Joey, the funny looking puppy

in OCD4 years ago

A stranger puppy you'll never find, trust me. This one is so strange that you'd almost think it wasn't a puppy at all!

OK, I'll be honest, it actually isn't a puppy...It's a kangaroo! His name isn't Joey either. A joey is what a baby kangaroo is called; Don't ask me why, I couldn't tell you.

So, what is Faith doing cuddling a kangaroo and why didn't I let her bring it home?

We were at an event recently, an off-road and camping show, and came across a stall run by a local native-fauna rescue group. They take in animals that are hit by cars mostly, however also do a lot of work with bushfire-affected animals during the summer.

They house the animals, heal their wounds or illnesses and, when able, release them back into the wild to live a normal life. The outfit is volunteer-run and funded by donations mainly, hence the stall at this event where they were raising awareness and funds.

They take in birds, reptiles, wombats, koalas and kangaroos most of which are injured by passing cars, and occasionally by ignorant ass holes who simply like to harm animals.

This little guy was found in the pouch of its dead mother on the side of the road and was brought in almost dead itself. After a few weeks he started to come good and now...Well, you can see that he's looking pretty happy and healthy. He'll be released after a couple months and will hop away into the bush to live a full life.

There's about 80 million kangaroos in Australia and it's difficult to go into a bushland setting, even close to towns and cities, and not see one. I have them only minutes from my house and I live only 12 minutes out of the capital city!

They roam free and unfortunately become casualties on the road mostly being killed, rather than wounded. The joey's don't always die on impact though, and groups like this one bring them back to health which is nice I think. (Provided someone brings the animal in.)

They were looking for a temporary home for this one which is why they placed him in Faith's arms...Sneaky tactic. It worked too because she wanted to bring him home and look after him for a couple months but I had to draw the line...We're not really set up for it. He was a cute little bugger though, and pretty friendly.

In all the time I've been driving in remote areas I've lost count how many kangaroos I have seen on, and beside, the road. They're a bit silly too as they tend to jump in the way of moving cars, not away from them.

I've hit two over the years. One was a glancing blow and I had to stop and dispatch it, the other was a head on with a 6 foot tall one. I hit it square on the bullbar in my 4x4 and it destroyed the grill and right side head light, turn light, crumpled the bonnet (hood), right quarter panel and some internal bits and pieces...It cost about $2700 to fix. I was lucky because hitting that same one in a car could have caused far more damage and even injury. The poor kangaroo was done for though I'm afraid.

Faith suggested that I could make amends for killing that kangaroo by helping this little guy out...But I was adamant. I dropped $20 in the tin and forced her to put the cute little fella back in his basket. Of course, I had to put up with Faith's pouting and complaining for a while, but bringing a kangaroo home wasn't on the agenda that day!


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well
Discord: galenkp#9209

Join the Engagement League

Sort:  

To be honest I alwayS thought it would be pretty awesome to have a kangaroo at the house. Instead of a guard dog I would have a big red standing there with boxing gloves on. 😜😜

Lol, yep it's a brave dude that squares up to a big red. One would make a pretty good guard-roo for sure. They are pretty self sufficient too, although the snow might be a but if a worry. The big Red's don't see any of that normally.

!ENGAGE 25

Looks like the roo was holding back to give the boxer a chance. Lol.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Oh it a little sad leaving that adorable fella behind but its for good because its for safety and this is really necessary and important. But the kangaroo is so adorable, look at its lovely eyes, i am sure faith must have been quite sad about the decision of leaving it behind

She really wanted to bring him home but knew it wasn't possible. It would have been funny to see him interact with my two cats though!

!ENGAGE 20

lol, am not sure the would have been much interaction since they arent from the same family

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

But he was soooo cute and it was just for a little while. But I know what what you mean. We love in an apartment and the husband keeps wanting to bring home animals. These just no space and I can't deal with a litter box in the house. The smell
Alone.... Lol

Lol, yes and kangaroos like to hop around too! My back yard isn't small, but it's not big enough for a kangaroo to hop around in! I'm not sure what my two cats would have done if we came home with a kangaroo.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I had to put up to Faith's pouting and complaining for a while.

