How many authors on Hive would you pay to consume their content?

in Ask the Hivelast year

It's quite a simple question but I think it's something that's not that easy for us here on Hive.

In a way many could say that some of us here, often times also newcomers get "spoiled" so to speak. We're so used to inflation being one of the main monetization tools that we barely use the tipping function, I'd reckon tipping, apart from it being in the form of 0.001 Hive spams to your wallet with a memo assigned to it attempting to get something from you, is only a tiny fraction compared to votes that occur here. It's somewhat sad that the recurring payment feature which compared to other platforms and most of the blockchains is free to use, i.e. doesn't cost any fees and there's no middlemen between the sender and receiver, is so seldom used.

We're all so used to upvotes being the norm way of monetization that it often leads to a lot of disappointment and shock when downvotes some times occur, even if they're "meant well" and only take a little bit of the pending rewards. Many instantly go on the offensive to take it personal, feeling as if they were "robbed" of rewards and the classic "this is censorship" angle. Now I do agree that there are bad downvotes out there as well and unfortunately countering those is one of the things that remains unincentivized on Hive while most other things are, but then again so are downvotes and they're not often used unless the downvoter deems them necessary or actually uses them "the wrong way". Luckily there are many stakeholders who don't mind countering "bad downvotes" even if it costs them some returns doing so, but okay not going to get into the downvote part too much in this post as that's not what it was about to begin with - so please don't make it about that in the comment section, I know some of you are at the edge of your seat to do so.

On #web2 the main way to generate an income off of your content is through adrevenue, sponsorships or subscription models, the latter something they convince you to join in exchange of exclusive content they won't "give out for free". None of these things are really that common on Hive if they exist at all, I'd say out of the 3 sponsorship may be something that happens here from time to time. One could want a popular author to bring up or promote a project of theirs and ask them if they'd be willing to do so in exchange for rewards/upvotes/money, maybe this has happened but hasn't been mentioned by the author, but I haven't seen much use of it. It could be that it's also one of the dilemmas of our userbase being too small for any advertisers or promoters wanting to promote their projects here, on top of that there's also the promoted feature that some front-ends make use of where the hive/hbd you use to promote your content instead goes to @null effectively burning it from supply. At the same time posting content exclusively for only few people isn't really possible on Hive considering how open everything is, someone would have to go through quite some trouble to create a platform that were to decrypt all of the text and only give some accounts access if they filled the requirements, which could be a subscription model.

I never really understood those models to begin with, though, because all it would take is one account to pay for it and publicize the content free of charge on their own account, so those who are fans of the author would just consume it for free there instead and no one would be any wiser. Some gamification could help make that part obsolete though where you'd be happy to support the content creator, but that again brings me to my question. Do we have such content creators on Hive or are those mainly the high-end ones who on other platforms would earn a nice living from adrevenue and sponsorships who would make a subscription model work for their content/personality?

Can you think of any authors on Hive that you follow that you'd miss if they stopped posting? Do you think there's any point to this method on Hive considering you can support them through upvotes/inflation?

I definitely have a few I could consider straight paying a fee to get to consume their content but I've also been here quite a while and gotten used to reading their posts/thoughts over the years. Aside from Hive there's only a few content creators I "subscribe" to and that's a couple streamers over on Twitch, unfortunately our streaming platform is a bit too small for me to make the comparison as I haven't had any luck finding such content creators here, yet.

Sort:  

The answer is none but there are many id miss if and when they have stopped posting. It's a fundamental problem with Hive's original economic model and the way it over rewards posts that off chain would earn nothing and under rewards content that would earn money off chain.

On YT, I voluntarily use Patreon to pay for three channels that are both excellently produced and interesting to me. I don't subscribe to Netflix or any other channels but do pay to watch every Leeds game.

Hive has some interesting and lovely people, the 'quality' of their posts is unimportant as I follow them because of them sharing something about their lives online. Almost without exception, I follow no one who posts 'information' posts as generally, those that do are poor, rehashed tosh. A prime example of this would be 99% of Leo finance posts which in my opinion is nothing more than a crypto new aggregation site created by 10 a penny spinners who only post there to try and hit the Leo voter lottery all led by a massively over rewarded cheer leader who shills whatever he thinks is a trendy topic but it matters not. His cheer leaders and autovotes will earn him massively every post and here's another issue...

