Does it hurt?

in Hive Book Club11 days ago (edited)

I started reading dark books when I was 13, turning 14. And although, it's not really something to brag about. It just occured to me that I can never really go back to reading light books. I've tried. I've tried reading a heartwarming,light book and felt nothing but disgust or settled with the inability to finish the book. Now,I do not admit to being a mini devil or monster. I still try to read some light books.It's not everytime one succumbs to the horrors of life and dwell in it. Lately, I've gotten tired of reading series. I prefer to just read a singular book and get over with it. The saddening thing is that majority of the spectacular books are series and they're series because who wouldn't want to get enough out of their favourite books?. I remember one certain time,when I still read books/stories on Facebook. There was this particular book I was reading,Bitten. It was 2019 and till date,that was the best thing I had ever read on that social media app. I begged the writer to make a book 2 and continue it as a series. I created multiple accounts to beg her. I had the ideology that if alot of people were asking for a book 2, she'd consider it.Guess what? She didn't.

I've come with a book by H.D Carlton to tell you guys about. It you're active on booktok or bookstagram,you should have heard of Haunting Adeline. To be very honest,a whole lot of people didn't like this book cause of some gruesome and insane scenes and then,there are others who liked the book cause it was dark and mysterious and had a charming young man who was obsessed with a pretty girl. And then, there's me,who felt nothing. It was like an ordinary book for me. And when I say I've read things worst than what was inside Haunting Adeline, you'd say I need to have an appointment with a therapist. It's not something I talk about much though. My mind's broken and I have no thoughts.

"Does it Hurt?" is a thriller book written by H.D Carlton. A thriller is a genre that entails a book or movie that has a resemblance to a horror movie/ book. It sparks fear and uncertainty and also has humour in it.

"Does it Hurt?" tells the story of a young woman,Sawyer. Sawyer was an assaulted and molested young adult who was on the run from the police for a crime. She engaged in outrageous activities to keep sane and alive. Soon,her luck ran out. Sawyer met a young man,Enzo at a bar. Enzo made her spend the night at his place and Sawyer took off running with pictures of his documents in order to steal his identity. Enzo woke up that morning and found out and he wasn't having it. He was going to f*cking find her,he said. One thing led to another,he found her,took her on a ride on his boat in the ocean. There was a storm. A storm that sent them both under water and hours/miles far from where they once were. Finding themselves on an unknown island with just one source of life, a light house and no socialization. They were trapped with a creepy old dangerous man,a haunted lighthouse and no means to get back home.

Is the book enough to freak you out? Yes,yes it is. As you would read about a dead girl whose spirit still roams around in the lighthouse. No sane person would want to read a kind of book like this. But as readers,I suppose a majority of us must have lost some of our sanity to the books we read. I'm speaking for myself here,so please do not take offense if you find what I said above offensive. I don't think I'm up to 60% sane anymore. It is terrifyingly comfortable.

Image taken as a screenshot by me.

Sort:  

Reading such book at night, and then being home all alone without electricity 😂🤣😂. Recipe for disaster, you will start seeing figures that you cannot explain 😂.

popped in from #dreemport 🙂

🤣🤣🤣😭Oh my, you know this!😂 Your curtain will start looking like a human being or devil to you😂😂

🤣😂🤣😂 My heart is too fragile please 😂

Oh common 😂... You can always explore,tiptoe outside your comfort zone a bit.

No ma 🤣

Congratulations @omokhafue! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 70 posts.
Your next target is to reach 80 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Unveiling the BuzzParty Meetup 2024 Badge

After I stumbled on "the house" by Ted Dekker, my taste in novels took a sharp turn. Sadly, the majority of people around me are into romance novels and that's a no for me. Thank goodness I came across this post😄

And this right here is an amazing review. I am definitely going to read this.

Oh my God! Thankyou!!! And you should definitely read this! I've read "the house" too. You'd love this one then,you might be freaked at some scenes though cause it's Carlton writing it but you'll definitely like it. Thanks for popping in! I'm grateful🫶

Then I guess I just found me a novel plug🤭

Definitely not me smiling so much like a rat😭😂!

Please don't do😂😂😂😂

So which other ones would you likely recommend 😗🙃🙃

Have your read Verity by Colleen Hoover?
It's the only favourite book I have by her and it's decent enough to be called a thriller book🤓
Or how about the Serpent and the wings of night?😮‍💨 Okay,this one isn't really scary-ish. It's just so good.

I think I saw a review on Verity...I added it to my list.

Serpent and the wings of night sounds like it is a fantasy novel.

The moment I saw dead girl I found my way out of the conversation 😂
Ehh anything to do with scary books I’m sorry, count me out

#dreemerforlife

😂😂😂😭 you're hilarious... I can't deal with scary movies but I can be decent enough whilst reading scary books... I'd prefer watching a horror film with a boyfriend please 😪😂(although he's non-existent at the moment 😭😂)
Thanks for popping in! I'm so grateful!🫶

Non existent?🤣

Yes o, he's in my imagination o😔🥲

For someone like me who enjoys watching horror movies, such scary books doesn't scare me and reading the part where a dead girl still roams around, I bet you, it's my kind of book to immerse myself in.
#dreemerforlife

Yesss!!! You should definitely read it then! Although, it's not horror to say the least but it will freak you out🥹..
Thanks for commenting,I really appreciate it🫶

Yea, I should check it out.
You are welcome

I can send it to you though,if you'd mind 🫶

Then, I wouldn't mind then. Can you share me the link here or how do you intend sharing it?

I'll send the link to download itttt

@jhymi hiii?
Have you read "Does it hurt?"
Saw you comment somewhere about liking Haunting Adeline or did I make that up?🥹

I mean you can't be deep into Booktok and still expect to be normal or sane for that matter, now can you?
I totally understand. Haunting Adeline was bad but I've read worse. Sadly. So we're in this boat together.

#weplentyweynonormal...lol

And also I've had Does It Hurt in my e-library for a while but I've kept skipping it cause while I can try to stomach thriller, horror is a different ball game but I just might read it because I'm branching out into different genres these days.

I'll let you know when I get to it. And you write an amazing review.🌹

And you write an amazing review.🌹

I'm smiling! Even with all the stress this faculty is putting me through right now,you just made me smile! And I'm really really happy and grateful you think my review's amazing. It's an honour, really!

Okay,my lecturer's here already 😭. Gtg