How Impactful is Your Content? Do You Stand Out?

in OCD3 years ago

3E1FA8F1-BB8F-42EF-BD84-315F0E973D2B.jpeg

Impactful. Leaving a lasting mark or impression. Inspiring change and positivity. Encouraging improvement and growth. Unforgettable.

These are the first things that come to mind when I hear the word impact.

How does your content effect your readers?

Does it make them dig deeper? Does it challenge them to be a better person? Does it answer important questions? Does it erase doubts? Does it teach them something treasurable?

These are valuable things to think about when creating your content.

Being impactful is writing for the benefit of others and not just for your personal gain. When your purpose for writing surrounds care and concern for others the impact comes automatically because your readers can feel it.

I do write for my enjoyment. It is a pleasurable freeing time that I look forward to having. However, it doesn’t stop there because I also keep my readers in mind.

I ask myself this question,

How can I write about my own life experiences and lessons in a way that will bless my readers?

For me it starts from the beginning all the way to the end:

• an intriguing thumbnail and title to help bring on curiosity of what’s inside
• a storyline to easily follow
• relevant photos throughout that help set the mood and atmosphere of the topic
• using detailed words of expression that clearly shows my emotions/feelings
• creating unique ways for my readers and I to connect
• sharing a beneficial learned lesson
• adding teachable moments for enlightenment
• concluding the post with a final wrap up summary and explanation for further clarity

I want to have a positive influence here and I can achieve this through the content I share.

I gather up the things I have learned (from here and the real world) and share them in a way as if my readers were right there with me. I’ve always been one for details so that’s what I focus on including. I want my readers to be able to picture and imagine what I’m saying as this tends to help with better understanding a situation.

When sharing insightful content I try to aim to make it worth my reader’s time and attention. If I don’t feel it meets these standards then the post never gets published. I want to share at least one valuable take away from the content I write.

A good way to determine if your content is impactful is by the amount of engagement it brings.

Are your posts good conversation starters? Do your readers respond to the questions you ask?

It’s always a rewarding moment to see how much arousement your content has stirred up. When that feedback and interaction starts coming in that’s when you know people are interested in what you’re talking about. This is one of the reasons why I always thank people for their comments as it’s a confirmation my work made an impact on someone.

Stand Out!

5E4B84D5-B99B-4877-9A5F-2C71D552582C.jpeg

One of the best ways to bring forth impactful content is to stand out!

I’m going to admit something to you. When I first started out blogging here, I would scroll through the trending page to study the content. I wanted to know what a trending post looked like and what topics they consisted of.

I tried similar things, mainly the topic choice to see if I too could have an impact in the way these posts did. I quickly found out it wasn’t the best choice (for me).

It just wasn’t me, I had to find my own style and niche.

When I wrote it didn’t flow. I didn’t have a natural love and interest for the topics I posted about or even a little of my own knowledge. I had to research and look up things to even know what I was talking about.

If I’m uncomfortable or unconfident in what I write about then my readers will feel the exact same things and be turned off by it. They will leave my post in seconds. This is not the type of blog I wanted for myself.

It took some time but eventually I started developing my own personal touch and found the things I preferred. For instance the way I formatted my photos with titles included, the topics I loved and were knowledgeable about, adding in what I wanted my readers to enjoy ie. transparency in a funny way when sharing down to earth truths, the flow of my posts amongst many other things.

The moral of this is:

If I’m excited about it, most likely the readers of like-interest will be too!


I only write about what I’m passionate about. It’s not forced and comes out more clearly since I am comfortable and confident about it. Sometimes I wish I could shut up and stop writing but my passion takes the wheel :D

I always make a personal challenge for myself and that is doing what is rarely done. Shining amongst the crowd by putting a lot of effort into what I publish. Even if it means being the odd ball at times, I’ll take it.

The way your readers experience you is how you stand out from the crowd. If you have left a lasting impression on them your name is sure to come up in their conversations leading others to find out about you.

The way your readers feel after reading your content will stay with them for a long time. Even if they forget exactly what the content was about, they will remember if their experience of you was positive or negative.

How do your readers feel after leaving your posts? Do they feel encouraged, empowered, appreciative, educated, anew, transformed, hopeful or delighted?

Do they feel it was worth their time or do they walk away the same as they came?

Shine Bright!

86987393-0D5F-45EC-A012-F5ADB1C45237.jpeg

There are many amongst us who shine bright and consistently give us content we look forward to reading.

While scrolling through your feeds or reading comments you might see a name that makes you smile. Or you might even intentionally search for a certain Hiver to see if they have published anything new.