Because of the reward pool, people will just agree with 'top' author's with big HP for the sake of earning comment rewards. Look at any of the names and no one ever has the balls to disagree with them. It's pathetic and again, due to the way the rewards on Hive work.

Hive has a wonderful and eclectic mix of amazing people at its core but outside this there are too many entitled individuals who care about nothing other than what they can take. Again, all down to how rewards are distributed, stakes are delegated and unauthentic arse licking.

No one wants to pay for content anywhere online if they don't have to and if people do have to, Hive wouldn't be the place to find authors worth paying.

Hive would be even more amazing if there were no rewards, just look how great it is right now in a bear market when it's not worth posting for many people who only want easily earned cash.

Hive is about people, that's why I'm here. Reward is a bonus. One day people will voluntarily share information in the same way as Open source software works and only then will voluntary tipping and altruistic rewarding be the norm, and even that would take a massive paradigm shift in human nature.

Great post topics recently from you fella, I love the fact you're posting your thoughts a lot more.

Have a great week :-)

I'm only here since december 22 and your reply expressed the thoughts which haven't risen in my mind yet. But I'd assume that I would have the same opinion about that once my impression about hive has come into bloom.

Considering I’ve still never paid a subscription fee to watch anybody’s content… I probably never will. If I had unlimited money I’d have a totally different opinion though. I just don’t think it is responsible for me to pay for content when I need to pay for things like food, gas, and electricity.

I know there are many who are more than happy to spend their cash/crypto on their favorite content creators. I’m sure feels good supporting those who provide you entertainment and information. Plus getting access to hidden content is a big bonus.

Sucks there isn’t really a way to lock your Hive content behind a paywall. I’ve seen this feature on Liketu, but I’ve never used it and don’t really know how it works. Would be nice if PeakD had a filter (similar to NSFW) that made a post locked until the reader has subscribed for a monthly fee.

I love how well the tipping feature and recurring transfers work. Both are very important features that are somehow heavily underused. Everyone knows what an upvote is though.

I use the tipping feature mostly for good posts that I find outside of the reward window. I wish this was more commonplace here on HIVE.

That is a perfect use of tips.
I very much appreciate the fact that PeakD at least alerts people that tipping is the best thing to do after a post has already paid out.

Screenshot 2023-01-16 at 8.58.15 AM.png

I think once there are more users and the search function improves a bit more, then tipping will become much more popular.

It's an interesting dilemma for sure.

Paying for content is a model that's been under stress for a while now. Streaming, pirating, and the web2 approach of we'll-sneakily-accept-your-data-as-payment-and-you'll-think-it's-free.

Hive's upvote inflation rewards are quite interesting, but come with the web3 learning curve, and may or may not be the best indicator of value-for-content. Because of DPoS, even if 1,000 people love my content, if their Hive stake is teeny then it's not going to support me in the way a traditional subscription model would. You'd have to hope some larger accounts coordinated to take notice in a consistent manner—not that they don't for some folks, but it's not as consistent or reliable as some of the established mechanisms we've mentioned. Therefore, lower incentive for new creators to "give this way a shot."

I wonder if there's a middle ground between upvotes for "payment" and a DHF proposal.

DHF is a tough road for anyone without some solid Hive cred/connections to manage, from what I can tell. What's the threshold, like 35–40M votes? And unless you've proven that your bringing value to the chain I don't think a full DHF proposal is suited for content creators.

So the middle ground could be something like:

  • a group of trusted Hive veterans initiates a DHF proposal for "attracting creative talent." Let's call it 100K HBD over 1 year for illustrative purposes
  • the mandate of the group is to find or attract content creators from here in Hive or abroad. Proposal should outline % thereof
  • the group "signs" creators for certain periods of time, at agreed disbursement amounts. A popular (or promising new) photographer maybe gets 1,000 HBD/month for a few months
  • there are caveats: the creator has to produce a certain range of high quality posts. The creator has to engage with their audience. The creator must strive to share the Hive content outside of Hive. The content must be exclusive to Hive. etc etc.

It's an incubation program, I suppose. Not unlike what OCD does for communities, but focused more on individuals with the creative firepower to potentially put more eyeballs on Hive itself (thereby justifying the DHF spend).

Centralized-decentralized hybrid approach too.

I don't necessarily downvote I follow the downvoting trail of meesterboom because I know he likes flagging plagiarism and stuff like that.

