin Gabriela, the daughter of my aunt who became my mother.

Thanks to my game I was able to raise enough money to go to study in another city with a distant relative, and here I find myself remembering difficult but beautiful times.

Thank you for reading.

🔥SPANISH🔥🔥SPANISH🔥🔥SPANISH🔥🔥SPANISH🔥🔥SPANISH🔥

Saludos comunidad de amantes de los juguetes, en esta mi primera publicación en su espacio, un zorro viejo les viene a compartir una experiencia muy personal que espero les guste.

Childhood Memories - La riqueza de ser pobre.

Cuando me invitaron a participar en este concurso inmediatamente pensé que no tenia nada que aportar, mi niñez no fue la misma que la de muchos por acá, incluso entre los pobres, mi familia lo era mucho mas.

Eramos pobres en materia económica, pero ricos en valores.

En mi niñez, no tuve juguetes normales, de hecho, no recuerdo haber tenido ni los juguetes más baratos del momento, los soldaditos de plástico.

Soldier
Picture from iStock

Me crié en un pueblito alejado de la ciudad en el estado Sucre, Venezuela. La mayoría de las familias del lugar eran de escasos recursos, y los niños jugábamos con juguetes artesanales, como muchos otros niños de la época.

La diferencia era que a mis 8 años de edad, perdí a mis padres en un accidente de transito, y me tocó vivir con una tía con problemas de alcoholismo y mi hermano mayor, quien al cumplir los 18 años decidió marchare, justo como haría yo mucho después que él.

Debido a todo esto, la estábamos pasando muy mal, por lo que ni hablar de jugar.

Mientras otros niños salían a la calle a volar papagayos (cometas, como le dicen en algunos lugares) yo estaba en una estación de gasolina limpiando ventanas a cambio de propinas.

Mi juego favorito nació allí.

En esa época había mucho mas dinero en el país, y gente rica siempre pasaba por la estación de servicio, recuerdo claramente que todos los días me "vestía bien" para no desentonar con los choferes de lujosos automóviles, aunque en realidad mi ropa estaba vieja y era heredada de mi hermano.

Car Wash
Medium user Midnight Express

El juego consistía en ser lo más profesional posible, hablar correctamente, y ganarme la oportunidad de lavar las ventanas de los carros mas costosos y exóticos que pudiera encontrar.

Si vives en Venezuela o en otro país del tercer mundo, seguro reconoces a mis ex compañeros de trabajo, muchos niños molestos que sin aviso llenan los autos con un liquido extraño y pegajoso que muchas veces en lugar de limpiar, ensucia, y te obligan a pagarles dinero para despejar el desorden que ellos mismos han creado.

La mayoría de los choferes con autos comunes o modestos, no tenían problema en contratar nuestros servicios de limpieza, incluso ellos mismos nos invitaban a limpiar sus ventanas y a cambio nos daban unas modestas propinas, pero éramos muy felices.

Sin embargo, los choferes de los autos mas caros, eran siempre engreídos, nos veían de una forma distinta, con desprecio, y muy rara vez me veían a los ojos cuando me hablaban.

Esto me molestaba muchísimo, me hacia sentir inferior y muchas veces me arruinaban el día por completo, pero parecía algo normal, todos mis amiguitos estaban acostumbrados y entendían que era cierto, éramos inferiores.

Un mes de enero, un niño del pueblo empezó a invitarnos a todos a jugar con su consola de juegos, una Super Nintendo de cartuchos recién comprada en navidad, y esa fue mi primera experiencia con los videojuegos, a la edad de los 9 años aproximadamente.

Super Nintendo
By Xtreme Retro

Todos creímos que el niño era rico, pero sabíamos que no era así, el trabajaba con nosotros, y su casa era muy humilde, libre de lujos, pero su mama era maestra en una escuelita casera y su papá era el mecánico del pueblo, por lo que el dinero que el se ganaba lavando ventanas, era para el mismo.

Empezó el juego.

Al empezar a pasar tiempo con el, noté que los choferes con carros bonitos lo saludaban, lo trataban bien y hasta le miraban a los ojos, se reían con sus chistes, y el demostraba una seguridad impresionante. Quise ser como él.

Al principio, como les comenté antes, intentaba vestirme lo mejor que podía, pero no era un tema de vestimenta, era de actitud.

Mientras el gritaba sus servicios y se movía de un auto a otro, yo simplemente estaba estático esperando que alguien se apiade de mi y me llame a limpiar sus ventanas, yo no era como el resto de mis amigos, molestos, y mucho menos como él, proactivo.

Mientras aprendía a ser mas yo, sin permitir que el entorno me hiciera sentir menos, empezaron a salir mis chistes, empecé a hablar con los empleados de la gasolinera y me di cuenta de que, en realidad nadie pensaba que yo era menos, solo yo.

Kid Wash
By CBS News

Los empleados me pagaban para que les buscara agua, me daban propinas si los ayudaba a cargar algunas cosas, en el taller de la gasolinera (donde trabajaba el papá de mi amigo) siempre me daban la bienvenida y aprendí muchas cosas.

A los 10 años de edad, ya mi vida giraba en torno a esa gasolinera en donde había conseguido la familia que me faltaba.

Y mientras limpiaba los autos, imaginaba que eran míos, sentía cada una de sus formas, los trataba con mucho cuidado, y así fue que nació mi pasión por el diseño automotriz.

Ese era mi juego favorito.

Mojar mis manos con el agua, oler el jabón y ver la espuma recorriendo el cuerpo caliente de los vehículos que lavaba, competir con mis amigos a ver quién limpiaba más rápido y mejor, comprobar al final del día quien tenia más propinas.

Compré mis primeros juguetes a la edad de los 12 años, y no eran para mí, si no para mi prima Gabriela, la hija de la tia que se convirtió en mi madre.

Gracias a mi juego pude reunir dinero suficiente para irme a estudiar a otra ciudad con un pariente lejano, y aquí me encuentro recordando tiempos difíciles pero hermosos.

Gracias por leer.

Sort:  

Congratulations @zorroviejo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Happy Birthday to the Hive Community
A successful meetup and its commemorative badge

Conmovedora historia de juego y de vida, te felicito estoy leyendo a una gran persona porque a pesar las circunstancias tu esencia e intento humano siempre fue y tu guía. Bendiciones!

Muchísimas gracias por tu comentario, habían muchos niños conmigo y en la actualidad hay muchos mas trabajando en la calle, es algo que siempre existirá pero pocos tenemos la suerte de salir bien de allí.