This is all because that Hiver gave you a reason to remember them. You expect that whatever you read from that Hiver will be satisfying and enjoyable.

Wouldn’t you like to have that same impact on someone else? In what ways can you benefit your readers?

Content readers are hoping to read something that moves and inspires them. Does your content hit that mark?

There is plenty of room for shining. You just can’t be afraid to do so.

You know the value you bring, you just have to find unique ways to show it.

Adding your personal spin, allowing your personality to show and sharing your passion in an unforgettable way will help you shine bright!

Are You Ready to Take Your Place Amongst the Stars and Shine? In What Ways Will You Accomplish This?


All photos are my own and were taken with our Cannon EOS Rebel T6.


Ready, Set, Impact!


Similar posts you may enjoy:

Should We Only Post About Our Happy Moments?

How My Posts Are Born

So What’s The Criteria For A Quality Post? - How Curators Make Their Selections...

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

When sharing insightful content I try to aim to make it worth my reader’s time and attention. If I don’t feel it meets these standards then the post never gets published. I want to share at least one valuable take away from the content I write.

This is so me! My Google Keep has a lot of unpublished posts in varying levels of "doneness". There's this one time when I'm done with the post and all I have to do is hit that publish button, but I hesitated so wrote something else from scratch. I ended up publishing at 4 AM, but it was worth it because I was satisfied. The other post was set aside and was never published.

I have been in this space for almost 4 years already, but I still find it hard to choose the next topic that would stand out. It's always a constant struggle to at least maintain the level of the previous post.

Those who felt they have lost support are those who maintained the status quo of their posts. It became a pattern and a template. It became boring. Standing out is not easy because it takes effort and some just became entitled that they stop evolving their content.

For me, I will still work hard for my content that every single time I hit that publish button, I know I did my best and I am satisfied with the post.

 3 years ago  

Whoa that's cool to hear you are familiar with that too. There was a point when I had several posts in draft mode unpublished and untouched for months. Sometimes I can really be feeling a topic and am excited to share about it but then I struggle to finish it. I do go back and finish some of them when I'm feeling it again but most never get published.

It's always a constant struggle to at least maintain the level of the previous post.

This 👆🏽! I’m right there with you. It’s almost like a game I play in my head where I HAVE to do more or better then the previous post. But in reality I know that’s not always gonna happen. I think it’s good that we shoot for that goal but it’s also healthy admitting it’s okay if it doesn’t happen. As long as it’s content we are satisfied with and proud of and we know it could be valuable and enjoyable for others…that’s what matters most. 😉

I have noticed that before with some of the writers back then. It does take A LOT of effort and people do get burnt out too.

I believe you too. You are a wonderful content creator and curator and I have no doubts you will continue putting your best efforts forward.

I’m not sure how long I will be able to hold up to do this but as long as I’m here I will always put forth my best too.

I always love your visits, thank you ~

 3 years ago  

I can imagine doing this for a long time than working in the industry. I enjoy doing what I've been doing so it's not too much of a burden for me. I do get burn out too, but it can be fixed with a few days of vacation. Good thing I won't get broke in doing so. So it's still much better than being in the toxic corporate world.

 3 years ago  

If I had to work for a living I would definitely choose this route over working in the industry too. I’m so thankful I am able to stay home and raise my children and don’t have to worry about working for anyone again. It’s so different from person to person, some need this platform to help ends meet and others like me are just here enjoying it as a hobby.

I’m really happy for you that you are able to make a living doing what you love to do. Yes, make sure you step away for vacay when needed. 😉

Saludos, me parece impresionante la forma en la que te expresas a tus lectores, en como compartes contenido tan provechoso como este y sinceramente me logras inspirar y motivar a poder generar ese impacto que aun me cuesta con cada uno de mis post pero se que podre lograrlo.

 3 years ago  

Wow what a sweet and generous comment. Thank you very much for such nice compliments. It means a lot to me to inspire and encourage others to bring out their best. I’m so glad you’re motivated and believe in yourself that you can be impactful! That’s awesome!

I hope you reach all your goals ~

'name that makes you smile'

Like you have rightly said, there are just a number of people i smile each time their names and post pops up.
This is a great piece for me, am not much of a writer but a deeply appreciate writers and contents like this that keeps my eyes fixed to the screen.

This is huge and a stepping stone to learn how to make quality content.

 3 years ago  

Wow thank you @monica-ene! That's huge knowing your eyes were fixed to the screen when reading this. I truly appreciate your feedback and am so grateful. ☺️

I am so glad you stopped by to read and saw some value in my writing ~ ❤️

Its worth reading over and over again.
I have even shared the link to newbies and people outside of hive who are willing to learn how to be a good content creator.

