Enough supply for the moon

in OCD4 years ago

I spoke for 8 hours straight at the office today, and there wasn't even anyone to talk to. Firstly, I only saw two people at the office, one being a very bored cleaner, and secondly, I was talking into a microphone reading a script. The next 6 hours of my work day was spent screencasting, and I am yet to finish.

Because of the travel bans, my direct engagement work has been adjusted to be delivered remotely instead and not everything is suitable for a webinar, so I am creating customer specific video tutorials - and they take ages. Plus the customer I am working with has a very, very precise project manager.

What is good though is I was able to secure my first remote session with one of my own business clients, so I am hoping that I may be able to salvage at least some percentage of what has been lost. Anything is better than nothing under these conditions, and at the very least, having some contact means that I can maintain relationships and when things improve, ramp up again.

I am pretty drained though.

IMG_20200323_153543.jpg

Yet today, for the first time in at least the last month and a half, I felt the sense that things were going to be alright, as if a corner was turned. I am generally optimistic in mind and less so in action, as I tend to be more conservative in risk than not. Yet over the last few years, I have definitely become more risk seeking and I feel that it is reflected in my work - plus, I think my work ethic has improved as I have found myself both more capable and resilient than I thought I was earlier.

I was even surprised that all of this blockchain clusterforking didn't upset me more than it did, as I know that I was and still am personally invested. I have written often enough that dealing with uncertainty and being willing to lose it all is part of investing, but I hadn't the direct experience in this arena, and now I do.

At the moment, neither have gone to zero, but I am quit sure that both are going to go through rough patch as they find their new normals, but I will likely end up on one only. What would be quite an incredible turn of events however would be if a bullrun managed to pump both chains to the moon. I have zero faith in Justin Sun to do this on Steem, but that doesn't matter for the markets, as Ned was "in charge" during the 2017 run to the ATH of STEEM. In a bullrun, the markets don't care about the drama, the tech or whether it is centralized or not, it is all just bandwagoning.

But, the markets do care on the way down, and will increase their attention as the industry matures. While on the way up things are all sunshine, on the way down fundamentals matter, and for future investors, that is going to mean the difference of staying in, or selling out. Fast, secure, scalable is one factor - the other will be on the risk to the investment itself - and decentralization carries less risk.

People like strong leaders, they also like to hate them - having a "figurehead" can be great if what that person represents is the values that people would invest into, if not, it is a ball and chain tied to the ankle and thrown into the ocean. Investors are skittish at the best of times, put them in a situation where they have to hinge their money on an individual's emotional state, and they are likely to become very wary and attentive. Some drama is good for the hype, but not when it comes through incompetence.

As I said yesterday about it being a slow burn, the decentralized environment demands it, as decisions are made in much more time and by more people. People think that the fork to Hive was a rash decision, yet do not consider how fast a person who doesn't seem to understand how the Steem blockchain works, managed to get exchanges to potentially break the law in order to protect himself. There was no concern for the community at all.

This wasn't an action from a position of strength, it was from fear. While rich, he is not a business man and there was never a hope for negotiation, because there was never a position for compromise - all he cared about was his stake - but not even the value of his stake. Much like the maximizers who abuse the reward pools to collect more tokens, without doing anything to add value to what they hold. It seems that people get blinded by volumes, like a handful of pennies is worth more than a single $100 note.

Yes, Tron is a valuable blockchain by market cap, but with 77/100 billion in supply, one has to consider who owns that capacity. EOS has a billion in the supply and some people are expecting it to reach Bitcoin highs? Remember when that guy paid 10,000 Bitcoin for a pizza? Even at the lowest lows, 10,000 EOS was worth 4200 dollars.

BTC 10,000/21,000,000
EOS 10,000/1,000,000,000

Those pizzas were worth ~$30 at the time.

how much of the network do you hold?

Supply matters - and eventually the investors are going to be looking at the supply, and while Steem and Hive have yearly inflation, it will be something like 60 years until they reach EOS levels (I can't do the math in my head). Is the inflation actually a problem? If so, those mined tokens should have been burnt. Getting rid of 20% of the supply at the same time the interest rate is dropping would have put a severe dampener on the actual token mass each year.

Of course, the argument is that the develop that gets done by selling those tokens is worth more than the value of having them removed from the supply. But I am unsure about that argument, as it was said that the inflation rate stops investors investing - and development was ongoing then anyway.

What I think the future investor will be looking for however is a strong community of users that are able to create demand for their token, through demanding the experience. That does rely on development, but the development has to be of the type that supports the large bell of users, not the long tails.

