You want a piece of me? Buy it.

in OCD3 years ago

Wealth is easy to transfer, as it doesn't matter whose hands it is in at any given point, which also makes it inheritable, a parent can hand it over to a child or, give it to charity. Genetics are inheritable too, but unless getting into gene splicing, it is far more random what goes where and there are many other factors that come into play. Since we don't choose our parents, for the most part we have very little say over what our inheritance is going to look like - what we are going to look like - at least without augmentation work.

PA040328 1.jpg

But I was thinking about this luck of the draw that essentially staggers the starting grid and places limitation and challenge of various intensity on all of us. You might be smarter than me, I might be able to benchpress more than you. Under self-evaluation of course and since we are on the internet, I am both smarter and stronger - plus I am better in bed than you.

Being skilled on the internet is easy!

The "better in bed" is what I am interested in here, although not directly, as while there are genetic factors that come into play, there are also experiential factors, where learning takes place and skills are developed. It isn't all about endowment - but having said that, being "well-endowed" is an inherited trait, but size doesn't matter of course. Right?

But, what if skill was transferable in the same way as money? For example, what if your parent was a skilled surgeon and that cluster of required skills and talents as well as the knowledge on how to use them wisely, was able to be transferred from parent to child? Would you choose to follow in their footsteps and be a talented and skilled surgeon also, or would you take another path, where that would mean having to learn the skills necessary through effort and work?

Using your intuition, is the transfer of skill fair or unfair?

What if the "no one can do it for you" phrase wasn't true and there was instead a marketplace of skills, where skilled people would be able to auction off the keys to their skills, even after death, or donate their skill to charity. What if you were able to stack skills and become a renaissance person with a diverse range of high level attributes, as long as you had the money to pay for them. Would that be considered fair? Would you go into debt in order to have a skill in an attempt to earn more than the cost of the skill itself?

While this thought experiment might seem irrelevant due to the impossibility at this point in time, it is quite relevant in regards to the other forms of inheritance, like wealth and physical attributes such a height, strength, personality and intelligence. Being "well-endowed" could mean being raised in the right family, the right neighborhood, going to the right schools and learning the right lessons; or being born with the right body, the right brain, the right emotional valence. We have little to no choice over these things ourselves, but they definitely affect our outcomes throughout life.

Fair?

Yes, this is the way of the world, but if we are going to reward merit, should the merit be rewarded on the result, or the journey to get there? If I had rich parents who were able to purchase me the skill of a top surgeon, do you think that I deserve the accolades, esteem and salary of a top surgeon? What if the skills could also be duplicated, so there was no limit on the number of people who could hold the same skill - would you want everyone to be the best at what you are the best at?

Do you think it would build a Utopia or Dystopia?

The thing is, the easier a skill is to acquire, the less value it has and if like in the Matrix, skills were "installable", those skills would be valueless, no matter how useful they are at any given moment - as anyone can have it. I think that this is part of the reason that we are going to struggle as a society economically, as exclusivity of wealth buys more than a nice house and car, it also plays a large part in giving our children the edge over their peer group - And we all want what is best for our children.

What might be interesting to consider is if this was made available today and everyone was able to pick one skill - what would you choose?

Think about it a moment.

I wonder how many people will choose something that would be considered a valuable skill to have now, but wouldn't have value if it was common. Or how many will choose something that would be entertaining, but not valuable. And finally, I wonder how many would choose a skill that they would want to pass onto their children.

1 _What skills do you possess that would have value on the skill marketplace?

2 _If you could give one of your current skills to your child, what would you want them to have of you?

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  
  1. What skills do you possess that would have value on the skill marketplace?
  • I can shoot a chest-sized thing at up to 1 mile in range, every single time.
  1. If you could give one of your current skills to your child, what would you want them to have of you?
  • My ability to draw a line beneath people and situations with no qualms, regret or doubt.

These skills are probably not highly regarded by most, and probably have no value...But, I ain't got much else.

1 - I wonder what these kinds of skills would fetch in the market. Would governments pay a premium?

2 - Does it ever get you in trouble?

  1. Maybe I could represent the country at the Olympics? That's got to be worth something.

  2. Not trouble, but it's a final solution, no going back, so if I don't get the decision right in the first place then it impacts the possible future.

While we know the cost of making bad decisions we see - I wonder what opportunities are missed from discounting people early. When I judge someone down the street based on whatever I use to evaluate them, I walk away thinking I was right, though I actually have no way of knowing. Therefore, the times I do find out my judgement was incorrect ends up being a lot less than the times I judged and felt right, so I feel like a skilled judge of character who occasionally gets it wrong.

I guess I mean more people who have revealed themselves as being unworthy to have in my life for whatever reason, my ex-business partner for instance. I wanted to slaughter him, however decided to deny him any more power over me by drawing a line beneath him and moving on, instead. Probably the most prudent action. I thought I was a good judge of character; That episode proved me wrong.

I've known two people that have represented the US in shooting and vaugely know one that was a pentathlon participant. One of the shooters ended up as a representative for a loader manufacturer, one got enough sponsorship to let him establish his business and be quite successful. The Pentathlon woman finished school and went on to be an MD.