Hahaha! 😂 This made me laugh! 😂😂 I can imagine. (Bravo brave husband! 👏👏👏)

Well, the baby roo is so cute. But I believe they are inherently wild and would be hard to domesticate even for just two months.

This is a super nice story of everything--from funding for roos and other animals, to hitting roos yourself and the roos mischievous ways. 😉 I enjoyed it a lot. Thank you. Reminds me of our pleasant holiday in WA. 😊

You've been to Western Australia? If you drove on country roads I am sure you have seen kangaroo's in the wild then. Yes, they are not house-pets and never will be, but it's nice to see this group is caring for those struck by cars and affected by bush fires. Realistically there is that many of them that they are culled (controlled), in fact I do that job on a cattle farm, however those little joey's that survive their mothers who were hit bar cars are innocent and I like that this group is saving them.

!ENGAGE 20

Yes, I've been to Western Australia twice, and seen kangaroos in the wild. It's amazing to see! 😉 We have also been to a park that allows us to feed the roos! It was a beautiful memory to keep! 😍

1l85cd.jpg

b4ymqz.jpg

I admire what the group are doing for the orphaned roos. ❤

Feeding roo's is fun. They are really quite nice creatures and reasonably friendly, especially the one's in the parks. I hope you got to cuddle a koala too. That's a special experience. I'll be honest, I've never been to WA. I live in SA and have travelled extensively all over the country but WA is so vast and so far away that when we go we will need six months to travel around, camp and see all the good parts. We have a trip half planned and will certainly be taking it at some stage.

Nope, I wasn't able to cuddle a koala. Wow! That woule be an exquisite experience!!! 😍😍😍 In that park, they only allow to take pictures of the koala, but not to hold them how much more to cuddle them! Hahaha! 😂 I didn't even know that I could cuddle them! Tsk!

That's okay. I haven't been anywhere else aside from WA. Hahaha! 😂 We visit there because we have a family there. Hopefully, soon when this virus thing is over, we could visit again and see some other parts of Australia. 😉

Get yourself to a spot that let's you cuddle koala's, you'll enjoy it. Hopefully you get to explore some other parts of the country, there is so much to see, do and experience.

Oh yes, thank you for that idea! 😍 We'll make sure to find a place that allows to cuddle koalas.

Anywhere in Australia would be beautiful, because it is all new to us. 😍 Seeing the things outside the tropics is like seeing an entirely different world! 😬

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Smile.. I know she would have felt sad leaving the Joey. She looks so happy holding it at her hands, and I just confess, that Joey is taking cute.

I have never see a kangaroo but only in movies and cartoons 😅.

I never knew what it was at first looking at the picture but I knew it was definitely not a dog 😂.

I think I would also love kangaroos 🤗😇

I wasn't going to write it about a kangaroo to be honest, but I thought maybe some may actually think it was a dog and so I decided to be honest and say it was a kangaroo. They are cute, but can get big too, up to seven feet in height sometimes!

When they get big, I guess it won't look as cute as it was.

And it won't be bossy in your own house 😅😂😂

Chai.. wow that's really huge and he is just 12 years old. Too bad he died early.

Thanks for the link.

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Your post generated a lot of interactions and was the most commented of the day

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive community is in mourning. Farewell @lizziesworld!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Awwww - when I see Faith I would love to be a kangaroo 😎

I cull kangaroos on a cattle farm with this...You'd want to make sure you were the sort of kangaroo that could run like fuck. 😎

20200618_155053.jpg

Haha - prefer we drink a beer and let Faith decide on cuddling buddy.

I am too peaceful ans knee injured for such a running event

Bawahhahhaha, I'm just here for the comments 🤣🤣😂.!popcorn

Pity kangaroo Joey's don't stay cute for long.