Okay that's all about the downvoting 😂 im sliding back into my seat😂😂

I mainly only follow people on hive, other than hive I have no subscriptions to anything om web 2.0. Legitly none!

There are a few people I would miss if they happen to stop posting, I have been through it so it's safe to say I am missing a few oaks, soooo yeah.

*he likes flagging plagiarism and stuff like that.

It wont flag itself! :OD

I think it's early to pay for a subscription for now, but I will miss it if he stops writing on Hive, of course there are many authors and I wasn't thinking of sharing them here because you already know and follow them all. But I'll leave a few of my favorite authors here so that maybe other people can see them and follow them.

Gaming: @daltono @derangedvisions @pusen @straw
Food: @anggreklestari
Photography: @derangedvisions
General bloggers: @erikah @traciyork @macchiata @daltono @solominer @whangster79 @meesterboom @hiddenblade
Blockchain: @muratkbesiroglu @anadolu @emrebeyler @deathwing and @acidyo for sure :P

I definitely enjoy @jfuji with the great series, and a lot of the nature photography by both @papilloncharity , @corvidae and @tattoodjay . I also thoroughly enjoy each post I read by @dreemsteem and @samsmith1971 . There are many others who I click every time I see them in my feed too!

But honestly, I don't know if I could pay to consume :( ... I'm trying hard to build my portfolio, and still help others every so often.

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

Hey, thank you for the mention :) I say it all the time, but I'm glad you're enjoying the stories!

I am, and I can't wait for the next part 🙌

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@jfuji! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

I left my last girlfriend because she wouldn’t stop counting.
I wonder what she’s up to now.

Credit: reddit
@jfuji, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @wrestlingdesires

Rumor has it The LOLZ Project runs on !PIZZA
(3/6)

🖤🙏

I am currently advising a project, starting from Italy, that aims to create a Web3 Patreon, so I quite feel what you say and I totally agree! Inflation on Hive is a so easy way to support authors without the necessity to take something out from our own pockets.

I am also blogging (for professional exposure) on Medium, and I am going to speak about Hive there as well, trying to bring traffic from Medium to here. Medium has a bigger exposure than Hive but Hive is a more real community, made of "more real" people. That is why I am using them both: here to enjoy the community, have interactions with people and seeing a lot of different contents based on my specific interests. Medium has become quite much advertising and to grab attention too many titles are the copy-paste of some attention-trigger guides for article titles.

I have once received a tip of 1Hive here, for a technical article about Cannabis I wrote. I felt so grateful because I knew that this action was not a simple "Upvote --> 100%", that was still good: one person, decided to send 1Hive to my account as a way to thank me for the quality of the article.
I too feel quite strange when I post much informative and divulgative articles and I can barely reach the 1$ threshold.
So yes, I think that sometimes sending Hives or delegating some HP can be a great (and not free) way to support other authors, like millions of people are doing on Patreon and other pay-per-view platforms.

I would argue that we have already paid to consume all this content. Time is our most valuable asset and the form that most of the content is in requires us to be full engaged with our time and read a lot of it. One YouTube if it is mainly audio that I'm listening to I can put it on 1.5 or 1.75 chipmunk mode and do a few other things while I'm listening to it.

Also most of us that have been around have at some point powered up a considerable amount at some point which depending on the timing may or may not have made sense compared to other cryptos or other opportunities.

That being said what has been created here is pretty amazing and the premise that additional types of content and games can be added is huge.

Outside of that I personally have never paid for someone's Patreon and I'm not subscribed to OnlySimps girls or something.

Then comes the question if we have all bought into a club with our time and resources and my contribution is various content that I post here some of which this is the primary spot I posted it and other content I have posted it on YouTube and then am able to blow it out to HIVE, STEEM, and Blurt via DTube.

So we all have STATUS in this CLUB in our corner of the Internet. The entry fee has already been paid; some paid their Entry Fee / Cover with their time, some have paid with their looks, some have paid with their connections, some have paid with their money, some have paid with their knowledge.

The business model simply wasn't setup to have the same type of pay wall as we have seen with other platforms but we have paid for the content in my opinion.

Someone could make a case that a person without an account could swoop in and gain all this knowledge with ZERO value transfer to those contributing to this ecosystem.....

