G-dog gets hive mail

in OCD4 years ago

I arrived home to two surprises today, both of which were welcome ones! The first I'll talk about in a separate post but the second I'm happy to share now...src

A couple months ago @hivelander, the immortal mannequin of hive, started a concept that was so interesting I decided to get on board. He called it the HiveStamp Project in which he created a user-specific Hive Blockchain stamp, affixed it to a post card and sent it to whomever threw their hand up and asked for one; I was one such person.

Why did I do this? Well because firstly it's a cool idea and secondly because I like to support people doing cool community-oriented things. There was a tertiary reason also which was more simplistic; Plain old curiosity.

I sent a mailing address to @hivelander and within a day or so my postcard had begun it's journey from Switzerland all the way to Australia. You can read his original post here if you like.

What is also very cool is that the postcard isn't any old run-of-the-mill postcards; It's a special one. I've taken a couple of images of it which you can see below. Not only does it have a legit stamp on it, a G-dog stamp, but it has a QR code which links to hive so anyone who happens to see the postcard can scan the QR code and who knows...Maybe we pick up a new user. Come on...That's kinda cool right? Imagine these things all over the place? It might help pick up some new users and would certainly attract some attention.

You can see the exact route my postcard took from @hivelander's home country of Switzerland on the left below.

It went down, then right, did a loop, went up then down and right, then down and left, did another loop and went to the left and then right...That's the exact way to get to Australia from Switzerland you know.

I only wrote to @hivelander the other day letting him know the postcard hadn't arrived and I blamed COVID-19 as it's the excuse for everything, but only days later here it is! It takes a while to get to Australia but once here it's a blast! Trust me.

So yeah @hivelander...It made it!

@hivelander has sent out several other HiveStamp postcards since he sent mine and I believe there's a few other users on the list to get one also.

This simple, but interesting and fun, concept is exactly what we need here on the blockchain...Interaction on a person to person level...Even if that person is a mannequin. This community-based project is a great way for people to connect, to have a laugh and to expose the blockchain a little more don't you think?

If you haven't checked out @hivelander's posts yet go and take a look, see what he's up to and engage a little...Who knows, you might be next to get a HiveStamp!

Want a HiveStamp?

Contact @hivelander on Discord - hivelander #9828 - or send your postal address to: [email protected]

Thanks for taking the time and making the effort to put this together @hivelander...It's a cool, somewhat innovative, concept and it was fun to be a part of it.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well
Discord: galenkp#9209

Sort:  

I've always thought mixing digital and real actions is probably the best way to offer experiences. We are so focused in digital, sometimes we forget about real, and mixing them together makes us realize how great both worlds are.

I agree with you...It's great to mix them together which is what I try to do. I say I'm analogue, not digital but in truth I'm a mixture...I lean towards analogue but am proficient in the other.

!ENGAGE 30

Everyone, even those against technology are a mixture as both worlds have started to blur. We all, (especially older ones) feel much comfortable in the analog one. Maybe we do not "feel" digital in some areas but none of us use paper maps anymore since all smartphones have mapping directions and even when using them, sometimes we still keep asking for a good place for a meal to a local when we go to a new place for the weekend as "human" recommendation feels more real than "digital" one.

Food is definitive analog to me!! 😄

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Hi!
I received your email... I will send your HIVE stamp soon ;-)

Hugs
Hivelander

Awesome!
Thank you!

Hello dear friend @galenkp good afternoon
What a pleasant surprise, you were also one of the first on the list of our friend @hivelander to send a postcard.
It has been a while since then, as my mother used to say, the wait is forgotten, the good things received last forever.
You are very right, this type of contact does our social network very well, the differences between social networks will be made by people
have a wonderful afternoon

It's a great concept and I hope a lot of people pick up on it and get involved!

I hope you're well. Have a good weekend.

!ENGAGE 25

I think that little by little people are getting involved with everything that has to do with commitment dear friend @galenkp
There are various challenges and challenges that promote it.
Also for you, have a wonderful weekend

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Oh yeah!!! I'm glad we were able to do this HIVE stamp thing!!!

