Sunday run: Stretching my legs

in EXHAUST2 years ago

I was out at a pub in the village of Wrestlingworth last night where I played a few songs at an open mic night run by @anna-newkey and here other half. It was fun with some great performances. This guitarist and harmonica player are very talented.

Open mic

That all finished fairly late and it was nearly midnight by the time I drove home. The clocks went forward and so we lost an hour. By the time I got up it was getting on, but I wanted to do a longer run today. I had a few days off from running, so I hoped my legs would be fresh.

Route

This was a variation on a route I have done before. There is a fair bit of climbing in the first half, first up to Fairfield and then through Letchworth. After passing Standalone Farm I decided to go through the Grange estate. This is pretty big and has lots of paths cutting through it. I just followed those that seemed to take me the right way.

Selfie

The Grange is a mix of houses and apartments. I think a lot of it was originally council housing. This block has some stains where an overflow pipe gushed out.

Nice house

Eventually I came out on a back road via an orchard near this nice thatched house. Letchworth is a mix of the original garden city architecture and more modern stuff. Some of it is quite expensive.

Road works

I tried to stay away from main roads and so ran through Radwell Meadows on the Greenway. When I reached the road there was no traffic and I soon found out why. There is some major re-surfacing going on with lots of trucks and maintenance vehicles out there today. I guess they are working on Sunday to reduce disruption.

This is my longest run in a while and it went quite well. I would not have wanted to go much further this time, but I will keep doing these distances to prepare for my half marathon.

Stats

Run free and stay well.

Sort:  

Very good long run, what’s your target time for the half marathon?

I'm happy enough to get under 2 hours. Wasn't quite at that pace today, but I have time to train. It's been a while since I did the distance. I actually covered some of the race course today.

!BEER

Below 2h should be very achievable for you, I bet on 1h55' 😜
!LUV


Hey @toofasteddie, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Looks like you had a splendid Sunday @steevc and I envy you the nice local to hop down to, sadly we just don't have that same sort of 'pub life' here. Our pubs/bars tend to be so much more just dark drinks whilst in England I always find the publife so much more 'community centre' Last time I was living outside of Canterbury we had 3 pubs in our tiny village and I went to one each morning for a coffee by the fire and patted various dogs that came in and out with locals...gosh I miss it. I live so much more an insular life when I'm in New England then when I'm lucky enough to be in OLD.
Did you get a recording of your playing?
I love that little thatched cottage, is it yours? It's darling.

Unfortunately many pubs here are shutting down as less people use them and costs go up. COVID has not helped that situation. There used to be a lot more in our village, but just 3 left now. Live music can be a lifeline for them. Some rely on serving food. The one we used to meet in decided that they wanted to do more food and so chucked us out.

The could be video of the open mic I did last night.

That's not our house. There are villages around here that are very picturesque with lots of thatch. I know from experience that it is expensive to maintain.

!BEER


Hey @donnadavisart, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Sounds like the resurfacing worked to your advantage. I really like thatched roof homes. They always look so charming. Like Hobbit homes or something.

Wow. Late night, long run.. your the man! You really do make me want to get back out running.

untitled.gif

Wow. This must have been a really long run for you but it's good you enjoyed it. I actually took some time to walk in the early hours of yesterday. I felt like having a walk while praying and I kinda enjoyed it. Walked a distance of about 30 minutes from my house and walked back.

Walked a distance of about 30 minutes from my house and walked back.

I often do this for hours, but nowadays I rarely run for longer than a few minutes per day.

Wow! Hours? I'd definitely be exhausted. I do it for 1-hour max. You can try finding some time to exercise. I think it's really important.

Still doing such amazing distances !PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@biglove just slapped you with 30.000 PIMP, @steevc.
You earned 30.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
You can still slap 5/5 more people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Hi @steevc,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Congratulations @steevc! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 46000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 47000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 25
Introducing NFT for Peace