Yep...This post is a good example of the dichotomy of life...Here I am talking about saving animals that get struck on the side of the road and I cull roo's with a rifle 3-4 times a month on the farm. Still, joey's are cute man, and I don't shoot them, or mother's carrying them.

I feel like when animals are small, they look so cute.

I mean look at babies. Most humans are so cute as babies, though I don't like them all when they grow up.

Similarly, most joeys are cute.

Speaking about kangaroos, I read an article somewhere that in Australia, because of so many kangaroos, they are slaughtered lawfully....they are killed in millions every year.

Is that true?

Most humans are so cute as babies

...Then they grow up and end up looking like me! (Not cute at all!)

Yes...I cull kangaroos on a cattle farm with a rifle. (Cull means to eradicate, kill, destroy...) They jump the fence onto the property and I shoot them in the head. I've posted about it many times. Only last week actually. Link below.

https://peakd.com/hive-139358/@galenkp/delayed-live-action

So, is culling like a profession over there?

Yes. Not my profession, I'm a company executive, but yes. I do it as a side-gig.

Ahh, okay...cool...

Well, the Joeys are cute but for some reason I do not really like them when they´re bigger. Fortunately, I have never hit one, but twice it was really close as they tend to change direction quickly. And then they look at you as it was your fault :)

I can imagine that you´ve seen a lot of them at the side of the street, even I stopped counting. And that smell...yumm :)

Yeah, they tend to lose their appeal when they're 6 foot tall and you're in a car doing 110k/ph at night and you see one in front of you. I've seen some huge ones, and they can be quite dangerous at times. They lean back on their tails and use their legs to scratch. I have heard stories of disembowelment.

Oh yes, that roadkill smell...Sweet and rotten at the same time.

Well, I would not want to fight one 😂

I´ve seen a couple of videos and also seen two males fighting in the Grampians. They were in front of our Van and we were inside...was like cinema.

Kangaroo fight club. Lol.

Yep, they punch on pretty well when they're pissed off. I think a human wouldn't want to get in between them.

Such a cute one! I would die holding it in my arms 😍

Yeah, he was a cute little fella for sure. I had a hold too, he liked to cuddle.

Faith suggested that I could make amends for killing that kangaroo by helping this little guy out...But I was adamant.

Of course, I had to put up with Faith's pouting and complaining for a while

Serves you right! :D You would have gotten the best bits of that kangaroos life. Only couple of moths when it's small and cute.

It certainly was a cute little thing. They don't stay that way for long though. You're right, a couple months and it's 5 feet tall! Too big for my house. 🙂

oh .. it must have been what Faith wanted !!! Women's solidarity. :) anyway ... he is a sweet kangaroo. but I never lived in a place with kangaroos. I don't know their difficulties and stupidity. When I evaluate it according to the environment I live in, I take it home. But with your knowledge and experience, the decision is yours.
and the first photo is so sweet

Kangaroos belong in the wild, and are not suitable for domestic pets. They grow big. It's good to see the injured ones get some attention though. Unfortunately our two cats wouldn't have liked us to bring one home...It was cute though.

you should have told them about hive and then they can make weekly blogs on their activities and people can tip or upvote them... additional income stream...

They could even make a Joey token on Hive engine (unsure about tokenomics though)

I guess they are cute but then they grow up and mess up the house I would imagine... better support those that are equipped to help them better

An adult kangaroo inside a house would destroy it. They can grow to 7 feet tall and 200-210 pounds. Not house pets. Besides, they're not tame and don't like people. This little fella was cute though, and seemed happy enough; He's lucky to be alive really.

I think the animal rehab group would have a lot to blog about, all those cute little animals they see each week. I should've mentioned hive, you're right.

First of all it must have been very hard for your partner to leave that sweet baby kangaroo. but practically it would have been harder to pet him for few months at home. anyways I loved the name joey it sounds familier with "Friends".
Keep flourihsing.

Yes, I'm not sure why baby kangaroos are called Joey's but that's what they're called. He was a cute little fellow. I think in a few weeks he'll be back in in the wild. I hope he stays safe this time.

