Our universal currency

in OCD4 years ago

How much would you pay to have a kiss from a lover you no longer have around now? How much of your savings would you give to have them back? How much is it for a hug from someone who died and you wish you would feel their heart beating next to yours for a last time? How much for a gentle caress on your cheek from a parent you lost or never felt you had around as a child?

We are taught early in life that we ought to work to get a job which gives us money and we think that this is the most valuable currency of them all. We can dedicate years from our lives to pile up stash after stash, fiat or crypto or whatever it shall be. And we cling onto it: our precious. Is this the most valuable currency? I thought about this during one of my walks in nature. Instead of all of the currencies that people have worldwide, couldn't we use to think about something better? Are we missing something, maybe an universal currency we have under our nose all the time? I think that our ability to use time is the greatest currency we have. We never had, have or will have more time. We never did. We don't own the time, we just make good sense out of it because of our ability to put it to good use. We all have 24 hours, but some will slack, some will work, some will dream, some will act upon it. Either way, we look at the present time as if we hold the future in our hands forever. We are trapped by the past thinking about what we could have done different, imagine a future which might never come and miss the gold sitting in our front yard: NOW.

IMG_20200904_163402.jpg

The price we pay when we actually think that we're winning is a lost opportunity of change. When people become trapped in their wheel of fortune, feelings, power, regret, love, despair, hope, they lose the precious coins for a false currency of the future. A promise that was inoculated to most of people since birth: running towards anything in hopes it will bring the best. The best of what? What good is it to own a fortune but miss the childhood of your kids along the way? What good is it to drown yourself in streams of income if there is no family to share it with? What good is it to linger about the past when you're missing the opportunities in the present? Why run as if you can't walk? Why choose the same vision the majority has when it's obvious it leads them all to being blind to their own bleeding?

IMG_20200907_072128.jpg

Having a great vision and working for your dreams is amazing. As long as you're not turning into a hamster running on the past-future wheel for far too long. The one who dwells too much in the past remains trapped by the ghost of regret and fear "what if I would had done this".The one who dwells too much in the future become oblivious to what happens now and misses great opportunities, being haunted by the ghost of "will I ever do/find/achieve/love/forgive/forget/win/change etc." Both currencies seem promicing and occupy a lot of space inside one's head and are true time thieves. The one who lives in the present looks at it all and no ghosts are visiting because he or she is too busy thinking "what am I going to do about this now?". Opportunities don't visit the dead (past) or the imaginary (future). They visit the living (now). We should ask ourselves and others not how rich, pretty, perfect, loved, caring, smart, sexy, healthy we are, but HOW ALIVE we trully are while we're still living.

This is an article from my personal blog https://maryhasnolamb.wordpress.com/2020/08/30/our-universal-currency/

MY SOCIAL MEDIA.
My etsy shop: https://www.etsy.com/shop/CreativeMaryT
My merch shop: https://teespring.com/stores/creativemaryt
My twitch channel:


My fiverr:https://www.fiverr.com/maryiscreative
My t-shirt facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/zatelier2020/
My t-shirt instagram page: https://www.instagram.com/zatelier2020/
My facebook with my art: https://www.facebook.com/mariaterezabarnea
My instagram with my art: https://www.instagram.com/barneatereza/?hl=en
MY ASMR CHANNEL: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCOsgu6zI5Z1Z39YZFVmEYUg
MY HANDMADE CHANNEL: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiL2v85haDPzEfMSAM8pJ2w
MY PAINTING AND NAIL ART CHANNEL: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC8OHdZWy8i-vWlmbuFmBLpQ
My personal blog: https://maryhasnolamb.wordpress.com/
My podcast: https://soundcloud.com/user-535456754
My spotify:

My patreon with drawing and facepainting: https://www.patreon.com/mariamary90
My photography
https://500px.com/mariaterezaphotography

If you want to support me and show appreciation for the work that I do I accept donations here: https://www.paypal.me/CreativeMariaTereza
or through my paypal direct e-mail adress [email protected]. Thank you!

Sort:  

Zombie town is the name of the place we live in. Dead walkers are all around us.

Hey Mamali! I can understand what you're saying, I often feel like I'm an alien amongst other people who seem /pretend to be alive, in a metaphorical sense.
Thank you for making time to read me, have a lovely week!

Tell me about it! have you watched the bird box?

No, I googled it now.

You should watch it. It taught me many things. :)

image.png

Thank you for the recommandation!

You're welcome! :)

You're right. People walk without a direction. However this is not the whole story: as long as people are not aware of our reality, we all go down; at least this is how i see it.
What can we do about it? What do you think?

The only thing I know, is to mind my own business. And hopefully, people would learn by watching what I do because telling them what to do is not going to work that much. :)

You're right: telling people what to do doesn't work. People don't like to receive orders.
What's your opinion about time? Do you believe we have all the time in the world, to overcome our challenge?

I don't think we are here to solve all the problems. I mean as long as I can carry myself forward and be able to influence others with my actions, that should do it for me personally. :)

You're right: we can't solve all the problems. Do you think this stop us from being more effective?

I don't think so! We are not perfect, but we can make progress. :) <3

I don't think many of us are alive, we're just going through the motions, either battling to stay above water, or battling our own demons and keeping up with consumerism. It's tough when there's so much poverty, we only focus on the poverty we can identify but we don't see the leveraged poverty of the middle class, stressed out on debt.

Time is the most finite resource for any individual, yet we squander it each day

Hey! You are correctly appreciating the mentality of the majority as well as the impairments which come from different environments. It takes much greater courage now than ever to stand tall and brave to defend your dreams. In this gregarious society the herd can easily get you off your course. The power to be alive means to have the courage to look like an odd man out, when in fact you are the normal living between oddities. Many successful individuals were treated with a lot of hatred and rejection because they dared to think and act differently. They made history. The herd did not.

Have a gorgeous week!

I think collectivism has been an old survival skill from the lizard brain so we know we are safer in groups, but unless one venture out to find food the group starves so its not a set rule. We need to learn to stop thinking everything is one way or the other and be as nature intended to be dynamic and adapt to situations we've become so rigid in our ways

Rigidity. That is never good. Trying and repeatedly failing in becoming flexible in our way of thinking is the best way of sticking to what we are destined for. I guess that if you're going on the same old beaten path, you'll end up with the same old beaten results

!ENGAGE 10

Absolutely, it's tough because we all like to stay in our comfort zone and I do try to push myself out of it, also why I am so attracted to the blockchain space, I see so many people trying something new and there will be a lot of failures but I rather fail at something new then continue with something I know is a failure

Failure isn't bad, it's a sign to keep trying. It is better to fail than to never had tried.

But we're taught in school failing is bad, failing is the worst so you carry that with you from a child to an adult, eventually, you never want to take "risk" and play it "safe" only to fail in other ways.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Interesting subject.

  • People run in the wrong direction, because from the moment we're born, we're hijacked to fake goals.
  • The education system does a great job at programing us to chase money. etc.

What do you think?

Congratulations @creativemary! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports meetups of the Hive UK Community
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day