That is the main flaw in this system that other successful platforms have effectively closed off one way or another. The easiest way to cut off the leak is to have ads with revenue sharing so those who visit without an account are contributing to the ad revenue gained or the other way to partially force them into the ecosystem is it starts a timer and after 30 seconds gives an annoying thing that pops up and wants them to create an account for free. That way they are a captured lead if they want to engage in our community. If we capture some of the lost value then the ecosystem is more efficient in my opinion

If I think about it, there are content creators here on Hive that I would pay to continue reading their posts, they are bringing so much value and giving me very useful information also and above all for my personal growth.

As for the negative vote as well as constructive criticism, I'm not against it, sometimes taking it personally only leads to not understanding where we went wrong.
When I receive a criticism or, thinking of Hive, a negative vote, I stop to reflect on what I should have done better.

I think it's criticism that makes us grow and improve, compliments are nice and can help self-esteem but sensible and constructive criticism helps us develop and evolve and I think it's much better than a little more self-esteem.

Thanks for the great insights, great post!

I've looked for content here that I consume elsewhere, at least as far as videos go, but I don't see anyone making it here, which is one of the reasons sometimes I make it (see: Clean With Me and Study With Me videos, which I watch all the time on YT to motivate me to clean/study). I don't see anyone doing movie reactions, which I also watch a few different reactors on YT. I watch a lot of science and documentary content there, and sometimes mystery content, and again, I don't see anyone doing that here. I don't really read blogs anywhere else but here except for the odd article I get linked to every now and then.
Mostly here I see people participating in contests and talking about crypto or on-chain gaming, which is fine if that's what you're into but it's not what I'm into. So generally I upvote projects I like, people I like, stuff that obviously took effort, etc. So like, I upvote people's crafts and DIY and recipe blogs because I like them? But I don't seek them out anywhere else but here.

Hive has spoiled me. Here I get paid to consume content...

How many authors on Hive would you pay to consume their content?

At the moment? zero. If I would be rich I would maybe pay for a few. But all in all I would prefer to spend that money on sweets or basketball tickets.

I think Splinterlands has helped the price of the token, allowing for bloggers to get paid, whether people consumed their content or not and that we stand in contrast with a model where you are the product which has inherent value in today's age.

Besides, it takes a long time to see some measure of success with long form content blogging, so I have no hard time finding quality material among some more established content creators on PeakD. Also, I feel like some times things are too polished on a Tik Tok and it discourages me from making my own because it sets the bar too high. Hive is good for that, everything remains to be built.

Good question. At the moment, I can't think of any. The reason is that there is no shortage of content online whatsoever. Given the vast amount of content on the Internet, it is quite remarkable how tiny a percentage of content creators online create content I'd be willing to pay for. But perhaps that's just a testament to what a miserly bastard I am. :D

I'd call Web 2.0 a scam the likes of which are possible once in a century or more rarely: you set up a company to farm the collective labor of billions and rake in all the profits while paying your little worker bees precisely nothing. Some of the greatest fortunes in history were made using this model.

Hive is at its infancy. The number of Hive users is very small, which is why the rewards per capita are still out of this world. Discontinuing them would be a stupid move, however, because the author rewards are also a stake distribution mechanism the purpose of which is to make the DPoS consensus mechanism as robust as possible.

I'd certainly miss some if they stopped posting but that's mainly because I know them.

There are a few people here on Hive that I would not mind paying to view their content despite my meagre stake. We are so used to the freemium model that anything that's not free feels undesirable to us.

A subscription model or paywall could forster more quality knowledge from the creator and on the other hand, the consumer might take the content seriously since he/she is paying for it.

This is just my two cents but I think a subscription model would unlock a new level of growth for the ecosystem. Not an explosive growth but a growth in terms of 'depth/maturity'.

This is really a question of truly valuing what we can get from peoples content, and just like most web 2.0 platforms operated for some premium package from the author, that could probably work on some authors here on hive, but exclusive packages are something I may not be able to. I ll have to have a taste of what you can offer before I can subscribe at least. I love music from @mipiano, although its been a while, I also love how @fernanblog rocks his guitar.. and a lot of other people. If they had some premium content I could pay to come watch them. But not to deprive us of the sweet benefits of eating even if it be the crumbs.

To be fair honest, I don't remember when was the last time I paid for a subscription whether Netflix, Spotify etc for me these are luxuries I can't afford and are available on internet for free.

Sure, there are plenty of Great Authors I have always enjoyed reading and learnt new things like from taskmaster, trumpman, meesterboom are amazing...will buy em for sure.