Aaaaaaaaaaaa I wanted to hug the screeen so so so cute😍😍😍😍 I would have resisted far less in front of such cuteness overload. Ahh your car... The expenses... Taking care of a kangaroo is time consuming.

A stuffed toy kangaroo might do the trick. I am sure it is a strategic move to place these little guys in the hands of women... All that nurturing and caring instinct etc etc.

Baby kangaroos are pretty cute little buggers. It's pretty sad that so many get clobbered (hit) on the roads by vehicles but it's inevitable really I guess, considering their numbers.

They certainly make a mess of a vehicle when they're hit which is why my 4x4 vehicle have bull bars fitted. It still damages the vehicle, but protects the engine bay and cooling system so the can is (usually) drivable.

I think it is best for them to live in the wild. Although we love the idea of a cute exotic pet, I believe that it is better to have wild animals in the wild. With so many of these hopping around, now I see why you are a fan of 4x4, bullbar edition lol. 😂😂

I don't know exactly why, but I like kangaroos... Haha!

They're hoppy, maybe that's why?

They are funny looking things really, uniquely Australian, and I think are high on the list of things for tourists to see when they come here.

kangaroo-1230407_1280.jpg
(Src) https://pixabay.com/photos/kangaroo-face-australia-portrait-1230407/

@galenkp, Sometimes we experience those unbelievable scenarios which force us to believe on unbelievable aspects.

Have a abundant time ahead and stay blessed always.

Hi there, and thanks for your reply and for reading my post. I hope you've had a great week and are looking forward to a better weekend! :)

Welcome. Yes, i am having a pleasant week.

Thank you so much for your kind response. Stay blessed.

Well, I have a solution for ya!
Bring Faith here and gift her with a cheetah pup at the cheetah rehab center.
2 birds with one stone, she will be happy and you can practice for free to prepare for your future cheetah race.

But be careful, as she might get you a baby vulture at the bird rehab center, or we can arrange to get you a baby elephant to keep in your garden :)

Jokes aside as no wild animals should be kept anywhere methinks!

I showed Marian the picture and I am glad that you guys are across the pond, as of course she wants one or two, not to keep, but to feed of course hahaha.

Feeding kangaroo's and holding koala's is one of the main tourist things here; Everyone wants to do it. It's pretty cool too. I've done it.

Yeah, we could choose the cheetah I'm going to race, you could train it up...But we all know it won't stand a chance in a foot race against me...I'm fast! Lol.

P.s. She'd probably get me a vulture and try to convince me it was an eagle! Lol.

Yeah, I showed it to Marian like I said and she is drooling to feed a Joey 🙂

We will have to get a team of animal doctors and a psychologist ready to help the cheetah recover from his losing shock after the race lol.

P.s. You are so funny hahaha.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you kindly for this @galenkp

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

You left it behind??? Poor Faith! :)

I actually agree with you, though. As adorable as they are if you are not equipped for one, hello? That just spells trouble. Those people have the sneakiest ways about them. They do that here too. They take the person oohhh-ing and ahhhh-ing and plunk the little bugger in their hands.

They stand a better chance of it going home with you.

I would have loved to see the cats interact with it! LOL I think they are truly adorable, but, that aside, they are just like deer here. Pretty to look at, but, for God's sake, stay off the roads until you learn how to drive.

Upped and Reposted

!tip

There must be a university degree somewhere that teaches this marketing technique. It's pretty effective, I dropped $20 in the tin instead of coins. Lol.

The cats would probably be afraid of a kangaroo; Mine would anyway. They only like us and are very skittish with others. Still, it would be funny to see. Thanks for the RP.

I can imagine the footage on it! LoL

I had one like that that was a rescue cat. He only loved us. :)

Cats are amazing and mine are my two best friends. I have more conversation with them than with human's. I'm not even joking.

I actually believe you. Cats are pretty cool and ours actually respond back when you talk to them. And I am NOT kidding. There are so many things I love about them.