The masses don't need fancy, they need convenient. They don't need quality, they need fun. This isn't about the posts, this is about all of the applications, no matter what they deliver. There is plenty of room for niche quality posts to earn, but the fact is, most people on earth can't write a blog to save themselves - most are at best shitposters - the larger group are consumers and sharers.

What I am hoping is that Hive can get a very good SMT solution out that is robust, scalable and very, very convenient to use. Every developer needs to start thinking from the perspective of endusers who are quite happy to thumb through Instagram or chuck a comment on Twitter. Users don't need 15 different sign-ins, they need a small suite of beautiful and easy to use applications that they can integrate into their lives without having to have a technical degree. This is obviously not easy to do, as security has to come into the equation also.

I am an enduser trainer that gets users up and running on a technical business-side application - blockchain needs to dumb it down a bit - especially a social blockchain that is looking for everyday users to spend their time here. But then, what do I know?

I might just be far too tired to write anything like this considering I feel like I have been drinking for three days and then got knocked out in a fight with someone much larger than myself. I have been working since 8am this morning, and it is now 1am, perhaps it is time for bed.

Taraz
[ Gen:1 Hive ]

Sort:  

I think this is still not clear in everyone's head.
JUSTIN TRICKED THE EXCHANGES TO RUN A SCRIPT THAT POWERED UP CUSTOMER FUNDS AND VOTED FOR SOCK PUPPETS. THEY THOUGHT IT WAS JUST ANOTHER REGULAR HARDFORK. HE FUCKED UP THE EXCHANGES AS MUCH AS HE DID FUCK US UP.

The gravity of it is huge, but people focus on their own value. Justin Sun and the Tron team are snakes - and the exchanges should know it by now.

The exchanges knew what they were doing. They claim Justin hacked them yet take no legal action. They are liars.

IF that is true, then CZ is actively lying as well and downplaying his connection to the sun.
CZ seemed totally overwhelmed with the negative comments and was backtracking fast from his statements and from sun. That might be to control the narrative though, but I have found no proof of them being close friends.

They aren't close friends. They are business partners up on high protecting each other. This kind of shadow banking is straight up mafia activity. They are both in the Chinese crypto mafia.

They both lie through their teeth to protect each other. Because the activity is happening on the blockchain, their criminal activity is transparent.

CZ has backed himself into a corner where he's either helping a criminal or is a victim of a crime and refuses to take action. He's trying to have it both ways and come out on top without admitting it either way. So far everyone seems to be allowing him to get away with it.

most people on earth can't write a blog to save themselves

That's my kids, even tried as a way to get them writing so I had "work samples" for the moderator, and you can't even pay them to write stuff they're not interested in XD

If you're not already maybe you should see if OpenSeed wants more help?

Because you have so much spare time

I think personal essay writing should be a thing introduced as a way to develop character and handle emotions. Likely, much better than the crap they deliver in schools.

If you're not already maybe you should see if OpenSeed wants more help?

I am one of those shameful people who have no idea what Andrarchy is doing :D

Trying to get my kids to write is like pulling teeth without anaesthetic. I got them to journal when they were younger and learning how but that's fallen by the wayside. I really think that writing things down would help process a lot but they are pretty good at talking their way through things at least which is more than I can say for some adults XD

If you meant at school well maybe, but there's a lot of stuff that kids should apparently be learning in school and I'm not sure where in the curriculum it would be even more crammed than it already is, and I'm like why don't you (collective you not you personally, specifically parents) teach them that but apparently teaching is not the parent's job? o_O

Don't ask I was confused too

I'm not sure what they're doing either, just that it sounds like it might be cool XD

Now yer talking about hoping to get SMTs on here, it really does feel like home!

We should really kick start HIVE onboarding, it's not that different to the previous thang!

I think we have more capable devs of getting SMTs done than before the fork.

Yeah we should get it going, but not sure who is keen :)

HMTs: Hive Media Tokens

What about, Smart Hive Interactive Tokens

Lets get the SHIT going.

We might be in for a re-rebranding; now the cease and desist has been sent.

I have been out of it all day, I missed something? from the other Hive blockchain thing?

lol

Hive Blockchain was founded in 2013 and claims the Steem fork is benefiting from “goodwill” that the firm has cultivated within the cryptocurrency sector.

Yet, no one seems to know anything about them and when i looked the other day, their website hadn't been updated since 2017

Blocks are like bricks and brick build walls. Perhaps we could move the name to Walmart with the mart being a trendy representation of market.

Higher than the Tweets