Hey guess what? Juice is actually bad for you

in EXHAUST3 years ago

When I was a kid we always had juice at home that we could slurp down throughout the day because since it comes from fruit it is healthy right? Well it turns out that is wrong.


unnamed.jpg
src

If you saw someone making a drink of some sort and they proceeded to put 6 teaspoons of sugar in it when they were done would probably think that they were unconcerned about their health in any fashion, yet when someone grabs a "healthy" juice you would think the opposite. Well guess what? They are essentially the same thing.

This problem is made even bigger when you look at the juices that are generally available in minimarts or convenience stores since these juices made by various gigantic companies like Minute Maid contain a ton of added sugar because I guess the fruit wasn't sweet enough on its own.


image.png
src

I don't know how they get away with it, but a lot of juice companies will advertise on the bottle that it is 100% juice, but then when you read the container it has all these chemical names in it. It has to contain these chemicals because they act as a preservative that if the bottle didn't contain that, the juice inside would spoil in just a few days. Obviously this doesn't work out very well for Tropicana's profitability so they need to extend the life with some mystery chemicals and in order to combat the bitter taste that naturally occurs with juices over time they add a bunch of sugar or even worse, high-fructose corn syrup.

I trainer once said to me that if you want to have a fruit and vegetable lifestyle this is a good thing, but if you must drink one of the two to drink your vegetables and eat your fruit. The reason behind this is because you probably wouldn't ever sit down and eat 5 oranges in a row, but that is about what a large class of orange juice contains and even though it is natural, most fruits are nature's desserts and all this extra sugar is going to have detrimental effects on your health.

Furthermore, a great many mass produced juices are pasteurized because they have to be in order to kill off bacteria but in this process they actually destroy a lot of the nutritional aspects of the drink such as vitamins.

I remember when I was a kid and we were drinking Kool-Aid (because my family was not rich and all poor people drank Kool Aid) and I was kind of horrified about how much sugar went into making a gallon of this popular drink that doesn't really exist anymore. It got phased out because it wasn't "healthy" but as it turns out most juices you an buy at the store are just as bad from a sugar standpoint.

I'm not saying to not enjoy yourself. Live your life in a way that makes you happy and try to find some balance. But if you are one of the people out there that thinks they are giving a kick to their health by drinking juice all the time, you may actually be drinking diabetes and weight gain as well.

Everything in moderation is key!


combo fatty.jpg
From athlete to fat ass to the strongest I have been in my life over the course of 20 years. I lost 50 lbs and kept it off by following some small, manageable goals over the course of several years. I strongly believe that if I can do it, so can others

Sort:  

I do tend to have half a glass of orange juice with my breakfast, but I water it down a little. Anything in excess tends to be bad for you, but the companies adding more of the bad stuff is just wrong. I tend to avoid artificial sweeteners, but maybe I'm being paranoid about those :) I don't sweeten my coffee anyway. Just don't tell me bananas are bad as I do like those. Only have one per day generally. They are bad in terms of shipping stuff around the world. I do eat apples from the garden when we have them.

BTW On the chin-up front I have been managing sets of ten recently. That is a definite improvement on the start of the year when I could only manage three.

well done on the chinups man! I deviated from my sessions due to the fact that the bars in the park are frozen solid (i'm exaggerating of course) so I'm probably back down to 3-5.

I'm not doing it every day, but it feels like progress and that is always nice. I had aimed for some pushups every day, but don't always manage that.

!BEER

lol about the pushups. There is literally no excuse for not doing this because everyone has access to a floor. Sometimes I am on the sofa watching tv and think about doing a set that I know damn well would only take a minute and still i'm like "nah"

I get that totally! There really is no excuse for doing nothing unless you are injured.

!BEER


Hey @normie.fitness, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @normie.fitness, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Absolutely! The same can be applied to the supposedly healthy cereal bars, like Tracker, and Eat Natural bars. They've been advertised as healthy snacks for years, so people think they're making a good choice by snacking on them instead of a Mars bar. Yes, they can give you energy, but that's probably due to the high carbs and (mostly added) sugar content. Diabetes UK did a breakdown on the major brands available: https://www.diabetes.org.uk/guide-to-diabetes/enjoy-food/eating-with-diabetes/diabetes-food-myths/cereal-bars

As you say, moderation is key, but I'd rather have an apple. :)

Thanks for that link, really interesting stuff in there. I fear that diabetes is going to be a very big problem on a global scale as the years go by. Some would argue that it already is.

Absolutely! That's why I always prefer to prepare my fruit juice rather than buying it.