I am so happy to see another lover of cats.

We certainly love our cats, would not spare any expense for them and thy have always had the best of everything. The rule the house. Wouldn't have it any other way.

🎁 Hi @galenkp! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Our great Aussie Kangaroo's so lovable and cute and lots of money spent to take care of them when they are hurt then released back into the wild only to be shot for a good Kangaroo bbq streak....lol

Yeah, it's weird huh? I cull kangaroos on a big cattle farm here weekly. So strange, but this little fella was cute, and my wife liked him, so...I hope he doesn't jump the fence at the farm.

Definitely weird like my little niece and her mum they breed pigs and cows on there farm they fall in love with them ohhh how cute and then end up on your plate as a meal .. lol 🤔

Yeah, that would really really odd I think. Still, it's the circle of life right?

And of course we are not going to complain who doesn't like a good Aussie steak 😂 😂

I guess I should be happy my wife only tries to bring home more cats. :)

Here it is deer that seem to run across the road all the time. I have similar experiences to your kangaroo ones. I hit one lightly without any damage and it ran off. The second one was head on with grill and headlight damage, a crumpled hood, and I think the radiator as well. I think mine was about $4000 to fix.

Yes, some have kangaroo issues and some deer, elk or moose I guess too. If I didn't have a bull bar on for that second strike I would have totalled the truck I think. As you say, they do massive damage. In my case it was drive-able which was considering I was on the way out to a hunting field and 250km from anywhere at the time.

I didn't turn out quite as lucky, but not bad. I was about 100 miles to either place I could have it towed since the radiator was broken. Luckily I had AAA so towing was free. And I had family in one of the towns where I could borrow a vehicle while mine was getting repaired.

Lucky you were reasonably close. Yep, I have AAA (we call it RAA in South Australia - Royal Automotive Association) but out there where I was (north of Bourke, NSW) there's nothing, not even cell service. This is why bull bars are essential. It pays to keep the speed down, but to be honest ever that may not help prevent a strike. Kangaroo's are notorious for jumping into the traffic.

Huh, that is a pretty funny looking dog, ain't like any puppy I've seen before. That said, this is the most typically Australian photo you've taken so far XD! It's sad to hear that so many Roos are being injured and killed on the roads, though as you say, it's nice that groups like these will help out those little ones.

Echoing what someone else said in the comments, I do think you should've brought this little Joey back home. You have many Legos and Oreos that people could steal. I've seen Roos box each other before, and I can't imagine what a fully grown one could do to a human intruder. Plus, you could also employ a grown Roo to beat the shit out of Grouchy the next time he misbehaves. I'm sure he'll work well as a punching bag.

Kangaroo_Boxing_sideshow_poster.jpg

I don't think Grouchy would stand a chance against a full grown roo. The big Red's get huge, seven feet, and are very powerful. Hmm, that makes me think...Kangaroo/Grouchy fight club, streamed live to hive! Sell tickets...Merchandise. Lol.

Ah, but Grouchy's upper-hand is that he's tiny, agile, and very cunning. Just slip up the Roo's leg, and punch him right in the nuts. That should do well to incapacitate anyone! A Roo v. Grouchy fight is something the internet needs, and are dying to watch!

Lol, a bit of a low-blow, but what choice does the little green bugger have right?

The first rule of the Fuzzy Fight Club, is that there are no rules. Nut punches are welcome! It'll help level out the playing field by quite a bit... Bloody Roos won't know what hit 'em!

I almost feel sorry for them.

Nah, I'm sure it'll be fine. If there's one fact I know about Australia, is that you bastards have balls of steel. It takes quite a lot to live in a hell hole like that XD

I mean, just look at Australian Stig's chap...

The Australian Stig's wore dusty white overalls, thongs and had a large "gentleman's sausage".

image.png

What a cute kangaroo.

Yep, he sure was. Big eyes, really soft fur...Cheeky little thing to. Liked to snuggle.