The Grandma’s Guide To Hive — 25 Absolute Beginner’s Question Answered!

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Dear Hivers,

As a blogger, I have always found pleasure in doing this exercise.

I used to pick up difficult terms and explain them in a simple language. Just doing this, I was able to generate millions of visitors on my websites.

Because anything simple is easy to understand. And anything easy to understand attracts mass audience.

And this “grandma’s guide” is one more example. Here we explain Hive in a very, very simple language with the mission to make learning Hive easier.

HiveBlockchainBeginnerGuide.jpg

(I know — that's a badass grandma, isn't it?)

You can share this article not just with grandmas but with anyone who is new to blockchain. Anyone who prefers a non-technical explanation of Hive? Should find this article useful.

The guide is also designed for non-blockchain readers. For the new users. And for absolute beginners. So, if you know anyone trying to learn more about Hive, feel free to share this article.

It could be your friend, dad, mom, or relatives. Anyone.

And if you already know all about Hive, glance through to “refresh” your memory. Let me know what more can we add.

Let’s get started with the basic questions:

1. What is Hive?

There are two:

  • Hive.blog
  • Hive Blockchain:

Hive.blog is a platform where you can write, engage, and connect with new people.

Hive blockchain is a technology where:

  • Assets are stored (and these assets are transparent).
  • Apps can be created using this technology

Note: Think of Hive Blockchain as a parent and Hive.blog as a child.


2. So how do I get started?

You have to create an account on Hive.blog to start your journey. To begin the process, you can sign up by visiting:

Note: Signing up is free.


3. Why should I come here?

Hive is a social platform. You can come here to have a good time. Plus, you also get to experience a new platform.

On top of this, Hive is also designed to reward you for your attention. If you give more attention, you earn more cryptocurrency tokens.

More on this later.


4. But what do I write?

You can write anything you love. No one can stop you. This is one of the power of a decentralized platform (there is no leader).

You can also start by going to the #Introduceyourself tag.

Template3 copy 12.jpg


5. What if I need support?

Hive is a community-based platform, so you can ask any question to anyone.


6. I have signed up. How do I change my pic?

As soon as you are logged in, you can go to settings to change your profile image. Or simply go to this link:

  • Hive.blog/@username/settings

Note: Replace username with the username you obtained from #2).


7. What’s the first step you would recommend?

The first step, as always, is to see what’s happening inside the platform. So you can go:

  • To the homepage to read articles
  • Click on profiles
  • Play with any buttons you see
  • Leave comments
  • Upvote articles

8. So what is an upvote?

Upvote is a little arrow button pointing upwards. You will find it everywhere on Hive.

Template3 copy 12.jpg

You click on it to support other authors. When you upvote, authors will get rewarded and you will also get rewarded (called curation).

In short:

  • If you like any content, you can upvote.
  • If you don’t like any content, you can also downvote.

Or you skip voting altogether. You can just read. The choice is yours.


9. So how is the value of the vote decided?

It is decided through the amount of Hive Power you hold in your account.


10. Hive Power? What’s that?

Hive Power is the amount of Hive vested by you in your account. Think of Hive Power as your share in the Hive blockchain.


11. Can I get Hive Power?

Yes. You can go get Hive Power by doing the following:

  • Buying Hive Power
  • Earning Hive Power

To buy Hive Power, you can go to any cryptocurrency exchange. Check the list here.

Template3 copy 12.jpg

To earn Hive Power, you can write quality articles, comment, or delegate Hive Power.


12. I notice there’s Hive, Hive Power, and Hive Dollar?

Hive is the official token.

Hive Power is the token you can vest.

In fact, both Hive and Hive Power are the same. But when you vest your Hive Power, you have voting power.

Hive Dollar is a token meant to be $1 worth of Hive.

This can be a bit technical. To put it simply, you will gain clarity on these tokens when you receive your first earnings.


13. Where are my earnings?

If you have purchased or received upvotes, your earnings will be visible on your account. Just go to:

(Replace username with your account username obtained from #2)

Here you can see all the details on Hive, Hive Power, and Hive Dollars. Take some time to read it.

Template3 copy 12.jpg


14. All this is too complicated?

In that case, focus on two things:

  • Start exploring Hive.blog and read all the articles
  • Start writing (you can also use a frontend)

15. So what’s a frontend now?

Frontend is an interface that connects you with the Hive blockchain.

Think of a television. It connects you and the movie you are watching, right?

Frontend does the same. It connects you with the Hive blockchain. You have various frontends:

You can explore them. See which one you like the most. And then start using them.


16. Is the money generated?

Yes.

Think of a lake. Take a drop of water out of this lake.

Similarly, hive has a reward pool (like a lake). Each upvote means you are taking a portion of the money out from this pool… and giving it to the author and yourself (curation).

The only difference is: this lake will refills with new money everyday.


17. Where do I write?

On the top right corner, you have a pencil icon next to your username.

Like this ✎

Click on it to open the editor and start writing. While the editor supports Markdown and HTML, you don't have to know it all.

Simply start writing with a clear title and tags.


18. What is a reputation score?

The number you see next to your username is the reputation score. It increases when you are active on Hive — when you are publishing articles, commenting, and participating.

It decreases when you are spamming, copying articles, or blacklisted.


19. When and how will I receive money?

Say you wrote an article that earned you $10. You will receive the rewards after 7 days.

Do note that some of the earnings will go to the curators (those who have upvoted your article).

You will receive the rewards in your wallet in the form of Hive and Hive Dollars.