 3 years ago  

That’s really awesome! It’s greatly appreciated. Thanks again ~ ❤️

I love this. And aim to present impactful, compelling content every time I post. I've written about this topic often in the few months I've been here, and I'm thrilled to see someone like you doing the same. Love and blessings! 🙏

 3 years ago  

Thanks @ryzeonline! I’ve always been a teacher at heart and being here for five years I have learned plenty enough to share. I believe one of my main purposes here is to inspire and encourage others and I feel I’m in my zone when doing that :)

Your content has definitely been impactful ~

You clearly are a great one, in the zone whether it's educating your kids or educating all us Hivers. I've huge respect for you and your impact! Love and blessings! 🙏

 3 years ago  

So grateful and thankful! ☺️😊

Your kind words go a long way ~

Totally mutual! And as do yours! 🙏

Thank you so much for this post! I gained very helpful insights yayyyy😍😘

 3 years ago  

It's always a pleasure! 😉

I am so glad knowing this post was helpful to you. Thank you so much ~

Hello, I am new to the community and attempting to learn as much as I can. I have started commenting and up-voting but I’m a little hesitant to start posting. Your post has radically helped me move in that direction. It helps me to have some direction and gives me things to look out for in order to create quality content.

Thanks much for the time you put into this. Appreciate it.

Huge warm welcome to the community, @crosheille is a light in the community and has listed some fantastic info in her post, so you're in good hands here. Also, I'm looking forward to your first post! 🙏

(P.S. thanks for the tip on my Hive guide, you rock!)

 3 years ago  

Thanks so much @ryzeonline I really appreciate that :)

What a coinkidink. I just upvoted her latest post shortly before you mentioned her. I'll definitely take your suggestion and look deeper into her content.

I'm stoked to learn this game and see what it's all about.

Thanks for such an awesomely warm welcome, I really appreciate it. I think I'm going to like it here.

(P.S. you're so welcome, it's the least I could do for the obvious time and energy you spent on such a helpful post.)

We're stoked that you're stoked! I've been here three months and am really enjoying it, I hope you do too. (And thanks for noticing my efforts, I write what I believe to be some high-quality content, and I deeply appreciate when someone clearly values it.)

Wishing you a great day! 🙏

 3 years ago  

Hi @bdubwim! Welcome to the Hive family!

Thank you for reading my post and leaving your helpful feedback. I'm glad I could help steer you in the right direction for starting your blog. A great place to start would be an introduction post! You can search the #introducemyself and #introduceyourself tags to get some ideas on how it's done. The most preferable way is proof of identity by holding up a piece of paper with your Hive handle and date.

There’s been so much identify fraud, scams and plagiarism going on that most people who have been here are very cautious of who they support. Starting off on good terms makes it easier for you to build trust which leads to support :)

I wish you well on your journey here ~ 😊

Thanks for being so welcoming. So far really everyone I have interacted with has been warm and pleasant, I’m really grateful to have the opportunity to be a part of such a friendly community.

I have been working on an introduction. I have wrote a good bit but it still feels like there is something missing as well as some corrections that need to be made. I wasn’t aware of the photo with my hive name so thanks for pointing that out.

Oh no that’s scary stuff. It’s smart that they are cautionary. Can’t be too careful.

I appreciate you again and look forward to interacting in the future.

 3 years ago  

For sure ;)

I'm glad everyone has been welcoming towards you. I hope you keep running into those types of Hivizens.

It's no problem at all. Glad I could mention something you didn't know and that could help.

I'll see you around, take care ~

Splendid, find your own voice, your own style, find your own niche.
I find it is impossible for me to write content which is trending, but I write like me, I write my heart out, I tell a story and I try to make a lesson of it.
While I may not be trending or even close to it, I know I am working on it and each post I write is getting me closer to my goal.
Thanks for sharing this post, just what I needed today.

 3 years ago  

That's great that you write from your heart telling a story and making a lesson of it. Those are the things I always shoot for.

Thanks so much for your comment, I'm glad I could help in some way. Keep reaching for your goals! 😉

Thank you so much. ♥️

 3 years ago  

Absolutely. 😘

Leyendo tus palabras me da mucho en que pensar, creo que plataformas como estas nos hacen crecer como personas, en el sentido de que nos hace querer mejorar cada día. Yo relativamente soy muy nueva en la plataforma, pero me pasa que cada vez que entro voy a buscar a esas personas que me inspiran, y espero algun día ser de las que inspiran. Excelente post. Feliz día.

