You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: G-dog's weekend-engagement topic week 2 [40 hive in prize money!]

in OCD4 years ago

Exploring as uasual mate.
Many picturesque litte farming towns here in the mountains and much history all over the place. We have only seen maybe 10% of the area since we moved here and there are vast expanses to explore.
A visit to the mountain hot springs and also a trip to Swakopmund in Namibia.
Nothing fancy, just nature, freedom and peace.

Sort:  

Sounds good, hopefully you're able to move about freely soon.

We take our chances here locally, but are careful to go to places where there are no people. It is just so tedious not being able to move further afield.
At least we save on petrol:)

Yes, that's a byproduct huh? We've saved on fuel and other expenses in the last few months too.

No, you guys call it fuel, the americans call it gas and call it petrol.
All the same stuff.
Glad that you guys also score a few savings!

Most call it petrol here actually, never gas though. (unless referring to LPG.)

The term fuel tends to refer to all forms of the substance including diesel and some use it, me included, but in the main petrol is the most common term. I have vehicles that take petrol (unleaded) and diesel so I generally use fuel or petrol for one, and diesel for the other when referring to it. The term gas relates to LPG here, another form of fuel altogether. I guess soon we'll all be saying power.

It'd always nice to save some money wherever we can though and prices of petrol and diesel have been the lowest for well over twelve years lately. They are on the up though now. Pre-COVOD I was paying $1.65-$1.80/L for diesel but it's been as low as $0.99/L lately.

Petrol prices are also now increasing here, but the big problem is that the government takes almost 50% of the price for a liter of petrol in taxes.
So we get much less than what we pay for.

Here's an interesting story, we discovered that a new employee at a service station was filling station was filling petrol cars tanks with diesel.
A family in a new Volvo got stuck and we stopped to help them. The guy told me that they were on the way from Cape town to a place on the east coast and the car had no problems until they stopped at the service station to fill up.
We heard the rumours about diesel in petrol cars and when I opened his petrol tank's cap, all that I could smell was diesel.

Back at the petrol station they flushed his tank and gave him a free refill of petrol along with the owners apologies.

We get the same, not quite 50% but close.

image.png

Why was the guy pumping the wrong fuel? On purpose or by accident?

So often we go jetting round the world chasing the best sights and most magnificent vistas but as you say there is so much to be explored within just a few miles of our own home... Crazy, right?

I believe this year may be the year when people actually learn to become explorers of their own back yard and I think that's a great thing. This also has the added benefit of helping our own local/regional economy. In a sense this is people from a region taking part in aiding their own regional recovery ((I couldn't use the word region anymore if I had tried lol))

Have a lot of fun exploring, my friend 🙂

Thank you. We have only recently moved into the area and so most things are new to us.
Being particularly fond of nature and the old little towns packed with history, it is a great province to explore.

Some miles up the road is a place called Sutherland. Isolated with no inhabitants and it is there where thry are building the SKA world planetarium. It is a joint effort that partners with the USA and Australia and according to what we know about it is that it will be the biggest on the planet.
So we are due for a visit to go and look at it.
Many attractions and little time:)

Oh my youngest Daughter and I were talking about putting a really great planetarium and observatory on the must do list earlier this week. Oh I am incredibly envious that sounds like it will be utterly stunning!

So now I must contradict my first comment a little... It is great to explore your own back yard but sometimes further... much, much further is where it's really at. It sounds like you have a lot of exploring and adventuring ahead of you, being a new resident to your area. Enjoy it my friend 🙂

Thanks for the awesome reply. More than appreciated.

Whereabouts are you guys?
We are in the Western Cape Province of South Africa and is a vast area.
Bordered by the Northern Cape that is even bigger and the Eastern Cape.
We are at the Peninsula and the Western Cape Province is at the Southern tip of the African continent.

It is good to create a habit of replying to comments here and I am one of those that always stick to it, regardlesss of the person's rep.

We are from England... We have over 70 unique types of rain... 😁

Oh wow! I can just imagine the natural, rugged scenery that is in easy reach, the wildlife too, I am a massive fan of seeing creatures in their own environment. I imagine you have a massive opportunity for photographic posts.

Update I now know you do... I did not know lichens only grew in clean air environments. We learn a lot from eachother when we form community, right?

It is good to create a habit of replying to comments here and I am one of those that always stick to it, regardlesss of the person's rep.

I do believe that is called integrity and being aligned with the very best values!

I am currently learning about the charity! I shall comment in good time, we will cross paths soon I am certain. 🙂

Hi Steven, some time has passed:)
I am also a nature nut and try to fit in an hour or two every day to get out here, there and everywhere.

Yeah, lichens are great and they have always fascinated me.

Glad that you noticed the charity, as not many do and it's my fault as I don't post often about our work. Well, not actually a fault, as I prefer not being seen as the begging type asking every day for handouts.
In fact we like to give back and that's why we have started the @combination account.
I presume that's where you saw it?

Life as you know works in funny ways and if our paths cross, so be it!

Take care!