20. How much can I earn?

Your earnings depends on:

  • Your effort
  • Your content quality

If you have less followers, focus on gaining more followers.


21. How do I gain more followers?

By actively participating on engaging on the platform. More you do, more people will know you and follow you. It is almost like any event. If you show up regularly, people notice you.


22. What if I mess up?

No one is messing anything up. Don’t worry as you won’t create any trouble to anyone. You can't mess up or break the website.

No one is going to be after you. Feel free to experiment to your heart's content


23. How should my first week look like?

In the first week, just pay attention to understanding:

  • How Hive works
  • Look into your profile (click all the buttons)
  • Check your notifications / wallets
  • Read articles
  • Write (if you can)
  • Leave comments

24. What should I NOT do?

Among dozens of things you should avoid, few of them are here:

  • Never spam
  • Never copy/paste articles
  • Never create hate / violence
  • Never downvote (for no reason)

25. I am ready for more. If yes, read these articles:

Fantastic. Check out these links below.

Template3 copy 12.jpg

Want to get started?

Want to format your post?

Want to learn SEO?

Want to learn more about Hive?

More learnings:


NewTitleFinal.jpg


Wow!

So there you have it.

An exhaustive collection of 25 questions to answer EVERYTHING you need to know about Hive.

They are written in simple words.

And should be enough to get anyone started.

To summarize:

  • You can join Hive for free (everyone is invited)
  • You can participate anytime and from anywhere
  • You can also invest in Hive (or earn through effort)
  • You can also build connections and followers
  • You can also read and comment anything
  • You can enjoy absolute freedom

Over to you: What do you think? Did you find this useful? Was it a good refresher? My idea was to make sure everyone benefits. And. I hope you enjoyed this article as much as I enjoyed writing it.

Cheers,
Sid


Liked this article? Feel free to comment and upvote and reblog.

Sort:  

A shame my last ( and pretty badass or at least awesome ) grandma passed away early 2018.

There's plenty of grandmas living in my little town in Portugal though, so I will bookmark this for my return ;<)

Upvoted this and gave it some love as it made me laugh and I feel it's useful for new users.

See you around,

Vincent

I feel you.

Thanks for sharing, Vincent.

I loved my grandmother. She promoted positivity and installed creativity in me. She is the reason I am here.

Always grateful.

Upvoted this and gave it some love as it made me laugh and I feel it's useful for new users.

I am glad. :D

Thanks again!

I loved my grandmother. She promoted positivity and installed creativity in me. She is the reason I am here.

Always grateful.

Nice to hear that and same here.

🤗

Great intro - hell, it's only taken me four years to learn all this stuff!

image.png

Haha! We all learn. I am learning too. :D

Thanks!

Yee har Gran' ma! Picked up a few points from this. Thanks.

Haha! I am glad!

This is amazing, thanks for putting it together, shared it to my profile as it will be really useful for as many people to read as possible 🙂

Warms my heart, Nickyhavey. Thank you!

Absolutely glad to connect. :)

Thank you for this posts. Much appreciated by this young Grandma ;-)

Haha! Absolutely glad to connect with you as I read your post. Love this:

God is my constant companion through the valleys and up the hills. I live in Paradise, I have lots of love.

Thanks a ton for stopping by!

Thank you so much for visiting my blog, reading and commenting. Glad that you liked it.
I love to make new friends. Have a great weekend. 🙂

HIVE.D!
21PRtjKRXPQyotRPt1Hd7fPufGf1WCpCvB7qBKbTm1TGLAv5EJ8gAANAS2zqsHxeNxyBFvgnD3SZ7wdpy8uHbkYaiw5CRLAAMSLc7Cwshgo18x8mPNqmbKYJNfQu94wYXpEY3dy6p4zmWEg6RCEubBC.jpeg

LOVE THIS!

Thanks for the ongoing support. :)

Damn, I wish you have written this article two years back when I joined.

Wouldn't waste first few months deciding whether to start or not, as everything was so much complicated around here.

Haha!

You always want me to write, isn't it?

I am glad I could share!

Yes, I always want you to write more so I can read more.😄

Sid,
brother ur writing alwys amaze me. i m alwys trying to write good contents but fail most of the time but when i read ur post it becomes easier. I will experiment those tips on myself tnx for those advice :)

Super happy to see such a heartwarming comment, brother. Thank you!

Wishing you a fantastic time! Followed you. :)

Wonderful guide @sidwrites, there are many newbies here who will greatly benefit by reading your guide, have reblogged, thank you!

Thank you @lizelle.

Definitely my intention to make it as simple and easy as possible.

Glad to connect with you! :)

this is very useful. we thank you..

Hey, thanks to you for visiting! Appreciate it.

Good one Sid, nice and clear!

Thank you for your ongoing support.

You offer some excellent insights for new people here and it would do them well to read it, follow some and to adapt them to their own style and needs on the platform. It is a very difficult place to become established and with so much coming onto the platform can be difficult to be seen. Educational tools like yours can help though as it provides a roadmap to those coming in and can eliminate the need to waste time finding out these things organically. Thank you. Much appreciated.

Thank you so much! Really appreciate reading your comment early morning. Definitely want to make life simple and easier for many. :)

If everyone read your post prior to starting here, and actually applied it I think it would be a better place to be and much more productive for them.

Thank you for responding, I appreciate it.

Haha! Yes.

It has always been a challenge to know if people are reading as a LOT of blood and sweat goes into each post... with years of experience.

I always want to help people out, so this way there is a reason for them to read.

All in all, enjoying the process.

A really helpful one.