Busy Easter Bunnies, A GIF Created for LMAC Contest #32

Happy Easter! @shaka's beautiful picture invited us this week to dwell on life and renewal. That's a nice place to rest our thoughts. And a little fantasy doesn't hurt.

The Easter Bunny
I used to think this magical creature was a commercial notion introduced into a religious celebration. But the bunny has roots that reach back into history, and across cultures. According to several sources, the Easter Bunny and the Easter Egg are linked as symbols of life.

One source, The Local de, explains that in Germany the tradition existed in the Middle Ages--and even earlier. The custom was brought to the United States in the 1700s by German immigrants.


The picture below is from a 1907 postcard (public domain)
Easter Bunny Postcard_1907 ItsLassieTime public.jpg


Egg coloring has been traced to the fourth century A.D. Colored eggs from that period were discovered in a sarcophagus, in Worms (Rhineland-Palatinate). The Easter Bunny in Germany was known as the Osterhase, Easter Hare.

Reference to the Osterhase can be found in writings from the 16th century. Then, as now, the bunny was expected to bring colored eggs to good children. The children would get ready for this visitation by making nests in which the bunny could place the decorated eggs. These nests might be made of caps and bonnets.

Why were eggs and rabbits chosen as Easter symbols? According to The Local, there are several theories. One is that rabbits are born with their eyes open, so people thought “that they were ‘always awake’ from birth,...Therefore (rabbits) became a symbol of eternal life, likewise with the egg." Another theory described by The Local is that in the Middle Ages, landlords used to accept taxes in the form of eggs and slaughtered hares. Payment was due on the Thursday before Easter, and so the association between eggs/hares and Easter was established.

There are other theories, but in each rabbits and eggs are associated with life and renewal, which is the essence of the Easter holiday.
border 5.jpg
My Picture
This was great fun. Almost everything came from Paint 3D, except for the rabbit. The rabbit (without the wings) is credited to Gellinger on Pixabay.


My process:
@shaka's picture as a foundation:
shaka easter 2020.jpg

Then I started to play around. I knew that the Hive would be a theme so I picked a beehive on Paint 3D and put it in the tree. Bees followed. The rabbit joined in. Flowers were added, of course.
hive blog easter 1 smaller.jpg hive blog easter 3 bunny wings smaller.jpg
After the second bunny joined, it was just a matter of juggling everything and putting it together. Lots and lots of bees and flowers. The balloons were an afterthought (actually inspired by @muelli, who always finishes his pieces with drama).
hive blog easter3 bunny3 egg tree3 smaller.jpg

As always, thank you @shaka, but especially now, this is therapy for me. Shaka's contest, which is amazing, and which attracts amazing, creative people, may be found by following this link: LMAC #32

Happy Easter, or Passover, or whatever joyous occasion you celebrate. Let there be joy and life.

border 5.jpg

Thank you for reading my blog

Hive on, and have fun

Sort:  
Loading...

Dear AG,
thank you very much for your little historical journey and the pretty colorful, seasonal collage.
Happy Easter,
Chriddi

P.S.: Would you mind reading my english written article on Steemit? I would be very happy about a short feedback from a native speaker... 😊

Dear Chriddi,
Happy Easter! Thank you for coming by and for enjoying my GIF. The child in me lives :))

Of course I would love to read your article. It's a wonderful thing that you are able to cross language boundaries so skillfully. I have studied Spanish and German since my youth, and still I am challenged. You will get honest feedback.

I wish you and your family (and Max, of course) a peaceful and healthy holiday.
Warm regards,
AG

Dear AG,

it's very good to preserve your inner child. If you give too much space to the brooding adult, all too often this seems to lead to bitterness.

I studied English for nine years at school, and in high school I took courses in German and English literature. I improved my skills through several stays in California. But they fell asleep over time and so I consider reading and acting on Steem/Hive a real chance to refresh my foreign language skills.

The reference to my text should not be a "fishing for compliments", but was real interest. Now you have made my day - I am touched!

Best wishes,
Chriddi

Hi Chriddi,
Yes, our skills do fall asleep. But there is a certain muscle memory, and it seems to be working well for you here. I've always loved languages...even dubbed films in unfamiliar languages offer the opportunity to pick up a word here and there.

Writers don't recognize fishing. We all crave objective (though not harsh) feedback. It's a pleasure to read with an analytic perspective.

Have a happy, healthy Easter.

Warm regards,
AG

Hello, I had to do a little research, here we don't have that Easter egg custom, and as always here filling me with more knowledge thanks to you. My greetings

Hi Tormenta,
Thank you for stopping by. Bunnies are a part of my tradition, but I understand also from @hjosemalavem that they are not part of the Hispanic American tradition. Isn't life interesting? We do learn from each other. I will have to read up on Easter traditions in Venezuela.

Happy Easter to you and your family 🌷. Stay well
Warm greeting, AG

Muchas gracias @agmoore

Happy Easter ! Bunnies are tasty!

Hehehe
Happy Easter, to you and your little family.
Rabbits look better than they taste :)
bunny for trumpman.jpg

received_513325302673809.jpeg

😄😄🌞🌞
Enjoy the wonderful Easter meal I know ruth-girl is cooking today. And yes, that is a tasty bunny.

A very happy Easter to you my good friend! I enjoyed your gif and good luck!

Thank you very much. A very Happy Easter to you, your family and your sweet cat :)

A charming classical composition, with attention to detail. I like it a lot! Thank you for your entry and Happy Easter to you and your family!

Thank you so much, @shaka! I'm glad you see the detail. Sometimes I put stuff in there that no one will possibly see :) Making a scene is like writing a story--it has to be what I imagine in my head. Much easier (for me) in writing than in art.

Happy Easter to you and your family, and thank you for giving the community such an upbeat exercise.

Thank you very much, for the support and the curation 'with love'.

I loved these ideas @agmoore. It's very cute.

Thank you, friend! I loved your design

Really nice edits AG. Thanks for info on the Easter bunny, 🐰 🐣

Thank you...the way to grow old contentedly is not to worry about being ridiculous. Great fun to play with Easter bunnies and flowers :)