@ tarazkp, So far, he's the only one at 100%.
!ALIVE

@acidyo! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @stdd. (9/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

I personally have never been a fan of subscription models for some reasons, first its expensive for me in this part of the world, especially as I already have some subscriptions I can't do without; adding others for entertainment or fun should really be worth it to convert every bit of naira I have to dollars to pay for them.

This brings me back to @acidyo's question, how many authors on Hive would I be willing to pay to consume their content? I may be willing to pay for the content of @josediccus, @taskmaster4450 and @geekgirl, as they produce high-quality and intelligent content. However, I would rather pay collectively, than on an individual basis. However, it would take more than just quality content to convince me to pay for a subscription. A clear value proposition, exclusive benefits for subscribers, and a strong community around the content would also be important factors in my decision to pay for access to content.

Like you said, earning from inflation has eaten into our minds that we've limited ourselves. I would say that has an impact on the value of contents on Hive, the fact that the rewards you get may not directly reflect the value of your content makes it even harder for people to strive for more quality pieces.

The market for such content isn't just here on Hive at the moment and paying top authors for promotion may not be profitable as well.

Occasionally I use the tipping function of peakd in case I saw an excellent and underrated post too late. But true, it´s rather rare.
Probably I would not pay for any content, but I never pay for content outside of Hive either. I would then miss something for sure, but the problem of our society (and mine) is anyway the excess of information, the overflow, not the lack of it!

The hive communities have been trained to produce and vote up bare minimum thin content and relationships determine who get the rewards not quality. It’s not as bad as steem where a stolen graph and buzzword bingo fill in the blank template would make $1,000 but still severely gamed.

I spend around $80/mo on Patreon but I can’t think of any authors on hive I’d back in that way.

It's probably due to lack of competition rather than just the flaws with dpos voting. Communities should help with that long term.

I hope so.

One thing that I’ve thought might improve the overall quality of content here would be long term rewards rather than capped at a week.

Another could be advertising with revenue share.

Most definitely, I brought this up in a post I made a couple weeks ago where I discuss adrevenue. Not many put in the effort knowing there's a possible cap that they can't surpass, not many think of the long term rewards and potential stake can give you.

the only time i have tipped/gifted is on a post that is gathering funds for something.. like a relief fund after a tsunami or like donating to something..

i'm pretty sure that if I had to straight up pay for any hiver's content, i would just skip it and i can't think of any i would 'subscribe' to, that's not very hive like IMHO..

I'm willing to pay for a rare post. But I'm willing to pay for 90% of the comments on my posts.

your post made me think of other options. I am about to go back to my blog. will put the same efforts into my blog and try to generate more income from advertising and sponsorships.

Just one: @edicted

Questioning the question.

How many authors on a specific topic. Or of a particular nature. Or maybe of current events and crypto. Add to that of what standard and regularity the posts come out. Daily should be a goal. (not from every creator, but for each topic represented.

Some genre of topic can start with a weekly post to gauge interest.
How much would be paid to read a magazine or newspaper type thing, Provided from content of Hive Blockchain creators.

Example, The daily wire podcast media thing. They cannot provide the content needed alone. Content from many is needed to build what is needed or wanted.

I have a second question.
Could you make a closed system. Where accounts made to a specific site become accounts owned by that company? Use of the posting and active key are given for daily use. Permission of use can be removed by the company at their digression.

This would be on a second layer maybe. A company providing loyalty rewards or similar.

You could technically yes, there's this thing called posting/active authority that could potentially be used for this or even more "web2" just have people sign up with email+pw to your front-end, which could be resettable and recoverable like the old ways and the "company" is the only one holding the keys, but of course if things go sideways all users could be effected in a breach/hack.

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@wrestlingdesires(6/15) tipped @jfuji (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!


~~~ embed:1614708017148092417 twitter metadata:MTY0MDA1NDkzfHxodHRwczovL3R3aXR0ZXIuY29tLzE2NDAwNTQ5My9zdGF0dXMvMTYxNDcwODAxNzE0ODA5MjQxN3w= ~~~
~~~ embed:1614972104134348805 twitter metadata:MTg4NDc3MTkxMnx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS8xODg0NzcxOTEyL3N0YXR1cy8xNjE0OTcyMTA0MTM0MzQ4ODA1fA== ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @zullyscott, @yolimarag, @shiftrox ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @acidyo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - January 15, 2023
HiveBuzz supports meetups of the Hive Austrian Community in Graz
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!