 3 years ago  

I completely agree. I had no idea how much I’d be inspired to try different things by being here. Learning from others has definitely motivated me to improve on so much :)

I thank you for stopping by to read and leaving a comment. I wish you well on your journey here and I’m sure because you desire it, you too will inspire others :)

Wow to make an impact, to take the reader into consideration, to be yourself, to shine with your own light. When we write a post, we are not only writing for ourselves, but also for those who read it, and at that moment the reader is the focal point, what really matters.

I think I'm still looking for my niche, although I already have one in the #needleworkmonday community, but I have other passions that I would like to develop more fluently.

Your post left me with good recommendations to write with more passion.... for my readers. Thanks

 3 years ago  

Hey @tibaire thanks so much for reading.

Yes, you put it well when you said at that moment the reader is the focal point. 😉

I’m glad I was able to encourage you to write with more passion with your readers in mind. I really appreciate this feedback, thank you ~

This reflection is incredible and I feel identified. I think that over time I realized what are the topics that I like to write and I put together my posts so easily that I enjoy all the process. At first it can be difficult to find our preferred niche, but the important thing is to find it at some point and create content that everyone likes 😃.

 3 years ago  

Thanks @lauramica! It took me time too but as you stated once you know them your posts come much easier. When you don’t struggle about what or how to write it the process is much more enjoyable. 😊

Thanks so much for your input ~

These are wonderful tips. I agree totally that you should write with your readers. I try to spread positivity through my posts. As a father of an autistic son, I tried to share my experiences and challenges in such a way that it will inspire others.

 3 years ago  

I think it is wonderful that you share your parenting experiences and challenges with your readers. I'm sure it's also been relieving/therapeutic for you as you share?.

Thank you for your positive feedback. I'm glad you thought the tips were wonderful ~

Helpful, me being a very ordinary content creator your tips will help me in a long way.

 3 years ago  

I am so happy to hear that. Thanks so much for visiting and leaving your feedback. It’s greatly appreciated :)

True, great writing is a combination of many things done together in harmony. And indeed something like intent of the author does lurks in the parts somewhere and provide it the realness, the originality. The force that makes some words, some sentences pierce through us. They come abruptly, out of emotion.

Writing is hard and continuously churning out content above a certain bar is harder. We also need to realise that not every post might fly and and not everyday will be sunny. But still to keep writing is the secret to be a write better.

Thanks for sharing
Best Wishes

 3 years ago  

Thanks for this response @shubhwaj.

I agree that every post might not fly (I’m a witness to that and have experienced it often). But as you said keep writing and that’s how we become better writers. This is the reason I’m still here. There were several times I thought about giving up when I first started out but I didn’t. Staying consistent through the ups and downs is what’s key. If we give up we may never see any of our goals achieved.

You’re right, it is hard to keep reaching for a higher bar but it’s definitely not impossible and I encourage everyone to shoot for that bar no matter how hard it may seem.

My simple advice to anyone is this…if you want to do it believe that you can and get to work ~

Thanks again for stopping by :)

You have said it very wonderfully the importance of keep moving forward. Being better is definitely what we should aim for.

And I’m glad you didn’t give up. And you’re here with people appreciating and admiring you and your work. An inspiration indeed. Here also have some !PIZZA :)

Keep hiving & showering love.

 3 years ago  

Thanks so much. I am so grateful to still be here sharing some love. I am also very grateful for people like you for taking the time to read what I have to say and responding thoughtfully and thoroughly :)

Thanks for the pizza ~

Connect

Trade


@crosheille! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @shubhwaj.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (2/10)

Sometimes the title of a blog attracts and it turns out that when reading there is no relation to it, leaving your mark and style is what will make the difference between the various options available. Greetings!

 3 years ago  

leaving your mark and style is what will make the difference between the various options available

This exactly! Thanks for adding to the topic. 🙂

Hey. It's nice to see these kind of contents. I've been trying to improve my content writing skill a lot. This is a great content.

 3 years ago  

Thank you :)

That's great that you are working to improve your content and writing skills. The more effort you put towards it the better your outcome will be ;)

Thanks for reading! I wish you well ~

My content I think is pretty well valued in the community, I usually post daily but I always try to bring content that is glorious to read.

 3 years ago  

That's great to hear! I see you do really well with your gaming content ;)

As a blogger, the first thing that comes to.mind if you may have to attraction attention is impact. If your content is impact-driven then you are rest assured to have readers flocking your blog, always.

One should not be to greedy with expression. Dishing out your statement according to modern application and with focus on answering cogent questions or asking valid questions is what your content must carry.

 3 years ago  

Thanks for sharing your input @mrenglish :)

Congratulations @crosheille! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 11000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Great work buddy 🤘🤘👌👌