For whatever that is worth :)

I'll never make it to the Olympics, sniping is not one of the sports represented...Still, I reckon I could get some work somewhere around the place...PMC in some small country maybe? Lol.

I'm guessing you could go to work for one of the Cartels in Mexico if you aren't too fussy about who you work for.

Yuma sector Border Patrol seized 50 kg of Marijuana wrapped as Christmas presents yesterday. I could have told them you don't do Christmas until Halloween is over....

And the Phoenix DEA is looking for an incinerator operator. 5 year contract need to be able to burn 100 kg per hour. Seems they have a small backlog of seized dope...

Lol...October, hide the drugs in Christmas presents. Sounds legit. 🤣

I'd not work for a Cartel, a Government maybe...Ah hell, whoever pays the most. 😁

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

  1. What skills do you possess that would have value on the skill marketplace?
    a. None. At least none I would share on a market place. Our skill sets are what make us who we are. I don't need a bunch of me's running around telling me I need to do stuff. That is what governments and society and friends and culture are for, telling me what I need to do. I can deal with those groups telling me I need to do this, I do not think I would deal very well with me telling me I need to do this.

  2. If you could give one of your current skills to your child, what would you want them to have of you?
    a. I don't have kids if I did I would want them to be able to have my ability to see the pictures of the words, I would want them to surpass me in this in that they would be able to draw the pictures they see from the words.

!ENGAGE 25

I don't need a bunch of me's running around telling me I need to do stuff.

:D just think about your wife!

I don't have kids if I did I would want them to be able to have my ability to see the pictures of the words,

This is a pretty cool skill and I think one that is getting scarce. I have a feeling that people are less able to build strong personal images of the world as everything is suggested through consumption. I wrote a post a long time ago about how as a kid I read Lord of the Rings and built the whole world in my imagination- but once I saw the movies, the actors took the place of my own characters.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I don’t know if you can call it a skill, but I regard it as a skill. It is very easy for me to find an approach to any person, so to speak, I am a very good conformist. Of course, if I could pass on skills, I would pass he on to my son.

I am a very good conformist.

Is this to be able to fit into social conditions, or you do what you are told? :)

Not that and not that, I know how to find a compromise in almost any situation. So to speak, I maneuver between your own interests and the interests of others.

P.s. Although, probably all the same in order to fit into society.

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, follow and support this author, Install Android: https://android.ecency.com, iOS: https://ios.ecency.com mobile app or desktop app for Windows, Mac, Linux: https://desktop.ecency.com
Learn more: https://ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency

Very nice, inviting and interesting topic my friend. :)

I'm glad to see that little by little you are retaking again the challenging and thought provoking #philosophy and #psychology subjects that I enjoyed so much to read & discuss in your previous content from few years ago. Yeah! as you know, #experiments is my thing to easily pull my shaved tongue through a good debate.

But for now I think I'm only gonna reblog it so that my handful of followers can also read it and maybe inspire them to participate in the debate too. And on the other hand, so that I do not forget to comment on it more widely and extravagantly later once I do what you almost never do.

Sleep at least eight hours in a row. Because the sun is out and I'm already fried from so much midnight work.

Upvoted & Rehived!

I have never really stopped writing these kinds of things - just in different ways perhaps.

What skill would you pass on?

Well, if as you say, you've never really stopped writing about this kind of things... According to my perception, you have reduced them way too much for my stunning good taste. :D

What skill would you pass on?

Well, I've been thinking about this a bit. And the truth is, that I've concluded that these could be too many skills or more likely none. But let's make an effort to throw something on the table. };)

  1. What skills do you possess that would have value on the skill marketplace?
    a. Probably my inquisitive curiosity. But "curiosity" understood here as healthy, conscious, cautious, previsional, provident, diligent, intelligent, witty and brainy anticipatory c.u.r.i.o.s.i.t.y. soaked in plenty of good sense of humor. :)

  2. If you could give one of your current skills to your child, what would you want them to have of you?
    a. Luckily, genetically, consciously and unconsciously, I have the hunch and fervently believe that I was already capable to sow deeply and transmit to my kids at least that skill already mentioned above in all its splendor and with the same rare attributes. :)

1: I'm a damn good mechanic with all that entails. Critical thinking and logical method.

2: I'd pass the critical thinking and logical method on to my children. They are useful in the marketplace AND in society as a whole. Hardly matters the field you apply them in.

I think the "general" skills are the ones that are the most valuable - things like critical thinking, a very good memory or an ability to comprehend complexity quickly and learn. I have none of those ;D

Dear @tarazkp, What do you want to give to your smallstep as a legacy? 😮

My ability to evaluate conditions quickly and find some kind of solution.

From my personal point of view, your home is the greatest legacy. A house that is remodeled with your hard work and affection will tell Smallstep your ideal and life.

Home is just a thing at the end of the day and if history tells us anything , it can very easily be taken away.

The small steps will forever remember the house being remodeled with @tarazkp's blood, tears, and sweat. The memories of the house where I lived with my father and mother are eternal.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.