Living in a Covid world - No Lock-down yet in Ireland

in OCD4 years ago

With 1/3 of the world's population now on complete lockdown, I suppose I should consider myself lucky. Here in Ireland, we have been on limited movement and social distancing for 2 weeks and it's damn hard. But I can still get to the shop and out for a walk.

Things tightened up again today. Non-essential shops are to close. I had to laugh when I read the list of essential shops as the off-license made the list. I guess we Irish know our priorities. I don't drink often. Maybe I should start.

Gathering of groups of +4 is not allowed unless you all live together. Visiting the homes of others is also banned now. But most of us were doing that anyway.

Going to the shop is a bit crazy. There are queues outside all of the time. Shops are limited to the number of people allowed in. 1 person per 2 sq meters is the guidelines.

The total reported cases in Ireland today are 1,329, although testing facilities are maxed out and I heard number of 40K waiting on tests or test results.

Lockdown could still happen, so I am making sure I still get out for a walk each day while I can. I'm rather lucky where I live. Although Dublin is the capital of Ireland, when you live up the Dublin Mountains, a view over the city is easily enjoyed. These pictures were taken 5 minutes away from my home. Not bad hey. It's not the clearest of days, but yes, that is a view over the city right out to the sea.

20200324_181238.jpg20200324_181250.jpg20200324_181252.jpg20200324_181256.jpg20200324_181946.jpg

The view from my home is not as good. it was great, then someone decided to build high apartment blocks below us blocking our view. But we had an awesome sunset so I took some pictures. You can see some of my home views in the last one.

20200320_185633.jpg20200320_185848.jpg20200320_185925.jpg
20200320_190059.jpg

Stay safe everyone and Hive on

Sort:  

That sure is some gorgeous countryside views!! What a crazy world. I think we all need a few good stiff drinks to get through. LOL!! But, for real ~Stay well out there. See ya next time ❤

I hope you stay well too

Ireland is such a wonderful country! I hope you all are staying safe over there.

I have several friends and family there & have "taken the tour" around the country, driving north, west, south, east, then north again (starting & ending in Dublin). I'm hoping to get back sooner than later for my next left-hand-drive manual transmission adventure! 👍

lol I couldn't even try driving on the 'other' side of the road. I would for sure cause a crash🤣

My first trip (2 weeks of driving) may have included a few "wrong way" driving experiences.. buy I definitely fell in love with your roundabouts! Fewer traffic lights always makes me smile!! 🙂

Great pictures, thankfully you’re able to get outside and go for a bit of a walk! Light exercise keeps the blood and lymphatic system going, so important for your health!

Off license, are those stores that sell alcohol? In boston here it’s the same, except cannabis dispensaries are also included lol

cannabis dispensaries, that's hilarious

What a beautiful place to live that must be. I'm very jealous! I need to drive for a long time to get a nice view like that.

Thanks for sharing, and stay healthy!

yea I am lucky to be in the city and country at the same time, out the back is the country and out the front is the city


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Great post, thank you for sharing your part of the world during this crazy time.

thank you and stay safe

I love the pink skies... gorgeous

Here's to us coming out of all this madness safe
Take care Paula

yea the sunset was very different and I am glad I got the pictures

It's mad. But at least you took some wonderful pictures! Love those colors!

yes it is mad, its a very different world today than it was a few months back

Yep. And there is a lot more to come!

Enjoy your freedom while you've got it.

thanks, I hope we can keep a bit of freedom for a while longer, I don't think I could face a total lockdown

The girlfriend of my brother actually wanted to depart last Wednesday towards Ireland to stay 3 Months on your island. Unfortunately the exact same day Germany went on shutdown. So she stayed...

3 months, aside from covid19 they would be better of coming between May - Sept as these are the warmest and dryest months