I already sent 5 personalized stamps, and nothing can stop me now ;-)

Next week I will send other 3 or more postcards... I'm having a lot of fun doing this :-)

Thanks for mentioning The HiveStamp Project :-)

Big hug from Switzerland
Hivelander The Immortal Mannequin

Yep, it got here despite the circuitous route! Great project and concept. I hope more pick up on it.

!ENGAGE 30

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

This is just amazing. I want, I want!!! jumping around

Lol...

Go to @hivelander's posts and let him know. He'll be happy to oblige.

Hey... I will send your personalized stamp in the next days :-)
You are on the list ;-)

Now this is a really neat concept I can get behind, and pretty fun, too! It must be flattering to have your face on a stamp. That happens only to the most privileged and honoured people in the world. You're officially one step closer in the heirarchy to the Queen of England 👑

Posted using Dapplr

Lol...Yeah, the Queen is old news mate...Wait until they get a load of the G-dog!

If Australia ever gets full independence, I hereby crown you;

Galen I, King of the Australians, Conqueror of The Kangaroos, Friend of Koalas, and Great Terror of Emus.

Lol...And I'd be commandeering all the Lego...And chopping a few heads off!

Jeez, we haven't even crowned you yet, and you're already a tyrant! No Oreos for you... bad King! No go to the naughty corner and think about what you've just done.

Lol...

King G-dog slinks over to the naughty corner and stands quietly contemplating the error of his tyrannical ways.

Haha, imagine if this is the way we dealt with tyrants in the real world. Oh, murdered a few protestors... Naughty Corner. Burnt an entire rebel village... Naughty Corner. Executed political opponents... Naughty Corner. Honestly though, I think Hitler's going to get used to the naughty corner treatment quite a lot, without Schnapps this time.

Oooooo this is so so cool! Love it! Aww wouldn't it be great for us Hiveians to send/receive letters from each other? Or short funny postcards? So cool, I smile smile now😁😁

I think it's a very cool idea for sure.

Back a while I did a post announcing I'd send Vegemite out around the world to whomever asked. I ended up sending a package each to England, Germany, Romania and two to America. They contained some Vegemite and some other Australian stuff for people to try. It was cool...But very expensive. Cost me about $250AUD...But I had fun as did those who received a package.

I think the community is great and more stuff can be done to keep it engaged. That's why I do the #weekend-engagement post and why @hivelander does the HiveStamp thing...The more of this sort of thing the better.

P.s. https://vegemite.com.au/

You were witty enough to send the link ahahha. Vegemite. I watched it. Omg hilarious clip. So it's a spice, niice.

I think it's great to be able to get some meaningful connections outside the virtual platform.
I can imagine it got expensive, you are quite far away. But I'm sure you made a lot of people happy, it was a kind gesture. Very Vegemite hahha

It's a spread. I have it on buttered toast almost daily and have done for as long as I can remember, but it has thousands of other uses. It is quintessentially Australian.

Oh I see, the trademark of Australia. Here in Romania we have sarmale. It is a national dish. Rice with pork meat and spices, wrapped in cabbage leaf and slowly boiled down. Pickled sour cabbage. They are eaten with sour cream and polenta

f4ce5cf502eef87b1c2f8f3b8ccf3c21.jpg

Sounds legit.

Ah they are so good, I think you would love them!

Wow. What a cool thing and I missed it entirely the first time around. I used to follow the mannequin but now that I think about it, the name change seems to have cut me off. I'll rectify that very soon.

Thanks GDog for sharing a really cool initiative with us!

No worries...I think he'll be pleased to see you come back and follow him!

What a fun idea and also great way to think about marketing hive to the world.

We should think of more of these things. Stuff that people use or see regularly and add a little branding to it.

Yep, a good little concept I reckon. Make sure you go check out @hivelander too.

Yes, I will. Thanks for sharing.

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 170000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 180000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

That's a perfectly normal route. I was starting this as a sarcastic comment but then remembered some of the strangeness in my own state in regards to mail movement so ... sarcasm removed.
And it is an interesting idea.

Lol...I'm comfortable with sarcasm...I'm Australian after all. It's what we do.

Yeah, a good little concept...Fun.